We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, but average hotel.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Limelight Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Limelight Hotel to your Saves list
The Limelight Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   355 S Monarch St, Aspen, CO 81611 (Formerly Limelight Lodge)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off a 2-3 night stay!
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Aspen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
70 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great location, but average hotel.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I wish I could have given this hotel 5 stars b/c the staff are great, the rooms comfortable
and I actually had a quiet room in the back. But I did notice that some rooms could potentially be very noisy - very close to the lobby and bar/lounge area which can get very busy. I was actually shocked to see how close some of the rooms are to the entrance to the hotel.
I also visited this hotel during the off season of Aspen when rates are very affordable. The best part of this hotel is obviously the location - walking distance to everything with a fantastic view of Aspen Mountain. But, the Limelight felt like a Holiday Inn from the 90s - there was nothing that stood out that made it great. Rooms do come with a breakfast buffet which is really nice. But I didn't understand the extra wide institutional hallways or the bland, goofy lobby and check-in area. Seemed like a real miss for a hotel that is pretty much brand new.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLimelightHotel, General Manager at The Limelight Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear DangerKitty18,
Glad to hear you experienced our friendly staff and comfortable rooms. Yes, some of our rooms are located near the lobby area, but once inside the rooms, the activity outside melts away. (These room types are also for our most fiscally conservative guests and offer a great value. More details on room types on our website.) While the Limelight Lounge can sometimes be busy, most operations are finished by 9 p.m., particularly in the sleepy off-season when there is little programmed.
During the high season, our Lounge is transformed to a lively and interesting spot. Five nights a week we offer live music from 4-7 p.m., serving house-made chocolate chip cookies to our guests as they come in from off the slopes/day’s activities. We also offer The Limelight Dialogues on certain evenings in the winter, which is a speaker series of interesting local and international skiing/snowboarding icons. Our restaurant can get quite busy in the space, and we often have groups gathering around the roaring fire place. Some families choose to play one of our board games on the coffee tables/couches. It’s really a “Living Room” more than anything else – where our guests can feel at home and mix/mingle with other guests.
We made the design decision to have wide hallways since many of our guests have lots of gear (bikes, skis, strollers). The artwork on the hallway walls are historical images of the property and Aspen, as well as old albums and memorabilia from the folk group from which our name derived: The Limeliters.
Hope you will come back and see us at the property another time! We think the magic of the place is in the people and the connections we make here.
Warm regards,
Richard Stettner, general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

803 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    641
    131
    19
    8
    4
See reviews for
161
381
38
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed here over Labor Day weekend and had the best experience! The price was really worth it considering the fabulous breakfast that was included. Rooms were big, service great and the hotel was just beautiful. Employees were all so nice and helpful. Will definitely go back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Though we only spent one night there on our trip, our experience was just super! Great view from the Terrasse and very friendly staff! The contemporary-style Hotel is in the midst of Aspen. Breakfast in the Lobby was very good and with a fine ambient!

Room Tip: Terrasse Hotel Rooms are just fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, CO
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

This Aspen Hotel, The Limelight, is a great contemporary stay. We enjoyed our first night so much we stayed for a second unplanned night. The staff was very attentive to accommodate our needs. Our room had a super view overlooking the pool and ski slopes. We were celebrating our 30th wedding anniversary and the management had a special champagne surprise upon arrival. Romantic and just WOW! The "continental" breakfast was delicious and the breakfast staff was hustling to make sure guests were pleased. We had so much fun riding the free cruiser bikes around town (fall season so no snow!). The park is just across the street and shops are just steps away. Go down for happy hour for some great vibe. Pizza was just so, so for the price. Overall a fantastic stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the pool and with a view of the ski slopes... away from the elevators and ice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Every aspect of our stay at the Limelight was superb! The staff, room, location, Lounge; all just simply outstanding! Wait until you try their 'Continental' breakfast! My husband and I travel quite a lot and have yet to encounter a 'Continental' breakfast like this before. We would stay here again and again!

Room Tip: We loved the view of the Park and Mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Loved this small hotel, from food to service.
Breakfast was really great and plentiful. Pizza fab!
The car service to airport and around town was a huge plus.
Centrally located with easy walk to bus and gondola.

Room Tip: Larger room are on 3rd and 4th floors, but our 2nd room floor was perfect for us and a good price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLimelightHotel, General Manager at The Limelight Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Peggina,
Thanks for being our 500th review on TripAdvisor! We love hearing about the experiences of our guests at the hotel. So glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at The Limelight and our offerings, from pizza to transportation.
Hope you can return again soon,
Richard Stettner, general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nashville, tn
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We usually stay in B&Bs but decided that being centrally-located in Aspen was important to us. It was a good decision. The staff were uniformly friendly and helpful. They made excellent recommendations on everything from restaurants to hiking trails. We had a fabulous view of the mountains from the balcony of our 4th-floor room.

Room Tip: Pick a room with a balcony on the top floor. The views are stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aspen hotels
0.3 mi away
St. Moritz Lodge & Condominiums
0.1 mi away
The St. Regis Aspen Resort
0.5 mi away
The Gant
The Gant
#3 of 36 in Aspen
4.5 of 5 stars 461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Aspen
Hotel Aspen
#12 of 36 in Aspen
4.0 of 5 stars 366 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Innsbruck
The Innsbruck
#1 of 36 in Aspen
5.0 of 5 stars 264 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jerome, An Auberge Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Limelight Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Limelight Hotel

Address: 355 S Monarch St, Aspen, CO 81611 (Formerly Limelight Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Aspen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Aspen
#1 Business Hotel in Aspen
#1 Green Hotel in Aspen
#1 Family Hotel in Aspen
#2 Luxury Hotel in Aspen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Limelight Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like the highest Rocky Mountain peak, The Limelight Hotel reveals the best views and access to Aspen's most sought-after terrain. Whether you seek ruggedness or sophistication, authenticity or glamour, The Limelight Hotel holds your reservation to the finest of Aspen experiences.Nestled steps from Aspen Mountain and just beside Wagner Park, the Limelight is located within walking distance to all of Aspen¹s renowned landmarks, restaurants and hotspots . No need for vehicles: complimentary transportation to and from the Aspen Airport, as well as through town, whisks you back and forth from Aspen's most inviting hotel.With its fresh, contemporary design, a relaxed atmosphere and an eager-to-serve staff, the Limelight is an ideal spot to start and end your epic day in the mountains.Community-style breakfast and daily après ski/ the longest happy hour in Aspen are part of the Limelight culture. Sumptuous leather couches and a crackling fireplace will beckon you and your dog to the Limelight Lounge at the end of the day; piping hot pizzas, great local bands and outdoor hot tubs succeed in lightening you up.For skiers and snowboarders, exclusive access to the best of Aspen Snowmass' four mountains is part of the Limelight's unparalleled value. A three-night stay may include 4 free lift tickets, complimentary ski/snowboard guided tours, and always highly coveted: First Tracks on the hill. This hotel caters to adventurous souls in the summer as well with unique amenities for bikers. As the gem of Pitkin County, the city of Aspen exposes social adventurers of all ages to a range of breathtaking outdoor experiences, haute cuisine and cultural delight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, BookIt.com, Venere, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Limelight Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Limelight Hotel Aspen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Limelight Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.