We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only choice in Aspen!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sky Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sky Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Sky Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   709 East Durant Avenue, Aspen, CO 81611   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 36 Hotels in Aspen
GreenLeadersSilver level
Los Angeles, California, United States
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“The only choice in Aspen!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

This hotel is amazing! We walked into the lobby and the bar, patio and Libby was packed with Apres skiers having a blast. They had a Dj, gray food, settings and you can ski right in from the slopes of Apex. It was literally like a movie scene and so much fun. A wide range of people, not kids, 30's, 40's.
We meet lots of fun friendly people. It's a fun boutique type hotel, so lots of style. Our room is good sized, hip, clean and cozy. Great food at 39. They partner with a spa and take you there for all the treatments you want. They have a car to take you anywhere in town you want add well and bring you back so no worries about drinking and driving.
It is "The" spot in Aspen. It's a must go and we will be back next year!

Room Tip: Get a room with two beds if you want a larger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coreyE_Aspen, General Manager at Sky Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2012
Dear Elizabeth M.

Thank you so much for the positive feedback on your last review of the Sky Hotel on TripAdvisor. We look forward to having you return to stay with us in the future. Let me know if I can help with anything in the future.

Corey Enloe
General Manager - Sky Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    93
    31
    26
    28
See reviews for
40
103
21
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
miami, fl
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

We just returned from our ski vacation in Aspen, and we THROUGHLY ENJOYED ourselves at the Sky hotel! My group vowed this will be our annual vacation spot, especially at this property. The Sky Kimpton catered to your every need, and you wanted for nothing. The décor is pleasant throughout the hotel. 39 degrees bar is the happening spot (especially during the weekends), located next to the lobby. IDEAL location, you have immediate access to ski shops, restaurants, grocery stores, and boutiques. Not to mention you’re at the base of the mountain (skiing is blue and up). We definitely benefited from the complimentary amenities such as, full hot buffet breakfast, wife throughout the hotel and rooms, cocktail reception, and car service (restaurants and airport). Our rooms were cozy, comfortable, and equipped with everything we needed. The front office and restaurant staff were ALWAYS professional and affable. Just in case I wasn’t clear… I have NO complaints, and HIGHLY recommend this hotel!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coreyE_Aspen, General Manager at Sky Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2012
Dear karajeanm

Thank you so much for staying with us and sharing your experience about the Sky Hotel with the TripAdvisor community. We are thrilled that you and your group enjoyed your time here and we very much look forward to seeing you back here again soon. Our staff is very happy that you enjoyed your interactions here. Let me know if I can help with anything in the future.

Corey Enloe
General Manager - Sky Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallingford, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

My husband and I just returned from a 4-night stay at the Sky. We were there over President's Day and I was a little nervous about the service based on some of the reviews here. However, we were far from disappointed. Let me first say that this is certainly not a 5-star hotel and if you go there expecting that you might be disappointed. The rooms are on the small side and a little dated but they were very clean and housekeeping did a great job every day. We had an outside entrance on the pool side and I was concerned about the noise level at night but we couldn't hear a thing.

The service was great from the start. Andrew picked us up at the airport and was very friendly and gave us lots of good tips and information as we drove to the hotel. Amy, a waitress at 39 degrees, was unbelievably sweet and friendly and gave us great suggestions when we ate lunch outside one day as well as later at Apres ski. The food at 39 degrees is really, really good. She suggested the tuna tacos and we were definitely not disappointed.

39 degrees gets jammed after 4pm and on Saturday/Sunday it was a little too much of a scene for us after 8pm. We were in town with family who stayed at the St. Regis. It is really beautiful and if you're looking to cozy up with a good book in front of a fire that's the place to stay. But the lounge service there was terrible. Same for the Little Nell. Ate lunch at Montagna and Ajax and the food was excellent and the service was good but the lounge service was awful. The service and friendly staff at Sky did not disappoint and was better than expected on such a busy weekend.

Last but certainly not least is location. Sky is literally at the bottom of Ajax. You can practically walk out the door and be on the snow. The entire town is easily accessible and walkable and if for some reason you don't feel like walking, their cars will take you anywhere without a problem.

Room Tip: We had an outside entrance and it wasn't terrible but an inside entrance might be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

This is not your 5 star hotel. If you're looking for the red carpet to be rolled at your feet because you're staying in Aspen, I don't think Sky Hotel (or any Kimpton Hotel) is for you. That said, this is a hip, fun, dog friendly hotel. It's a stone's throw from the mountain. This is great if you want to get out and exercise your pup or take a nice walk up the hill yourself. The pool was hopping each afternoon too if that is your thing for the summer.

