We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical setting, minimalistic design and low-key staff on the outskirts of Aspen make for nice alternative with value.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aspen Meadows Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Aspen Meadows Resort to your Saves list
Aspen Meadows Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   845 Meadows Rd, Aspen, CO 81611   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Dogs Are Free - 8/27-9/7
Ranked #8 of 36 Hotels in Aspen
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
“Magical setting, minimalistic design and low-key staff on the outskirts of Aspen make for nice alternative with value.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2011

Stayed on New Year's night on a spontaneous ski-day getaway and found the minimalistic rooms with clean design both lovely and affordable. The setting, a 3 minute shuttle ride to downtown Aspen, has views of AJAX, Highlands and Buttermilk Mountains and is truly extraordinary. The lodging is the home base for the Aspen Institute so the feel is very heady and like a college campus with a touch of hip. Breakfast (huevos) were the best we've had in Colorado and the late night bar selection had some good whiskeys for a nightcap by the fire. We loved it and recommend it. It's not the St. Regis and it doesn't try to be. Great value that couldn't be any prettier. Nice spa and fitness area which we didn't use.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    79
    21
    11
    7
See reviews for
75
119
17
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kennett Square, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2011

Stayed here twice. Pretty location but the rooms are old. Temperature control in room was a constant challenge. The brought three electric heaters to the room. Think about that? Why do they stock electric heaters. I am sorry that the Aspen Institute is here.

Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dougcrawford, Director of Sales at Aspen Meadows Resort, responded to this review, January 4, 2011
Dear Joeinx,

Thank you for your recent comments on Trip Advisor! We always appreciate feedback and strive to make sure each stay is enjoyable.

We apologize for your troubles regarding heat in your room this past week. The heating and cooling systems in our hotel were designed to be as energy efficient as possible. We realize that this can be difficult when temperatures swing to the extreme, as did Aspen’s sub-zero temperatures over the holidays this year. During these chilly times, we sometimes utilize the help of small space heaters to get the temperature of rooms up to the guests’ comfort level more quickly than standard heating alone. I hope this was your experience when the heaters were brought in. The Aspen Institute is actively working on a new design as we speak, with hopes we will have an effective and environmentally healthy upgrade in the very near future. Your concern will absolutely help in bringing urgency to this project going forward.

Thank you again for your comments and it would be a pleasure to speak with you personally to gain more details. Feel free to contact me anytime, and I hope you will consider returning to the Aspen Meadows Resort during your next visit to Aspen.

Best wishes,

Jud Hawk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Orange, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2010

Hotel room had terrible odor and no tub only shower stall. Hallways had same smell. Room not at all as promised. Upon arrival after 8 hrs of travel, was told that I could grab a cup of coffee from the lobby, but had to leave in 10 mins as reception was taking place in lobby. Moved to room with tub after voicing complaint to both hotel mgr and website where trip was booked. New room's tub would not hold water--had to bathe in 1/4 full tub apres skiing. Beds uncomfortable--pillows terrible. Receptionist swiped credit card, promising that nothing would be charged to my card, however 2 days later was hit with $270 hold, described as $50 per day in case I charged something to my room. After telling the receptionist that I was not charging anything, she released the hold. Two days after getting home, I was charged $117.72 unexpectedly. I called hotel, and was told that this was for "resort fees"--coffee in lobby, newspaper (which was never provided), WiFi, pool, and "free" shuttle. Also, buffet breakfast is very pricey--beware of 22% gratuity added to check but not mentioned by staff.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dougcrawford, General Manager at Aspen Meadows Resort, responded to this review, December 30, 2010
Dear hisideallady,

Thank you for speaking with me today by phone to review your concerns. My team and I take great pride in delivering the experience that our guests expect. As discussed, please accept my sincerest apology that your family’s experience did not meet your expectations. Without question your observations and concerns are a priority of ours, and as promised I will work diligently with the staff to ensure these issues are resolved in the future.

