We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally Perfect in every way - Talk about aim to please” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Little Nell

Save Saved
You added The Little Nell to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Little Nell
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   675 E Durant Ave, Aspen, CO 81611   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 36 hotels in Aspen
UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Totally Perfect in every way - Talk about aim to please”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2007

We booked this hotel after we visited the Jerome previously and we were a bit unsure as Jerome has always satisfied our needs. We have heard in the past that The Nell can be a bit snooty but this was not the case. We were always left astonished whenever we requested things that were not available, because the staff always bent over backwards to sort things out. Firstly we wanted certain food after the kitchen had finished for the evening. The chef was happy to go against the menu times and cook what we wanted regardless. Then my wife had the urge for potato chips, having searched everywhere the Chef decided to make some instead and send them up to our room free of charge. The Concierge team were always helpful and concerned about my wife who had flu and even sent medicine up on a regular basis. One evening I wanted to watch the boxing on TV, however nowhere had it on in town, therefore the Concierge Troy took it upon himself to hire the match at home, tape it and bring it in for me to watch in my room. (That’ s service). The bar staff, the concierge team and bell hops were all brilliant and made us feel really welcome. All we can say is thank you for such a wonderful experience. One final thing try the burgers there they are the best

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    148
    24
    8
    7
    3
See reviews for
31
86
7
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2007

My husband and I stayed a the Little Nell for our anniversary in October. It was the off season, so the prices were very reasonable. There is not a lot to do in Aspen during the off season, so we spent a lot of our evenings in the hotel.
The staff was incredibly helpful and the customer service exceeded our expectations on every level.
The rooms are comfortable, very spacious, and have lot of comfort features like a gas fireplace and 42" plasma directly in front of the bed.
I recommend the town view as you can still see the mountains on the other side of the valley, but you get to experience all the charm of the town of Aspen as well.
They think of everything and treat their guests very well.
We did not use the spa and the pool was closed, so we did not use that either. The front desk and concierge were very accommodating, and room service was very good.

  • Liked — Customer service is beyond compare!
  • Disliked — Price. During the high season it might not be affordable to the average traveler.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2007

My husband and I celebrated our anniversay in a couple of places, this was one of them. We were disappointed in Aspen, we're not skiers, it's off season and we're not crazy shoppers...so why Aspen? We thought we could relax and enjoy a great view from our hotel room etc., Unfortunately, the view from our room was construction, we were so tired we thought we'd order room service, well the restaurant in the hotel was closed due to a wedding. Our room was very nice and clean, not worth the price though, however their customer service was excellent , Emma and James helped us out and tried to make our stay a pleasant one, we also received bubbly from John the manager for our celebration. Thanks John. So better luck to you all...

  • Liked — Customer service
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2007

Stayed in Room 38 with a mountain and pool view. Very large,well furnished and comfortable. Very close to everything meaningful in Aspen. Ate breakfast the first morning then ate all other meals at one of the many very good, nearby restaurants. Walked every where except took the car to go to Maroon Bells, a great place to visit. Enjoyed our stay very much and would definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — The luxury
  • Disliked — Nothing, loved everything.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Park, Illinois
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2007

Beautiful and large room-all that I can say was good about the hotel. Paid extra for a "premium mountainview room" and had a view of the cable car building and a huge construction crane-which is basically the view from the hotel.
Checked in and had requested a king size bed-was told that there were none available and that a "queen size bed is only 6 inches narrower"- don't need that from a 30 something desk clerk. Last day-cable out because of a construction problem- no notification or anything. When I complained, I was offered a
complementary DVD. Subpar breakfast.
Certainly glad I paid the lower summer rates. Won't be back.

  • Liked — The size and features of the room
  • Disliked — The front desk help and the view.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2007

My husband and I were married at The Little Nell on June 28th at their wedding deck on top of Mt. Aspen. WOW and more WOW is all I can
say about the beauty, service, attention to detail, quality of the room, quality of the food, beauty of the property...I could go on and
on. We did not experience any of the poor service some mentioned. We did have overwhelmingly good room (premier town view is like a mini suite), room decor, original artwork, best bubble bath and fine porcelain soaking tub with separate shower, the best beef we ever ate, even the cheeseburger (they raise their own cattle on grass and no chemicals just for the restaurants!), the best kindest concierge and drivers, the best catering staff ever, and the most beautiful wedding and reception in the Wine Room that I could have ever imagined. If you are kind to the staff, the overwhelming majority are more wonderful than you could wish. People in Aspen told us they don't like pushy rude visitors, nor would I. The rules in Aspen, they
said, are say hello, stop for pedestrians, treat people courteously. We did these things and found the nicest people and most professional
staff. We did have one minor problem, the Hotel fixed it for us but it took a while. They made it up to us, so we felt better about it afterwards. I was so terribly sad to leave.

I would give anything to be back there right now!!

Everything was immaculately clean. Every design choice was made in favor of quality vs. cost savings and it showed. The fixtures, the upholstery fabrics, the bathrooms (2 sinks, separate toilet, separate porcelain soaking tub with the best bubble bath in the world, great tile work, separate shower, lighted magnifying mirror, humidifier, hair dryer, extension cord, steamer, iron, great bath products, two toilet paper roll holders, three jumbo wall mirrors), the Bose radio with iPod connection available, the great robes (we even purchased 2 in the spa they were so nice), and twice a day room service with turn down service, I could go on...

