We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Independence Square

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Independence Square to your Saves list
The Independence Square
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   404 South Galena Street, Aspen, CO 81611   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 11 Aspen B&B and Inns
Bowral, Australia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“A little gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Our stay was wonderful. We stayed in room 303 which was beautifully appointed and very comfortable. The room is a good size and the location is unbeatable. just a few steps to the hub of town. The breakfast is a little ordinary but there are plenty of great cafe's to choose from if you want something more substantial. The only downside we found was the noise from revellers down on the street and coming out of 'belly up' nightclub- often to about 2am. The hotel has installed double windows but it doesn't solve the problem. i ended up using earplugs and finally got some sleep. The roof top spa is wonderful with unbeatable views to the mountain.

Room Tip: Room 303 was great- corner room, but noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    15
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
3
15
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel, friendly staff, continental breakfast included, wifi in room. The closeness to the lift is the best feature. Our room is spacious. They do a wine and cheese night over the weekend, great way to meet the other guests. Have stayed here 4 times.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

At 2:30 a.m. someone outside yelling/ singing Happy Birthday to you on the street;
at 3:30 a.m. the street cleaner started cleaning;
at 4:30 a.m. the street cleaner returned to clean more of the street, instead of doing it all at 2:30 a.m.;
the windows had no screens so the windows could not remain open;
the A/C filter was red-lighted dirty filter so could not be used.

If you don't want to sleep and you want to pay $200 per night, then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pennyoak, web marketing manager at The Independence Square, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
We feel terrible that you did not enjoy your stay. Since we are located in the pedestrian mall, right by most of Aspen's attractions, sometimes ouside sounds can be heard at the hotel.

Thank you for bringing up the street cleaning issue. We have investigated with the City of Aspen, since two street cleanings at night sounds unusual.

We appreciate your feedback and will work on solutions for the issues you have brought up.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Michigan
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Our son booked this place for us. It is right in the heart of downtown Aspen! Just two short blocks from the gondola ride up the mountain. This was our first time in Aspen in the summer - sooo much to do!! This hotel was clean, friendly, convienently located and cost friendly. We left our windows open and it was a bit noisy at three am when the street cleaner came around. Nice size room but bathroom was way too small. Continental breakfast offered a nice variety. Hot tub on roof offered great views but closed at 9pm - too early. All in all a great deal.

Room Tip: Rooms on east side offer best views but are noisy, on north side is quiet and nice view and south si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I found this on VRBO and stayed in July '12. LOVED it. Nice size room with microwave, small fridge, coffee maker, flat screen tv, etc. Continental breakfast each morning and passes to the Aspen Club. It is pricey, but it is great. Walk anywhere in town. Comfortable bed too!

Room Tip: Most beds are queen. We had a king so I know there are some. It can be loud as well so keep that in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Park, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

My husband and I stay here every year during our annual ski trip to Aspen. We think it's the best hotel for the price and the location can't be beat! We love going out to eat and getting drinks every night after a day of skiing and it's nice that we can just walk out the door to any of the restaurants in downtown aspen. Shopping is also very convenient too! The rooms are a bit small but they are still comfy and cozy. Some of the rooms are more updated than others. During our last trip I did experience a lot of noise at night when the clubs were closing. I don't remember having that same problem the previous stays so maybe it was where our room was located looking over the alley way of the club next door. I would see if you can get a room on the opposite side of the hotel. I'm sure we will be back again next year!

Room Tip: Try to ask for a room that is farthest away from the club next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

Stayed here during the Food & Wine Classic and was very happy with my decision. It's super close to Wagner Park, as well as all the shops and restaurants. Also only 2-3 blocks from the Little Nell and ski lift. My room was small but very cozy and well-appointed. The bed was soft and had lots of good pillows. Views from the hotel rooftop are excellent--and there's also a hottub up there. I believe there's a complimentary continental breakfast served downstairs, but I never had the opportunity to enjoy it due to my work schedule (and my hangovers).

One thing to note: The hotel check-in and elevator access is one level below the street. You have to walk down a flight of stairs to get to your room. This could pose problems to those traveling with small children or ski equipment.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Independence Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Independence Square

Address: 404 South Galena Street, Aspen, CO 81611
Location: United States > Colorado > Aspen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Aspen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Independence Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Independence Square hotel, Aspen's historic landmark lodge, offers modern-day convenience just one block from Aspen Mountain. Located in the heart of downtown Aspen and directly across the street from the Ruby Park bus station, you can take a step back in time without leaving the conveniences of today. The Independence Square hotel provides concierge and guest services; a complimentary continental breakfast; a rooftop hot tub and deck; high-speed wireless Internet; and air conditioning. Frias Properties of Aspen guests also receive free passes to the Aspen Club & Spa, the valley's premier full-service spa and workout facility. (Passes to the Aspen Club & Spa can be picked up from any Frias Properties front desk during business hours.) The Rubey Park bus station, less than a block away, offers free transportation around Aspen as well as free buses to Aspen Highlands, Buttermilk and Snowmass. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your The Independence Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Independence Square Hotel Aspen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Independence Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.