We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most beautiful place and fun hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sky Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sky Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Sky Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   709 East Durant Avenue, Aspen, CO 81611   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 36 Hotels in Aspen
GreenLeadersSilver level
dallas, tx
1 review
“Most beautiful place and fun hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2009

Me and my son stayed there on for a few days. We had a blast. The club 29' was great. I stayed during spring break 2 yrs ago and it is a great hotel. I hope to return for a honeymoon!

  • Stayed March 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    78
    29
    23
    26
See reviews for
37
89
20
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
vermont
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2009

The Sky Hotel in Aspen is a great place to stay. It is perfectly located slopeside. The lobby decor is....borderline tacky, BUT in a very likeable way. It's sort of retro-70's meets Park Avenue if Park Ave. were in South Beach. The bar is spacious and perhaps could be decorated a bit cozier, but because it's usually buzzing with people, you wouldn't even notice this. The food at the bar is quite good and moderately priced. The heated pool, just outside the bar, is the perfect temperature and well worth a dip - as long as you can pull off the complimentary animal print robes (which will keep you cozy on the way back to your room). Oddly, a trip to the pool presented the only glitch in our trip (the robe in my closet - that i had never worn - had an old tissue in it and when asked, the front desk forgot to bring a new one out to me at the pool. They also forgot to bring us slippers - but the stone walkways are heated, so everything worked out just fine).
The rooms are very comfy with a great mini-bar and neat ammenities. I'd imagine at the very least, the bathrooms will get a make-over soon. They are very clean and ample in size, but the design falls short of the designer style of the rest of the hotel.
I have stayed at The Sky twice once on my own as a single 30-something, and the 2nd time with my boyfriend. Both times I encountered helpful and friendly staff. I enjoyed a quiet, cozy room (very comfy bed) with a nice balcony - and on the 2nd trip - an in-room gas fireplace. Both times I stayed in an 'interior' room, they also have exterior entrance rooms. There are a few nice hotels in Apsen, but if you want a stylish atmosphere, that's not pretentious, a perfect location, fabulous L'Occitane toiletries and to be 'in the center of everything Aspen' - stay at The Sky and you won't be disappointed.

  • Liked — location and atmosphere
  • Disliked — the first time, the price because it was hi-season - which is fine, but you can NOT cancel within 30 days - it is a 100% penalty. The 2nd trip it was the beginning of the seaon and incredibly reasonable.
  • Stayed December 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2008

This was our 2nd stay at the Sky, our first during the winter. The rooms are trendy and have been remodeled. I love the eclectic mini bar options, you'll see what i mean! The staff is very friendly and the complimentary transportation around town and to the airport are very nice when it's cold outside. If it happens to be a nice day, you can easily walk to all destiniations in the downtown area. The hotel is only a couple of blocks from the Aspen Mountain gondola and one more block to the bus station if you're skiing elsewhere as we did. The hotel offers a nightly wine hour which we took advantage of every night. You can sit in the trendy lobby and people watch with your glass of wine or hang out in the 39 Degrees bar for more action. The hotel offered a complimentary breakfast Fri - Sun on our trip although this might be seasonal? It was a full buffet plus omelette and pancake stations. I really can't think that i'll ever want to stay at another hotel in Aspen. If you're looking for a centrally located hotel that is not overly expensive, this should be your first choice.

  • Liked — Small, trendy hotel in a convenient location
  • Disliked — Climbing steps with luggage
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2008

A friend suggested we give the Sky a try, which we did with some reluctance as I remembered this hotel as a dirty, old, and uncomfortable place. The location is great (right next to the Little Nell at the base of Ajax), but the interior was just dreadful.

Wow, what a change!

Same shell, different interior. Modern, clean and very hip. Rooms are tight but nicely appointed. The conference rooms are great, especially the glass one just above the lobby. And the Sky Bar is one of the best spots in Aspen to hang out, with wonderful couches and a huge bar.

Might just be a good place for a Kasidie takeover some day!

  • Liked — Hip design, friendly staff, excellent mountainside location
  • Disliked — The exterior is still a bit worn looking
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2008

Great rooms, excellent decor and service. Very clean too! The front desk knew exactly where to go to dine and was extremely helpful in pointing us in the right direction. The complimentary car service to and from the hotel was a great plus! It's very trendy & fun and not as stuffy as the others.

Stayed September 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, CO
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2008

I needed a place in town so I could get to the start of my Ride for the Cure event early in the morning. This hotel was perfect! In town, tucked up against the ski mountain, I was at the start line in 3 minutes by bike. Nice pool scene after a long ride was a great way to end the day. The town was not as full of tourists as in the middle of summer but the comtemporary bar/lounge there was full of good looking people on Saturday night, Beds were great, bathroom was spacious and the free wireless helped me confirm my start time on the internet. A sleek hotel in a great location with friendly staff, I'll be back for another stay!

  • Liked — Location and Decor
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2008

Stayed here on our honeymoon and wished we had stayed at the little nell. Hotel is nice and is different - bar very trendy and not really what we wanted after skiing. Too much looking up and down going on.

Room was ok and bed very comfortable but bathroom basic. Nice walk in wardrobe but we had to keep our curtains closed becuase we were on a corridor.

To call this ski in ski out is a slight exagerration but it is no hassle to walk an extra 2 minutes. Ski storage is great though and skiis are out and ready for you every morning.

Reasonable gym which is open 24 hours which is nice as means could go to the gym early and stilll be on early lifts.

Hotel is well located but with hindsight this was trying to be too boutique for us and didn't quite do it.

  • Liked — The warm afternoon cookies
  • Disliked — snotty bar scene
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sky Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sky Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 709 East Durant Avenue, Aspen, CO 81611
Location: United States > Colorado > Aspen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Aspen
#5 Spa Hotel in Aspen
#10 Luxury Hotel in Aspen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sky Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sky Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, exemplifies the high style of Aspen. It perfectly combines old-world Rocky Mountain charm with contemporary luxury and taste. Serene surroundings marry with exceptional service, state-of-the-art comforts and a chill environment. Located at the base of Aspen’s ski area and two blocks from the center of town, Sky Hotel provides an unparalleled focal point for skiing, hiking, fishing, shopping, dining, people watching and lounging at the adjacent 39 Degrees Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Sky Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sky Hotel Kimpton
Sky Hotel Aspen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sky Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.