We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, A Little Noisy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sky Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sky Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sky Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   709 East Durant Avenue, Aspen, CO 81611   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Colorado Residents Save
Ranked #17 of 36 hotels in Aspen
GreenLeadersSilver level
Average Town, USA
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, A Little Noisy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

This was an outstanding find. The staff was friendly and helpful, and we found the room to be clean and comfortable. The hotel bar/restaurant was nice with good appetizers. The pool and hot tub were nice as well. The pool, lobby, and rooms are small but space is limited in aspen. The only reason this hotel did not get 5 stars from me was the noise at night. Though updated, the hotel is old, and we were woken up throughout the night by people walking down the hall and closing their doors. Other than that a great place, I would stay at the Sky again for sure.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    112
    67
    27
    21
    24
See reviews for
32
81
17
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
GREENWOOD VILLAGE
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Our son and his family as well as my husband & I and 3 dogs between all of us were in Aspen for one of the most beautiful fall weekends possible. We loved our rooms and the close proximity to a park and trails to walk the dogs on. Management was beyond friendly and helpful.

The pool and hot tub are beautiful. We had dinner and drinks in the cocktail lounge and we shocked at how good our meals were. In addition there were many people at the lounge on Friday night so it was a fun place to visit.

We will book our rooms several months ahead for next year's gymnastic meet weekend.
Barb P.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardmore, Oklahoma
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Sky 10/17 through 10/20, and had an amazing time. The location can't be beat - just steps away from downtown and the lifts. The staff offered and would have driven us anywhere we wanted to go, but we were in walking distance of everywhere we cared to visit and didn't have to use the shuttle.

Now it was off season, and so I can't say what it's like during the ski season, but I felt as though we received exceptional value. The nightly wine tastings were a blast, and one day the hotel let us use their bikes and we had a great time riding around the numerous bike paths throughout the city, looking at the sites.

As for noise complaints, there was a youth hockey tournament going on in the city, and one or more teams staying at the hotel. I expected the worst, but can honestly say that we didn't even hear them in our room - it was very quiet and enjoyable.

The room was a little small - but hey, you don't go to Aspen to hang out in the room!! We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Rock, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We found traveling with the pugs to be extremely easy. We enjoyed seeing their names on the board at our arrival and Shane Todd at the front desk was absolutely wonderful. Of course, he has a pug named Harlow so we were fast friends. The room was on the first floor with it's own outdoor exit so taking the dogs for potty breaks was a breeze. The rooms are small but the accommodations are rustic modern and colorful. We enjoyed having a drink in the lounge next to the fireplace and the morning coffee service in the lobby. Close to everything, we enjoyed the farmer's market and hiking in the fall colors. Thank you for a great weekend!

Room Tip: first floor with sliding glass door exit outside is great for pets!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Colorado
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We have stayed numerous times over the last 28 years. Although if you look close enough, you can see the signs of age on the hotel, the staff is very friendly and accommodating. Location is great. We did have an updated room, but I wish sometimes hotels when they update, could figure out how to make the rooms larger. I would recommend the Sky.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Salvador
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

This was my second stay at this hotel. Both times I have had a great experience.
The staff is very kind. Specially the cleaning and housekeeping staff.
My room was perfect. I always expect a very comfortable bed because getting a good sleep is important to me when I am away from home.
Last time I stayed in a suite, so accommodations were excellent. I was attending a conference in town.
This hotel is located near the Aspen gondola station, shops and restaurants. Downtown Aspen is very small, so basically everything is within 5-10 minute walk. And if you don't want to walk, the hotel provides transportation service.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

We spent a night at this hotel. Looks built in the 70s; reasonably updated with a colorful feel. However, both beds in our room had worn out mattresses with deep indentations. I'd overlook this in a cheap motel but at $300/night the beds should be great. Not up to Kimpton standards.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sky Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sky Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 709 East Durant Avenue, Aspen, CO 81611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Aspen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Aspen
#5 Spa Hotel in Aspen
#9 Luxury Hotel in Aspen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sky Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sky Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, exemplifies the high style of Aspen. It perfectly combines old-world Rocky Mountain charm with contemporary luxury and taste. Serene surroundings marry with exceptional service, state-of-the-art comforts and a chill environment. Located at the base of Aspen’s ski area and two blocks from the center of town, Sky Hotel provides an unparalleled focal point for skiing, hiking, fishing, shopping, dining, people watching and lounging at the adjacent 39 Degrees Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Jetsetter, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Sky Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sky Hotel Kimpton
Sky Hotel Aspen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sky Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.