We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Limelight staff saved me!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Limelight Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Limelight Hotel to your Saves list
The Limelight Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   355 S Monarch St, Aspen, CO 81611 (Formerly Limelight Lodge)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off a 2-3 night stay!
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Aspen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Limelight staff saved me!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

Upon arrival to my room, which was very large and clean, I realized that I had forgot my Mac power cord. I thought it'd be a long shot for them to have a loner power cord, but they did! They also have loaner bikes to ride around town on all the great trails and free wifi.

Downside: if you are a price conscious person it may be a little expensive for you. There are less expensive places in town, but you sacrifice on size and quality of room.

Would I recommend? Yes

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

806 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    644
    131
    19
    8
    4
See reviews for
162
381
38
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coal Valley, IL
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

My husband and I were only in Aspen 2 nights and spent most of our daylight hours in the mountains with the aspens at their peak. The Limelight Hotel offered the perfect location with wonderful breakfast offerings, the mountains in every direction, convenient to downtown for an evening walk to browse or shop, and an easy walk to dinner in town or at the hotel. The rooms were quiet and clean, the staff were helpful and friendly, and the atmosphere for visiting around the fireplace was inviting. We had a wonderful stay and would highly recommend the Limelight!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Great hotel, perfect downtown Aspen location. The staff is top-notch, especially the lobby bar/kitchen group...Peter, Joe and Lake knocked it out of the park with regards to great food (the pizzas are to die for), drinks, and outstanding service. You can't go wrong with a custom-made pizza and glass of wine or beer for dinner!

Visited in Fall, so no skiing, but the summer amenities were great (pool, hot tub, bikes). Dog-friendly, with a city park right across the street. Easy walk to the pedestrian mall and most of the restaurants and boutiques. Valley bus stop is 2 blocks away. Very highly recommended!

Room Tip: The hotel is dog-friendly, with a city park right across the street for exercising your pup.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Mill, South Carolina
Level Contributor
135 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

We had been looking forward for months to again staying at the Hotel Jerome and were very disappointed when they contacted us and said they were closing for remodeling and had booked us at The Limelight. When we followed the Garmin instructions to the Limelight we drove right by it as it was hard to find the hotel sign. We were expecting a clearly marked canopy with a valet and bell hop waiting. Not so!

However, once we managed to find the hotel and check in, we were very pleased with the room, facility, and closeness to the shopping/dining area of Aspen. After checking in we went to the lobby bar for a drink and asked if there were any snacks we could have or buy. Nope, except a pizza (too early for that).

All in all, it was a very nice place and we would stay there again. Still it felt a little more like we were checking into a rental condo than an expensive resort hotel. As mentioned above it is very conveniently located (once we found it).

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLimelightHotel, General Manager at The Limelight Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear Frank B,
I’m glad you were able to come to Aspen this September and experience some of our beautiful fall colors! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at The Limelight, particularly the convenient location.
As you mentioned, we do not have a bell hop waiting at the curb like the Hotel Jerome. With our location away from busy Main Street, our guests are able to park themselves either in our heated below-ground garage or on the street in a nearby residential area. We also provide complimentary in-town and airport transit for those needing a lift.
Our Lounge is open from 3-11 (sorry, no lunch yet), and we serve pizzas and snacks like cast-iron seared pork belly, burrata with roasted pepper relish, warm marinated olives and other Italian-inspired treats. I hope you can join us again and taste some of our offerings!
We do hope you find your way back to The Limelight in Aspen – we’d love to welcome you back.
Warm regards,
Richard Stettner, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Stayed one night here during fall foliage and it was perfect! Rates are reasonable in the "off"-season, and actually low if you are a Colorado resident. Centrally located and one of the nicest hotel stays I have experienced. Beautiful design, with a nice open lobby/bar/lounge area and wide hallways. Our room was a std/deluxe room - spacious, clean, great bathroom, comfortable beds. There is a small but nice fitness center. Very pleasant, helpful hotel staff. Complementary breakfast was phenomenal - wide selection and delicious. I think the only hot food was a make-your-own waffle stand, which we didn't even bother with because of everything else available - fresh fruit, yogurt, homemade granola with separate nuts and dried fruit to add if you desired, hard-boiled eggs, cheeses/meats, bread/pastries/muffins, juices/water/coffee/tea. Didn't have time to take advantage of the outdoor pool/hot tub/lounge area but it looked very nice. Looking forward to my next trip to Aspen and will definitely stay at the Limelight - hopefully for more than one night next time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Albans
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We only had one night here, but wished we could stay for much longer. This hotel is very luxurious and situated right in the heart of Aspen, near all the good restaurants and looking out up the mountain and across to a delightful park in the heart of town. Beds were super comfortable and rooms well appointed. Would definitely come again - and stay longer next time.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for three nights here. It was a perfect place. Clean and comfortable with friendly staff. We have stayed many places and this is our second favorite to all of them around the world. The only one better is in Italy. We loved sitting in front of the fire very night so much, we ate there instead of other restaurants for dinner. So much to do in the area and the hotel is right in the heart of it.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aspen hotels
0.3 mi away
St. Moritz Lodge & Condominiums
0.1 mi away
The St. Regis Aspen Resort
0.5 mi away
The Gant
The Gant
#4 of 36 in Aspen
4.5 of 5 stars 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Aspen
Hotel Aspen
#13 of 36 in Aspen
4.0 of 5 stars 368 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Innsbruck
The Innsbruck
#2 of 36 in Aspen
5.0 of 5 stars 265 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jerome, An Auberge Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Limelight Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Limelight Hotel

Address: 355 S Monarch St, Aspen, CO 81611 (Formerly Limelight Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Aspen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Aspen
#1 Green Hotel in Aspen
#1 Family Hotel in Aspen
#1 Business Hotel in Aspen
#1 Luxury Hotel in Aspen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Limelight Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like the highest Rocky Mountain peak, The Limelight Hotel reveals the best views and access to Aspen's most sought-after terrain. Whether you seek ruggedness or sophistication, authenticity or glamour, The Limelight Hotel holds your reservation to the finest of Aspen experiences.Nestled steps from Aspen Mountain and just beside Wagner Park, the Limelight is located within walking distance to all of Aspen¹s renowned landmarks, restaurants and hotspots . No need for vehicles: complimentary transportation to and from the Aspen Airport, as well as through town, whisks you back and forth from Aspen's most inviting hotel.With its fresh, contemporary design, a relaxed atmosphere and an eager-to-serve staff, the Limelight is an ideal spot to start and end your epic day in the mountains.Community-style breakfast and daily après ski/ the longest happy hour in Aspen are part of the Limelight culture. Sumptuous leather couches and a crackling fireplace will beckon you and your dog to the Limelight Lounge at the end of the day; piping hot pizzas, great local bands and outdoor hot tubs succeed in lightening you up.For skiers and snowboarders, exclusive access to the best of Aspen Snowmass' four mountains is part of the Limelight's unparalleled value. A three-night stay may include 4 free lift tickets, complimentary ski/snowboard guided tours, and always highly coveted: First Tracks on the hill. This hotel caters to adventurous souls in the summer as well with unique amenities for bikers. As the gem of Pitkin County, the city of Aspen exposes social adventurers of all ages to a range of breathtaking outdoor experiences, haute cuisine and cultural delight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Limelight Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Limelight Hotel Aspen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Limelight Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.