I’m thrilled to hear that you have already made plans to return to Aspen, and greatly appreciate that you are giving us a second chance here at the Aspen Meadows Resort. We look forward to having you as our guest, and providing you with the standard of service and accommodations that will make your trip an amazing one!

Please do not hesitate to let me know if I can be of additional service to you or your family in any way.

Warm regards for a very Happy New Year,

Jud Hawk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
57 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2010

Aspen Meadows is indeed a hidden gem in Aspen. We jsut spend a week in a 2 bedroom suit with our daughters which cost less than what it would havebeen the tax on Little Nell's suites! The suite was huge, clean and beautiful. The service is impeccable. they had fresh coffee in the morning and smores at night. They even paid for ski transfers from one mountain to another. They also offered free internet access. It is a bit out of the way but the shuttle ran all day and all night and we never had an issue getting one to take us to town. The only thing that I wish they had was a toaster in the room. I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2010

Aspen Meadows combines virtually everything needed for a memorable Aspen holiday, except for ski-in, ski-out accessibility. If you can organize yourself to use their shuttles into downtown ( 3-4 minutes ride), then you get simple (Scandinavian style?) but very comfortable accommodations, a quiet setting with views of the mountains, very good food on-site, willing-to-help service, and great value for your buck.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2010

Friendly staff, huge rooms, beautiful setting. Woudl recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2010

We stayed for one night with our infant and toddler to catch the end of the fall colors. We were very happy with the grounds, the layout of the room, the fitness center, and the pool area.

When I woke up in the morning, I was on my laptop and saw something scurry across the floor in the corner of my eye and disappear under the couch. I stared at the couch and then saw a little mouse come back out. I screamed and woke my husband up and we watched it run back and forth. My infant was sleeping on the floor in a tent-like bed that was not completely zipped, so I was mortified that a mouse could have come in with her during the night. I had the girls stay on the bed with me and my husband packed up and we checked out... I told the desk that there was a mouse running around the room and the woman said "sorry, it must be that time of year".

If it hadn't been for that, it would have been a lovely stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aspen hotels
0.9 mi away
St. Moritz Lodge & Condominiums
1.1 mi away
The Limelight Hotel
The Limelight Hotel
#1 of 36 in Aspen
4.5 of 5 stars 808 reviews
1.3 mi away
The St. Regis Aspen Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Gant
The Gant
#4 of 36 in Aspen
4.5 of 5 stars 462 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Aspen
Hotel Aspen
#13 of 36 in Aspen
4.0 of 5 stars 368 reviews
0.9 mi away
Molly Gibson Lodge
Molly Gibson Lodge
#14 of 36 in Aspen
4.0 of 5 stars 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aspen Meadows Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aspen Meadows Resort

Address: 845 Meadows Rd, Aspen, CO 81611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Aspen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Aspen
#4 Business Hotel in Aspen
#7 Romantic Hotel in Aspen
#7 Family Hotel in Aspen
#8 Luxury Hotel in Aspen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Aspen Meadows Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
40 sweeping acres, 98 spacious guest suites, award-winning dining and truly spectacular views, the Aspen Meadows Resort is an unforgettable, Aspen gem. A Dolce Hotels & Resorts destination, and home of the Aspen Institute, this classic, Bauhaus-designed resort boasts 22,000 sq.ft. of meeting and event space plus fabulous amenities such as free downtown and airport transportation, 24 hour front desk service, 3 onsite dining options, expansive health club, outdoor heated lap pool and hot tub, spa services, 6 tennis courts (seasonal), complimentary seasonal bike and snowshoe rental and 24 hour business center. In-suite amenities include LCD flat screen TV, complimentary Wi-Fi, wet bar, pull out sleeper sofa, working spaces, separate living areas, balconies or patios and plenty of natural light with floor-to-ceiling windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Jetsetter, Hotels.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Aspen Meadows Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aspen Meadows Hotel Aspen
Meadows Hotel Aspen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aspen Meadows Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.