Room Tip: It is a little tricky to find so keep a close out for the sign. It looks more like condos on the ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

Just spent a week at the Sky hotel and there are pro's and con's unfortunately greatly out number the pro's ! The room could not get any smaller even for 1 person it's tight not to mention the bathroom we both couldn't get in it at the same time, the toilet is literally on top of the door ! After doing some research here there are much better condo's and hotels for the equivalent or less money. The hotel lacks that extra service from the front desk our greeting on arrival was poor ! the breakfast staff and bar staff make it more pleasurable and more genuine. On the plus side the location is very good however the only down side to this is that it is opposite the Little Nell which is at least 3 starts above The Sky in terms of quality of room and service. If you want to ski at Buttermilk or Snowmass you need to walk round to the bus station with ski's catch the bus then after your day if your going back the next day you can
leave your gear but at $10 a night. Disappointing that you have to walk to the bus station as other hotels offer the hotel mini bus direct to ski areas.
Aspen ski lift is just 5 mins walk round the corner from the hotel.

The hot tub is an experience as a couple of times I was in it people who were not staying at the hotel took a dip so you can imagine it got crowded !
Tom in the ski shop downstairs is great, good advise and service really looked after the ski's and told us the set up around the place, you can ski in but there is a little walk over the road to the hotel.

Best food was the L' Hostaria, Hickory House and Little Annies for the more American feel generally good food everywhere !
Would recommend Aspen for the skiing it's the best I've ever done as far as the Sky re think if you like 5 star !

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

I grew up in Aspen and during our engagement party there was no room in the house for us, so we decided to get a room at Sky. Very large beds that are comfortable, great climate control and large bathrooms. We had the front room over looking the pool on the second level, and during the summer the patio is regularly rented out for parties, so if you hate noisy rooms stay away from the pool! Speaking of the pool, it is a main attraction for locals to hang out and eat the amazing Truffle Fries!!! There is nothing like a froufrou cocktail in the hot tub, or take a dip in the year round heated pool! All of the food at 39 degrees is spectacular.

One of the most notable features of the hotel is the crazy, extravagant decor. They have giant white chairs with soaring backs and interesting light installments. Passing through the lobby is 39 degrees lounge, bar and restaurant. They have a cozy bar area with booths, loungers, and action-sports films to entertain you. In the winter it is lovely to curl up next to the fire with a Snuggler (peppermint schnapps and hot chocolate.) This is a boutique hotel and the service is exemplary. Sky is located at the base of Aspen Mountain and you can ski-in/ski-out to the Silver Queen Gondola. They provide robes for all ages in zebra and leopard patterns! They are also pet-friendly with in-house dogs to great the guests!

Room Tip: If you desire relaxation and peace, avoid rooming by the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coreyE_Aspen, General Manager at Sky Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2012
Thanks so much for the great review. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We can't wait for you to come back and visit the family again and stay with us. Thanks for the great feedback and see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

As a family of 2 adults and one 12 year old the Sky Hotel exceeded all our requirements. The room was spacious, warm, and very clean.Tom and Matt at the downstairs Ski Hire were fantastic. The boys knowledge and friendly personality made us feel like friends, not customers. Parker,the night manager, has had such an amazing life, and was happy to share his knowledge of Aspen history with us.
We will be telling our friends what a fantastic time we had a the Sky Hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coreyE_Aspen, General Manager at Sky Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2012
Thanks for your excellent review of the Sky Hotel. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We can't wait for you to return to stay with us and please do bring your friends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sky Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sky Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 709 East Durant Avenue, Aspen, CO 81611
Location: United States > Colorado > Aspen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Aspen
#5 Green Hotel in Aspen
#10 Luxury Hotel in Aspen
#14 Romantic Hotel in Aspen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sky Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sky Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, exemplifies the high style of Aspen. It perfectly combines old-world Rocky Mountain charm with contemporary luxury and taste. Serene surroundings marry with exceptional service, state-of-the-art comforts and a chill environment. Located at the base of Aspen’s ski area and two blocks from the center of town, Sky Hotel provides an unparalleled focal point for skiing, hiking, fishing, shopping, dining, people watching and lounging at the adjacent 39 Degrees Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Sky Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sky Hotel Kimpton
Sky Hotel Aspen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sky Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.