We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in Aspen” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Limelight Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Limelight Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Limelight Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   355 S Monarch St, Aspen, CO 81611 (Formerly Limelight Lodge)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 36 hotels in Aspen
Silver Spring, Maryland, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great hotel in Aspen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Spacious, well-appointed room, attentive and helpful staff, and way above average breakfast buffet in living room style, vaulted ceiling, airy setting. This hotel in the heart of Aspen also offers rides to and from restaurants and attractions. Will stay there again.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

602 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    480
    98
    14
    7
    3
See reviews for
121
296
19
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I spent one night here for business.The room was clean and new. Check in was a breeze and very helpful with all my questions regarding places to go and see. Joseph, the bartender, came up with a special cocktail for me and Jacqueline checked me out and asked if I needed food or coffee! So thoughtful. I'll be back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We spent 10 days traveling through beautiful CO and our stay at the Limelight was definitely the best hotel experience we had. It's in a perfect location for walking around Aspen, the staff was friendly and helpful, we loved our room with the large bathroom, comfortable bed, and kitchenette area with in-room Keurig fresh-brewed coffee. The morning breakfast was excellent and convenient. We also enjoyed sitting outside by the fire pits in the evening, having wine with their delicious wood-fired pizza. We would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

The Limelight offers a friendly and helpful staff, clean rooms, wonderful food and a wonderful bed. I have not slept this good in a long time. The kids had a great time playing board games in the lounge area.They also enjoyed the park, playing with friends. The pool and hot tub gave me time to relax and enjoy the warm Aspen fall day. We even took a day trip to the Maroon Bells and saw Moose, a big highlight of the trip. We enjoyed our stay very much. Great time in Aspen and the Limelight.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We were in Aspen for the John Denver tribute and stayed at the lovely Limelight Hotel in Aspen Colorado. This is my second visit to this hotel and it will not be the last. This hotel is reasonably priced with five star service, and the reception staff are the nicest people I have ever met. We were given a list of events for the tribute week along with a list of restaurants to try during our stay. The rooms are large, with plenty of light, and spotlessly clean, but the very best feature of this hotel is the lobby lounge, which is warm, comfortable, has floor-length windows all round and the most wonderful open fireplace one could imagine.
The included breakfast is also one of the best in America (and I have tried a few), with home-made granola that would make a heart sing.
The location of the Limelight is another reason to stay - just a hop, step, and a jump from the middle of the commercial area of Aspen. The Wheeler Opera House is literally a one-minute walk from the front door of the hotel.
The Limelight Hotel is one of Aspen's best-kept secrets - Say hello to Christian at reception!

Room Tip: Stay at the Limelight to experience Aspen at its very best......
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We usually stay at the St. Regis, but a few times a year now we stay at the Limelight. The rooms are spacious and clean, the lobby is inviting to hang out in day or night (with live music some evenings), the free breakfast is a perfect way to start the day, and the location across from Wagner Park could not be better. While the Limelight is not billed as a full-service hotel, it is pretty close and the prices are a great value for Aspen.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I have stayed several times at the Limelight over the last few years, and it never fails to meet my expectations. The rooms with the fireplaces are the best. Clean, comfortable beds, large bathrooms...just really nice without being ostentatious. Their continental breakfasts are a main reason I stay there - can't beat the smoked salmon, the Fage greek yogurt with fresh fruit and granola, and bakery pastries and danishes. I love the fact that you can park your car and never get in it for the weekend. You can either walk anywhere downtown, or use their shuttle service (Mike the shuttle driver is super friendly! And he'll give you running tips as well!). Their lobby is large and comfortable, with a nice fireplace for chilly Aspen evenings. I highly recommend it and will stay there again in a few weeks.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLimelightHotel, General Manager at The Limelight Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
DurangoFam,

Thank you for being such a loyal Limelight guest! The smoked salmon and FAGE yogurt are some of our guests’ favorite items on the continental breakfast. We are hoping to have some new items ready for this winter that will make it even more enticing!

Mike is a great person to get tips from, especially if it has anything to do with running, biking or swimming, as those activities are his passion. Last year he completed the Kona Ironman Triathlon, so you know that guy knows his stuff.

We all look forward to welcoming you back in a few weeks for another stay!

Regards,

Richard Stettner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Limelight Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Limelight Hotel

Address: 355 S Monarch St, Aspen, CO 81611 (Formerly Limelight Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Aspen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Aspen
#1 Romantic Hotel in Aspen
#2 Business Hotel in Aspen
#2 Luxury Hotel in Aspen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Limelight Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like the highest Rocky Mountain peak, The Limelight Hotel reveals the best views and access to Aspen's most sought-after terrain. Whether you seek ruggedness or sophistication, authenticity or glamour, The Limelight Hotel holds your reservation to the finest of Aspen experiences.Nestled steps from Aspen Mountain and just beside Wagner Park, the Limelight is located within walking distance to all of Aspen¹s renowned landmarks, restaurants and hotspots . No need for vehicles: complimentary transportation to and from the Aspen Airport, as well as through town, whisks you back and forth from Aspen's most inviting hotel.With its fresh, contemporary design, a relaxed atmosphere and an eager-to-serve staff, the Limelight is an ideal spot to start and end your epic day in the mountains.Community-style breakfast and daily après ski/ the longest happy hour in Aspen are part of the Limelight culture. Sumptuous leather couches and a crackling fireplace will beckon you and your dog to the Limelight Lounge at the end of the day; piping hot pizzas, great local bands and outdoor hot tubs succeed in lightening you up.For skiers and snowboarders, exclusive access to the best of Aspen Snowmass' four mountains is part of the Limelight's unparalleled value. A three-night stay may include 4 free lift tickets, complimentary ski/snowboard guided tours, and always highly coveted: First Tracks on the hill. This hotel caters to adventurous souls in the summer as well with unique amenities for bikers. As the gem of Pitkin County, the city of Aspen exposes social adventurers of all ages to a range of breathtaking outdoor experiences, haute cuisine and cultural delight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Jetsetter and Venere so you can book your The Limelight Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Limelight Hotel Aspen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Limelight Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.