We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place to stay in Aspen” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Little Nell

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Little Nell to your Saves list
The Little Nell
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   675 E Durant Ave, Aspen, CO 81611   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
COLORADO RESIDENT RATES!
Ranked #4 of 36 Hotels in Aspen
GreenLeadersSilver level
Huntington Beach, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Best Place to stay in Aspen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Every employee that we had contact with was sincerely committed to making our stay the most memorable of our lives. They succeeded! The level of service is second to none. There will be no other place I go to in Aspen not just because of the beautiful property looking upward at Aspen Mountain but because of the way you are treated by the staff. Yes it is expensive but how much is a magical memory worth?

Room Tip: We had a town view room but was much quieter then expected and in no way detracted from our stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    27
    9
    7
    4
See reviews for
37
101
7
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I was in charge of selecting a hotel for a Shareholder Retreat - approx. 50 attendees for 3 nights. It's really hard to please that many people, but consider this 5 star review as coming from each and every one that attended. Service was incredbile, food unbelievable, beautiful rooms/hotel spaces, and the overall experience simply unmatched anywhere else we've gone. The Little Nell made me a star!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

This hotel is five star in every way. Room was huge with fireplace and space for everything. Ultra luxurious. Very well laid out. Bed was extremely comfortable. Service was excellent...all requests were fulfilled immediately and everyone had a smile at all times. All snacks, juices and soda in mini bar included except liquor. The grounds are lovely, great pool as well with ski in and out facilities right behind hotel. Perfect stay in Aspen. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We had a reservation for a mountainside room. When we reserved the room, we were given the option of choosing between a town view and a mountainside. We were told that a mountainside room would provide some view of the mountain, and we also requested a balcony. Of course, the mountain side room was an additional cost. We checked in late and, after a long day, didn't really pay attention to the balcony or the view of the room until the next day. We discovered that our mountainside room, while definitely on the mountain side, provided a view of the gondola, and the balcony overlooked the gondola, with a large tree blocking any view we might have had of any mountains. In fact, anyone walking to the gondola could see right into the room. In addition, the balcony was open so that it connected to the balcony next door without any wall between the two. If you wanted to enjoy drink on the balcony, then you would be enjoying it with your neighbors. A town view room would have cost less, and given us a better balcony and better view. We went to the front desk, and they were able to find us a mountain side room that offered a more private balcony, and a view of the mountains. However, by reserving a mountainside room you would have thought we would have had more than a gondola view. The fact that we even had to bring it to their attention was unacceptable. We had to waste even more time changing rooms. It was like they were trying to stick us in an undesirable room, and hope we didn't notice! Unfortunately, the balcony had no covering, so sitting out there during the day wasn't even possible. There were retractable awnings, but they didn't block out the sun. The room itself was nice, and had a desk and nice sitting area. The mini bar is complimentary, with the exception of beer, alcohol, and oxygen, but we did need to call to have it replenished, as they never showed up several days. This is something they should do without calling. The room service was also unimpressive, and despite the fact that we called and requested service when we left our room, the room was not serviced upon our return on more than one occasion. Again, unacceptable for such a property. The fitness center was nice, although they offer only 2 treadmills, and 2 ellipticals, which isn't very many if it's busy. There was only one elevator working during our stay, which was a great inconvenience. We were told, although we probably shouldn't have been, that the other elevator had been broken all summer and they were awaiting a part that had to be made for the elevator. We were told that the elevators are so old that they don't even stock the parts. It would seem that it would be a good time to replace the elevators with ones where parts could be replaced within a week. If the other working elevator had broken, it would have been a nightmare. Similarly, this could pose real problems in the winter. The hotel is also pet friendly. Travelling with pets is great, but the hotel allowing pets to sit and climb on the furniture, is disgusting. It is also quite unsanitary to observe the hostess at the restaurant pet a dog and then pick up menus and take guests to a dining table. Being pet friendly does not mean that pets should be allowed to wander the hotel and sit in the lounge area on the furniture. The hotel staff needs to be more proactive in addressing this issue. The hotel offers complimentary coffee each morning. Unfortunately, they take it away by 10:00 a.m. It would seem that they could leave it out all day, or at least until noon time, especially on the weekends. On the bright side, the room are nice and the location of this property is central to everything. Unfortunately, it's not enough to overcome the poor service! It is not worthy of five stars or a return visit!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRTAspen_CO, Manager at The Little Nell, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear flalove2travel,

We are so sorry to hear of your unsatisfactory experience with us! We do strive to offer the best service possible and clearly missed the mark on making your stay a positive memory from Aspen.

