We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hearthstone House

Save Saved
You added Hearthstone House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hearthstone House
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   134 East Hyman Ave, Aspen, CO 81611   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 11 Aspen B&B and Inns
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A great place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

While skiing with friends who stayed elsewhere, I stayed at Hearthstone House on my own. I have travelled extensively in my 62 years, staying in everything from YMCAs to six star hotels. Hearthstone House is up there with the best - it is a great place to stay! My room was very comfortable (I enjoyed the big leather armchair) and the whole house has an ambiance of warmth and welcome. Breakfasts and afternoon wine and cheese were highlights - both taken as I looked out of the big picture windows towards the mountain. Other guests were happy to chat by the blazing fire. Interesting people stay here - from the anaesthetist from Switzerland to the international hip fashion design team from San Francisco. Hearthstone House had an intimacy that is never found in a hotel. It is superbly located- just across the road from the shuttle bus stop for the other mountains and within a very short walk to the best of Aspen's restaurants.

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    36
    10
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
6
24
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Wonderful little gem best location in town,really nice staff great breakfast great value.Girls weekend for the X-games just loved it.Staff were so helpful also loved the wine and cheese in the evening

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Loved this bed and breakfast. The staff were over the top helpful. Location amazing. We were able to use their bikes and the suggestions for food were fabulous. Breakfast was great and wine and cheese was lovely.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, LA
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Thanks to the wonderful staff at the Hearthstone House for another great visit. Special thanks to whoever was responsible for leaving two breakfast sacks outside our door for us to enjoy on our pre-dawn shuttle to Denver. I can't imagine such personal care being given at other hotels. The breakfast buffets and late afternoon wine and cheese parties made our visit seem less like a hotel stay than a visit with friends. As always, the Hearthstone House helped to make Aspen a special place for us.

Ann and Walter Dobie

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street have the better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

Close to the main thinjgs in life- Ski slopes,restaurants, and places to drink. Second floor room large enough for one,clean, great view and close to the bus route Staff fiendly and most helpful. Nothing better than sitting in the hot tub, in the snow after a hard day skiing. Stay there you will not be disappointed !!!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Unionville
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

This is not Little Nell! If you're looking for fine dining and glitz, this is not your hotel. Now, if you're looking for pleasant accomodations, in a great location, and the opportuity to meet with fellow skiers from all over the world, you have found a home. The day starts with a made to order breakfast, and ends with a late afternoon wine & cheese which affords the opportunity to socialize with fellow guests, many of whom have been coming to the Hearthstone for years.

The staff are attentive and accommodating and remember your eating preferences from year to year. (They even remember my wife's Earl Grey tea made in her special tea pot!)

They just celebrated 50 years in Aspen.

This is one of Aspen's hidden gems!

Room Tip: Rooms vary in size and amenities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

This review is a little late, but my wife and I stayed here for our Anniversary back in October 2009 (had to pick a different date on here). It was in a very convenient location so we could walk everywhere. The staff upon arriving was great and very helpful letting us know things going on around the town. It was our first trip to Aspen and very enjoyable. The breakfast each morning was very nice, and the afternoon wine & cheese was a delight as well. We actually got introduced to a great wine there made by Benziger Family Winery. Overall we had a great stay. If we are ever in the area again we will definitely book with them.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hearthstone House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hearthstone House

Address: 134 East Hyman Ave, Aspen, CO 81611
Location: United States > Colorado > Aspen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Aspen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hearthstone House 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hearthstone House lodge combines an intimate, quiet setting with the convenience of an ideal location right in the Heart of Aspen. The Frank Lloyd Wright-inspired architecture creates an atmosphere of cozy elegance, and is situated only two blocks from the best restaurants in Aspen and one block from the complementary ski shuttle!Our gracious and friendly staff ensures that each guest experiences personalized, old-world service. Hospitality is a trademark of the Hearthstone House, and guests feel comfortable relaxing in our luxurious surroundings.Location, individuality and charm keep guests coming back year after year. Visit The Hearthstone House and let us pamper you!Breakfast and Our Apres' Ski Wine and Cheese Reception Included! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Tingo, Booking.com, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Hearthstone House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hearthstone Hotel Aspen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hearthstone House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.