We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing view, mediocre experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Aspen Meadows Resort

Save Saved
You added Aspen Meadows Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aspen Meadows Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   845 Meadows Rd, Aspen, CO 81611   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
50% Off Holiday Rates
Ranked #8 of 36 hotels in Aspen
Denver
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amazing view, mediocre experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

First the good news. The view out our back window was incredible, and we were able to enjoy it in the sitting area of our Jr. Suite. We could sit on the couch and read or work on our computers while enjoying the stunning view of the snowy mountains. The room was spacious and clean and comfortable.

Now the bad news. We did not find the bed comfortable. Too hard for our taste. There was no bathtub, and the jacuzzi was too far away from our room to realistically visit unless we had been willing to change in the health club (it was too cold outside to walk in a bathing suit and bath robe). The service was decent but not overly friendly. We had to ask questions to get any information about the property. For example, the front desk did not volunteer information about the existence of a shuttle service to town, or where the hot tub was, or that the restaurant was closed for the season. We ate in the bar and I didn't enjoy the small selection of menu items or the food itself, but of course that's just personal taste. I was particularly unhappy to pay $9, yes $9, for a small slice of tasteless pumpkin cheesecake.

All of that would have been just mildly inconvenient and we still would have rated the resort highly, except for the noise. Oh, the noise. They were doing a roof repair in our building and did not bother to keep it vacant so that guests would not be inconvenienced. The banging noises started early in the morning (say 7 or 7:30) and went on all day. That would be understandable in a busy season, but as far as we could tell there were hardly any guests because it was the October shoulder season. Also, there was a ton of noise outside the room as people walked back and forth to their rooms and, evidently, played hockey until midnight right outside our door. No one intervened in our behalf. Granted we did not speak up about the issues we were having, so it was partly our own fault, but I hate complaining.

If you visited in a slow season and made sure there was no repair work going on in your building, this would be a perfectly lovely place to stay. Make sure you get a room with a view of the mountains. Spectacular!

Room Tip: If you get a suite, try to get a unit in which the living room side faces the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JudHawk_Aspen, General Manager at Aspen Meadows Resort, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Heatherina,

Thank you for choosing the Aspen Meadows Resort! I’m so glad you enjoyed our expansive mountain views and comfortable guest suites. Let me take this opportunity to sincerely apologize for our short comings. I appreciate your honesty; especially highlighting the positive attributes of the resort. I have discussed your concerns with my senior leaders to ensure we learn from your experience and take every action to prevent the same oversights from happening again.

Please do not hesitate to express discomfort with hotel staff during your stay; it’s our job to ensure you have a terrific stay and we welcome every opportunity to make that happen. I hope that you’ll consider staying with us again in the near future.

Please call me at any time to help with confirming those plans!

Warmly,
Jud Hawk
General Manager
970-544-7811
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    170
    62
    15
    8
    5
See reviews for
58
84
13
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Townsville, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Tiles lifting off the floor in the bathrooms with pieces of grout and mop threads in the toilet area. Seems like trying to upgrade but not there yet. Restaurant not open but not listed on the website so did not know until we arrived, from Australia!!! Pool too far from rooms as weather was cold and miserable. Quiet and scenic. Nice walking paths. Felt like I was in a university dorm on campus rather than a resort in Aspen. Sorry guy,s Vail village much better.

Room Tip: No restaurant so no breakfast. Few dishes in room to feed your self. Far from town and no parking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JudHawk_Aspen, General Manager at Aspen Meadows Resort, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear bdg007,

Thank you for taking time to share your concerns regarding your recent stay with us; please accept my sincerest apology. Rest assured that I have discussed in detail the issues you have raised with my department leaders so that the necessary corrections can be made. It is important for me to share that indeed renovation plans of our guest room buildings and suites are under way with work planned for next fall and the spring of 2014. I do hope you will keep us in mind and give Aspen another chance! Please call at any time to check on progress!

