We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sky Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sky Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sky Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   709 East Durant Avenue, Aspen, CO 81611   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Colorado Residents Save
Ranked #17 of 36 hotels in Aspen
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cypress, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great service and location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

I have stayed here once each of the last two summers. The hotel lobby and restaurant area are nicely appointed in contemporary style. The rooms while neat are somewhat dated in the bathrooms especially and are kind of small. The staff and concierges are fantastic giving out great advice on things to do in the Aspen area. The restaurant/bar is very good. I loved the breakfast. The pool/hot tub area is very nice but overly crowded. It's a public pool which caters to a young, hip crowd which crowds out the guests in my opinion. This property has the potential to be much better, but its still a very good choice for a weekend stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    112
    67
    27
    21
    24
See reviews for
32
81
17
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

The old exterior hallway, two-story property has been dressed up with modern, colorful and comfortable furniture and accessories. But it is still an old property. Poor hot water in shower, old bath and tiles. Small basic rooms were quite noisy at night. Good maid service and friendly staff at front desk and concierge. Like the major supply of newspapers in lobby early each morning. Lively bar and nice pool area for tight space. Overall, reasonably good value, good attempt to mask age and good location. But not a standout property. (Did not try restaurant).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coreyE_Aspen, General Manager at Sky Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
We are stoked to hear you enjoyed our amazing staff and the bar and pool scene here at the Sky Hotel. We are always working hard to make sure the facility is fun a lively as well. We'd love to have you return to stay with us again sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gambrills, Maryland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We had to cancel a trip to Aspen last year for medical reasons and the hotel gave us one year to use the pre-paid vacation -- that was the first of many outstanding customer service experiences! Gerry picked us up very late at the airport and when we discovered most restaurants were closed, he graciously offered to drive us around town so we could get some dinner; this included sight-seeing and recommendations on things to do and places to eat. Chris was the desk clerk who checked us in and was extremely helpful and friendly that night and on subsequent days when we needed directions and help with reservations. Actually, the entire staff was friendly and helpful and our suite was perfect, especially the amount of space and views of the mountains. We did not bother to rent a car as everything was in walking distance and we always had the shuttle if we needed a ride.
There are wonderful restaurants and shops and outstanding hiking in this area and the people in Aspen are much more laid back than the East Coast, probably because of the great weather and small town atmosphere.
We had a spectacular jeep tour up to Taylor Pass with Blazing Adventures and our guide, John Bokram was outstanding with a plethora of facts about the area and a great sense of humor.
This is a dog-friendly town, too which gets extra points on our favorite places to go list.
Best restaurants: Jimmy's, White House, L'ostaria

Room Tip: Get a suite with a view of the mountains, 2nd or 3rd floor!
See more room tips
Green Features: Fresh water with cucumber and lemon at the front desk & reusable glasses, recycling bins in the rooms.
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coreyE_Aspen, General Manager at Sky Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thanks so much for the stellar review. We are so happy to that you were able to make it to Aspen to enjoy everything that is here. Our team works hard to be the local experts so its great to hear that we were able to show you some of the best that Aspen has to offer. We can't wait to have you return to Aspen again soon and stay with us here at the Sky Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

I was invited by my friend to visit Aspen, of course...never been, heard so many wonderful things about it! Hiking, biking, and fly fishing was amazing. The views and weather magnificant, but save yourself the agony of going to the Sky Hotel! I didn'T want to complain to my friend who graciously invited me, but by the second day in we were both in agony. The rooms, so small for the rate, ? The noise level was from hotel guests, and the parking lot. There are really no well located rooms on this property. The hotel does not have a restaurant, rather a bar "39 Degrees", which is dark, and dirty. The staff themselves seemed like they were in agony. Fod was good when we finally did get it 27 minutes after our order with aoplogies as a side order, without condements, water service. The pool scene was disgusting, open to the public, and occupied by trash. I could not read a book, relax in a lounge, or take a swim in the pool. It is a spring break, it is a shame, it was AGONY!

When we asked to speak to the GM or someone regarding the situation, we were told, "They are all out bicycling, training for a race." Really! No wonder this place is a mess!!!! What kind of business are they running?!

The hotel's decor is funky and fun. Staff pleasant, bellman could not be more helpful, as well as concierge.

There are lovely hotels in the area that have compatible rates, and much to offer: Limelight, The Gant, Aspen Square.

I was surprised this is a Kimpton property.

Room Tip: There are no god rooms on this property. You are always exposed to noise of one kind or another. R...
See more room tips
Green Features: I did notice they took care of these practices. I saw the waitress separating garbage for recycling.
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

I am very satisfied with this hotel. It’s elegant and walking distance to downtown Aspen. It’s not cheap, but nothing is in Aspen. In addition, valet parking and in-room service will boost your final bill up. You need valet parking since there is no parking except valet, and it costs you 26 bucks per night. Very nice pool and outdoor sitting area. The hotel restaurant is called 39° Lounge. I did not use it, but it looked good On the plus side, they gave us a free upgrade to a junior suite.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We loved this hotel. The location is great. We parked our car on Friday night and never had to use it till we left Sunday. We were able to wlak everywhere, and they also have a shuttle readily avaialable. We particularly liked Jared - he was great between driving us, giving us restuarant advice and helping us overall. The entire hotel staff were great. We also got passes to the local gym, and each morning took a nice walk there and had a great workout. One morning, we followed this with breakast outside on the hotel's pool patio with our friendly waiter Andrew.
The room was nice with a terrace too.
And best of all, our dog had a great vacation too. SHE LOVED IT. Except, she was afraid of the elevator. Other than that, a great time was had by all including our 4-legged friend.

Room Tip: Get a room with a terrace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I spent a long weekend with my girlfriend at The Sky Hotel in Aspen. This was probably the nicest / coolest hotel that I have ever booked (I felt right at home there), the place has a great location right off of downtown, a block from the gondola and near non-paid parking. I'll come right out and say it.... you are going to pay good money to stay here, and the rooms might be a bit small (but if you are staying in the room you are missing the point of being in Aspen).
What made my stay want to endorse this hotel was the customer service, from the amazingly attentive concierge (who will help book your trips/dinners and have a schedule for you upon checking in) to the cleaners who not only make your bed in the morning but will have made it again at night! The hotel itself is quite interesting, awesome hot tub, DJs, wine nights, and a really good restaurant (also quite expensive, but get the tacos if you go). If you are going to stay here, don't look for the value as 400/night is pretty steep, just think of treating yourself for a nice vacation (a really really nice vacation) as this is exactly what this hotel will give you.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sky Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sky Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 709 East Durant Avenue, Aspen, CO 81611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Aspen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Aspen
#5 Spa Hotel in Aspen
#9 Luxury Hotel in Aspen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sky Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sky Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, exemplifies the high style of Aspen. It perfectly combines old-world Rocky Mountain charm with contemporary luxury and taste. Serene surroundings marry with exceptional service, state-of-the-art comforts and a chill environment. Located at the base of Aspen’s ski area and two blocks from the center of town, Sky Hotel provides an unparalleled focal point for skiing, hiking, fishing, shopping, dining, people watching and lounging at the adjacent 39 Degrees Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Jetsetter, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Sky Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sky Hotel Kimpton
Sky Hotel Aspen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sky Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.