As a boutique hotel, all of our rooms are different and unique with a variety of views of both the mountain and the town. If you do choose to stay with us again, we have made a note in your guest folio regarding your preferences and would be happy to accommodate with a more satisfactory view. Regarding the elevator, it is extremely unfortunate to have the technical issue. The manufacturer is creating a part for us, which we plan to install during our fall closure. We will fully operational with two guest elevators this winter.

Yes, we are pet-friendly, but sanitary service comes first! We are distressed to hear of this behavior from our server and have followed up with our staff to ensure proper procedures are being upheld. Yes, Fido can have some fun, but cleanliness must always take precedence.

Again, we are sorry to hear of your experience but would welcome the opportunity to try again. If you would like to discuss your stay in more detail, please contact me at 970-920-4600.

Best,
Anneke Scholten, hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

My husband and I stayed at The Little Nell for the first time. I can't say enough about what a great experience we had. The location of the hotel is perfect. Step out the front door and you are in the heart of cool restaurants and shops. Step out the back door and you are at the gondola ride and the slopes. We were upgraded to a beautiful suite when we checked in. They even showed us several rooms and let us choose! The rooms were all beautiful and immaculate!! There was great entertainment in the Jazz club at the hotel that we thoroughly enjoyed! The staff was first class from the time we checked in until we left.....actually even after we left. When we were driving to our next destination, we realized that we left some very valuable items in the safe in the room where we had stayed. We called the concierge at The Little Nell to let them know. They immediately shipped the contents to the hotel we were traveling to and even called that hotel to let them know to expect the package. Everything that was in the safe was in tact and arrived without incident! If we ever get back to Aspen, The Little Nell will certainly be our pick for accommodations!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

stayed here of ski season with my sister ......usually expensive during ski season but was cheaper due to off season.....rooms lovely flick a switch and a fire and lights come on.......i love Aspen .....have skied here but never stayed here due ski season....i will return with my boyfriend ....totally romantic and ski lift 2 mins away...
..

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Love The Little Nell!!!

This was probably my 4th or 5th time staying at the Nell, but first time for the summer. This hotel is simply the single best service of any hotel I've ever stayed at. Whether you want a ride somewhere, or a complex concierge request, the team at this hotel seems to genuinely love thier job, are always friendly & enjoy helping the guests. Aspen gets a bad rap for being snooty, but I think it's the opposite.

The beds are incredibly comfy, the room amenities are wonderful, the location is in the center of everything & ski in/out for your winter adventures. The property is exquisitely maintained in every possible area, the Tavern or Elevation 49 restaurants are some of the best in Aspen....

The summer weather was stunning. Warm days, cool nights, wildflowers everywhere & lots of activities catering to anything you can dream up!

This hotel sets a standard that cannot be beat.

My ONLY gripes are no in-room coffee, and the taupe-beige overload in every room.

1) One of my favorite vacation things is quietly lounging in bed as I wake up with a fresh cup of coffee. Unless you order & wait for intrusive room service, or dress & walk down the street, it ain't happening.

2) You better love taupe/beige because EVERYTHING in the room is the same color. The pictures online show more color varation than I've ever found. Taupe carpets, walls, ceiling, bathroom walls, floor tile, bathroom counters, granite fireplace, ..... the designer even had light taupe comforters made. Literally, you are completely wrapped in an awful beige. They have color themed rooms, but even the least taupe rooms, the Blue Rooms, are 90%+ taupe. Maybe the next remodel will change this, but not stop my next visit. :)

Room Tip: * Unless you love taupe, request a blue room. * The "mountain view deluxe" rooms with bal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Watchb4go.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Little Nell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Little Nell

Address: 675 E Durant Ave, Aspen, CO 81611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Aspen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Aspen
#3 Green Hotel in Aspen
#4 Family Hotel in Aspen
#4 Romantic Hotel in Aspen
#4 Luxury Hotel in Aspen
#4 Business Hotel in Aspen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Little Nell 5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Little Nell is Aspen's only five-star, five-diamond hotel, offering luxury services and unparalleled access to America's most famous mountain town. Guests of The Little Nell enjoy coveted ski in/ski out privileges to historic Aspen Mountain, a cosmopolitan yet intimate ambiance, haute cuisine, and exclusive adventures and amenities designed to rejuvenate the mind, body and spirit. Relax in the elegance and ease of The Little Nell: Aspen's most legendary hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Little Nell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Little Nell Hotel Aspen
Little Nell Hotel Aspen
Little Nell Aspen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Little Nell, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.