Sincerely,
Jud Hawk
General Manager
(970) 544-7811
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

one of my top 5 properties in the world. If you are looking for unpretentious, peaceful and surrounded by nature and natural beauty - this is your place.
Incredible rooms - spacious and well-appointed, big bathrooms, wonderful bedding. Great gym and outdoor workout facility surrounded by nature, infinity lap -pool.
Bauhaus style, walking paths and trails all around. If you crave peace and serenity - this is IT.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JudHawk_Aspen, General Manager at Aspen Meadows Resort, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear Maxine,
I'm so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and future visitors. Please keep in touch with us via Facebook/Twitter so we can keep you posted on the latest on Aspen! I hope to welcome you again as our guest soon.
Thank you,
Jud Hawk
General Manager
(970) 544-7811
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed at the Aspen Meadows Resort from Oct 5- 7. It is a terrific hotel with all the amenities that we desired. The rooms were clean and spacious, the pool and fitness center were all that we could have asked for, and the staff was friendly and helpful. When I booked the reservation, I was not able to get the hotel special rate for the Fall Foliage, but we were upgraded to a 2 bedroom suite and the manager included a bottle of champagne and an Aspen Meadows blanket. This was terrific attention to detail on the notes that I added to our reservation and it helped to make us feel welcome and special.

The resort is in a spectacular location close enough to town to walk, but set on a hillside overlooking the river. The trees were amazing even though we were at least a week past the prime. We used the free bikes in the morning, swam in the pool, and then picnicked on the grounds in the afternoon. It was a great way to enjoy a warm fall day.

Room Tip: most of the rooms will have a terrific view. You can either choose to be close to the parking garag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dougcrawford, Director of Sales at Aspen Meadows Resort, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear Glenn,

It looks like you took full advantage of our expansive property and amenities. I’m so glad you enjoyed your fall stay with us! Thank you for choosing the Aspen Meadows Resort and for taking the time to share your experience with us and fellow travelers. I will share your kind remarks with the rest of our staff. I hope that we’ll have the pleasure of having you as our guest again soon.

Sincerely,
Doug Crawford
Director of Sales
(970) 544-7850
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

Aspen Meadows gets it right from the beautiful grounds and stunning views to the very cool Bauhaus architecture of the buildings. Most importantly, the rooms are clean and the staff inviting. This hotel embodies the best of Aspen, while keeping it real. You need not arrive in your private jet to feel like a VIP.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JudHawk_Aspen, General Manager at Aspen Meadows Resort, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Jaipurite,

Thank you for sharing your positive experience with us and fellow travelers! I’m so glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you on your next visit. Please let me know if I can provide any assistance with reservations in the future!

Best regards,

Jud Hawk
General Manager
970-544-7811
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay! Great trails on the property, with rivers lining both sides. Babbling brooks meander throughout. After hiking in the mountains, the hot tub was a nice way to end the day!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

My husband and I have stayed at Aspen Meadows more than 20 times, and we recently returned from a weekend there. The Bauhaus architecture, magnificent grounds with sculptures by Bayer, Buckminster Fuller and other greats, cool path to the Roaring Fork bike trail, beautiful pool with mountain view, and excellent dining and staff make this the only place I would stay in Aspen. It is within walking distance to town, yet nature is right outside your door. The rooms are among my all-time favorites -- all junior suites with spacious living rooms, refrigerator/bar area, large bathroom and bedroom with a comfy king-sized bed. Plato's also now has excellent food and service, which wasn't always the case. Thanks, Aspen Meadows, for another great experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room on the second floor in the Arco or Crown buildings. The light and view are ama...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JudHawk_Aspen, General Manager at Aspen Meadows Resort, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear Michele,

Thank you for choosing the Aspen Meadows Resort as your Aspen home away from home! I’m so glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us and fellow travelers. I hope that we’ll have the pleasure of having you as our guest again soon.

Jud Hawk
General Manager
970-544-7811
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aspen Meadows Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aspen Meadows Resort

Address: 845 Meadows Rd, Aspen, CO 81611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Aspen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Aspen
#3 Spa Hotel in Aspen
#5 Family Hotel in Aspen
#7 Luxury Hotel in Aspen
#9 Romantic Hotel in Aspen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Aspen Meadows Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
40 sweeping acres, 98 spacious guest suites, award-winning dining and truly spectacular views, the Aspen Meadows Resort is an unforgettable, Aspen gem. A Dolce Hotels & Resorts destination, and home of the Aspen Institute, this classic, Bauhaus-designed resort boasts 22,000 sq.ft. of meeting and event space plus fabulous amenities such as free downtown and airport transportation, 24 hour front desk service, 3 onsite dining options, expansive health club, outdoor heated lap pool and hot tub, spa services, 6 tennis courts (seasonal), complimentary seasonal bike and snowshoe rental and 24 hour business center. In-suite amenities include LCD flat screen TV, complimentary Wi-Fi, wet bar, pull out sleeper sofa, working spaces, separate living areas, balconies or patios and plenty of natural light with floor-to-ceiling windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Aspen Meadows Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aspen Meadows Hotel Aspen
Meadows Hotel Aspen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aspen Meadows Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.