The restaurant sported new upholstery and carpeting. The bar served free gourmet coffee in the morning along with tea and lemon. Even the
coasters were high quality, the little paper things for under a drink
slipped over the bottom of the glass and stayed in place if you moved
your drink. Room service came on a full table. The minibar was restocked twice a day and was complete with every kind of non-alcoholic and alcoholic selection you could think of, high quality items. Turn down service included different candies in an attractive container each night along with a bedtime story book and mats for the
house shoes by the bedsides.

We had no difficulty getting rides to our appointments and entertainment. They even took us to the grocery store. The moment we landed at Aspen Airport, we saw a young man holding a "Little Nell" sign. He gathered our luggage and transported us to the hotel in style with a beautiful SUV stocked with bottled water and gave us an oral introduction to the area.

The wedding details were perfect thanks to the tested referral list provided to me by the catering department for selection of our vendors. I am attaching photos because I cannot describe how beautiful it was.

We never had to wait long for meal service to our room; they were prompt, professional, and courteous. The food was the best I ever had and hands down best in Aspen.

The chef prepared wood-smoked prime rib and lobster for the reception; the food was impeccable. We dined in the Wine Room for the reception, a wood-paneled intimate but not too small room with an elegant but modern fireplace and contemporary artwork in lovely pinks, oranges, yellows, and reds, not what is shown on their website
as of June 28 07. The chairs are newly upholstered and new carpet, not what is on their website again, so be careful if you are planning
a destination event. The new ones look better than what they have online at this date. The carpet is a dark peach (light rust) with florals and the chair upholstery matches, it's beautiful. There are matching leather-covered benches in the Montagna also.

The waitstaff was quite friendly also; we had a lovely breakfast with their famous oatmeal topped with fresh strawberries and peaches,
it was fabulous. The coffee was perfect.

There is an outdoor pool and hot tub and a spa is on the lower level.
The spa has monogrammed hats, and we got our robes there. The concierge had them sent to our room for us.

The banquet and catering staff were the nicest people with whom I ever did business. They treated me like this was the only wedding they were ever going to do! It was so beautiful to receive such lovely service from Melina Glavis, the banquet chef, the banquet manager, and all the kitchen staff and catering staff. They were just over the top!!

I loved the way my eyes could land on any surface, floor to ceiling, and find pleasure and ease. The rooms have Belgian wool berber carpets that is so pleasing to the foot. The overall construction details were faultless and the design of the Montagna into the bar and lounging area was absolutely perfect for color, form, texture, lighting, and all elements of design.

Large leather sofas with perfectly plumped pillows invited us to sit by the fireplace and enjoy the oversized artwork lit by heavy attractive accent painting lights. The fixtures were perfect everywhere, lighting, wall switches, eveyrthing.

The flooring was well-chosen with varieties of texture and design. There was no penny-pinching and it shows.

We also stayed at the St. Regis one night, and it cost more. The service was great, but everything looked like they went for the lower cost selections on the building and decor. It hurt my eyes after being at The Little Nell.

  • Liked — Quality everywhere! Gorgeous spacious comfortable at-home charm
  • Disliked — Spa could be bigger
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlantic beach, NY
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2007

this was our second time at the nell. i thnk all hotel managers should spend a few days at the nell to see how to run a hotel correctly. we arrived late at night, but our luggage did not and the hotel totally took care of the problem - sending a man with rental ski clothes to our room the next morning and checking for our luggage at the airport - which did arrive the next day.
the rooms are super clean and roomy. the young guys that man the door and drive the courtesy cars and very well trained and personable. nice outdoor spa and pool too.
the ski valets are amazing! it's total hassle free skiing...no schlepping involved!
the location is the best in town...gondola right out the back door, the town out the front door.
we went to have dinner at the st. regis, and the atmosphere there was just yucky and sterile, even though it's a newer property. we almost decided to stay there before we went, just to try something new...i'm so glad we stuck with the little nell.
it's a perfect hotel in a perfect place! what could be better?

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — everything was perfect
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Little Nell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Little Nell

Address: 675 E Durant Ave, Aspen, CO 81611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Aspen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Aspen
#4 Luxury Hotel in Aspen
#4 Business Hotel in Aspen
#5 Romantic Hotel in Aspen
#6 Family Hotel in Aspen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Little Nell 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Little Nell is Aspen's only five-star, five-diamond hotel, offering luxury services and unparalleled access to America's most famous mountain town. Guests of The Little Nell enjoy coveted ski in/ski out privileges to historic Aspen Mountain, a cosmopolitan yet intimate ambiance, haute cuisine, and exclusive adventures and amenities designed to rejuvenate the mind, body and spirit. Relax in the elegance and ease of The Little Nell: Aspen's most legendary hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Jetsetter, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Little Nell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Little Nell Hotel Aspen
Little Nell Hotel Aspen
Little Nell Aspen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Little Nell, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.