We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location & Value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Aspen

Save Saved
You added Hotel Aspen to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Aspen
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   110 West Main Street, Aspen, CO 81611   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 36 hotels in Aspen
1 review
“Great Location & Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I visit Aspen often and have stayed at many places from the Little Nell to the Mountain Chalet. Both the Hotel Aspen and its sister property the Molly Gibson Lodge are the best value in town. With complimentary breakfast and Apres ski happy hour anyone wishing to stay in town on a budget should look here first. Location is just a few blocks from the pedestrian village and there is a bus if you can't stand to walk 5 minutes. Rooms are updated and the beds and linens are fantastic. They are also pet-friendly (great parks on both sides) and welcomed my dog with a few treats and a bowl. Nice pool and hot tub. Basically everything you need for a nice stay in town without feeling like you have been robbed. Friendly staff, quality rooms, complimentary amenities, great location all at an affordable price make this a gem in downtown Aspen.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAspen, General Manager at Hotel Aspen, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear dciani,

It's well traveled, Aspen knowledgeable guests like yourself that help make reviews like this very credible. We do so appreciate your patronage and appreciate the time you took to let us know that our tradition of great service, excellent value, prime location and amazing amenities lives on year after year. We look forward to your next stay with us!

Best regards,

Jeff Bay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    143
    120
    27
    17
    7
See reviews for
75
132
11
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

we were in aspen before and this time i read the reviews and i'm glad i made the decision to stay at this lovely hotel. everyone is very friendly and the complimentary breakfast and apres ski is plentiful and delicious. all the food is fresh and the atmosphere with the fireplace is very relaxing. the room was clean and well appointed, it was better than i had expected. the bathroom was renovated. the jacuzzi was perfect, a great plus after a day of skiing. the village is only a few minutes away, less than ten. and the bus stop to all the mountains is literally right outside the front door. this hotel is on my return list.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAspen, General Manager at Hotel Aspen, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Hello amos g,

We are so pleased you had such a great time with us and we appreciate the time you took to leave us such a positive review. We try hard to keep our service, value, location and amenities up to snuff and we love it when we hear from guests like yourself that we are doing a great job! Come see us again soon.

Regards,

Jeff Bay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This was my third stay at the Hotel Aspen over a span of 10 years and each year visit gets better and better. The property has invested in keeping the room and amenities up to date and the staff couldn't be friendlier. Town is just a short walk and the RFTA is right next to the property which makes it easy to get to the other mountains.

I look forward to my next visit!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAspen, General Manager at Hotel Aspen, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear zonafade,

We so appreciate your return patronage and we are blessed to have such great loyal customers like yourself. many of our guests return year after year for the warm service, great amenities, perfect location and value that make us Aspens favorite moderate hotel. Here's looking to your fourth stay next season!

Cheers,

Jeff Bay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We had the perfect weather with awesome skiing. We were given a range of options for booking accommodation in Aspen. We selected Hotel Aspen because of its location - a short walk from downtown Aspen and shuttles to Highland and Snowmass stopping outside. The breakfast was certainly plentiful with a range of choices. The scrambled eggs were excellent. Not sure why the toaster toasted on one side!! The après ski was excellent with soup, nibbles and plenty of wine and beer. They were generous in their servings. We had a room with a king bed overlooking the street and the magnificent Aspen mountains. Just gorgeous. Plenty to do if you are not skiing like me. Could enjoy the lounge at any time and Internet use. Most staff were very friendly and helpful. Husband used pool and outside spa. Received a voucher for Jimmy's (through our booking agent) which was just fabulous. Hotel Aspen made out trip even more worthwhile.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAspen, General Manager at Hotel Aspen, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Robyn R,

Thank you so much for the great review and we're so pleased you had such a nice stay with us. Didn't you know that toasting on one side is an Aspen tradition? ;-) Glad to hear that the weather, location, activities and amenities all came together to make your stay complete. Hope to see you back soon!

Take care,

Jeff Bay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

First time to Aspen and needed something moderately priced and accessible to downtown and the other resorts. The room was great, the complimentary breakfast and apres ski were definitely a plus. Most of all, I can not say enough about the staff at the hotel, the last time I had this type of customer focus and service was at a Ritz Carlton.......they really made the trip.
I was concerned that the location of the hotel would be an issue, but quickly learned everything was in walking distance and the free bus service, which stops just outsiude the front door, will get you anywhere you want to go. I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAspen, General Manager at Hotel Aspen, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Brian G,

Wow, I am humbled by your compliments and I am truly pleased that you had such an enjoyable stay with us. I will certainly pass on your kind words to my staff and recognize them for their efforts. We are blessed to live and work in Aspen and I'm glad it shows. Service comparable to the Ritz at half the cost - now that's a compelling offer!

Take care,

Jeff Bay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stayed in a room with our private hot tub outside on our balcony. They also have an outdoor pool and hot tub for other guests. Rooms are a little small, bedroom is not separate. Front desk staff is helpful. Comp breakfast and after ski nibbles are convenient.. Since hotel is located on the busy Main Street , you can catch free public buses out the front door to go skiing.

Room Tip: Try a private hot tub room, a little pricey though!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAspen, General Manager at Hotel Aspen, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Beth T,

Thank you so much for the kind and impartial review and we so appreciate you taking the time to let us know that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you next time in Aspen!

Best regards,

Jeff Bay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

This was my first time in Aspen. The hotel was everything I was looking for and more. The staff was great! They picked me up at the airport and provided great recommenations for spas, ski rental discounts and Resturants. The hotel beds were very comfortable and rooms nicely furnished and cleaned. The free morning breakfast and evening appetizers were outstanding. Happy hour was a great time to catch up with the other guests. The pool and spa were a great way to relax after a long day of skiing. It an easy walk into town for great dining and entertainment. The free bus stops right out front the hotel to easily jump over to any of the four world class ski mountains. See you on my next trip out.

Room Tip: I would choose one of the rooms around the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAspen, General Manager at Hotel Aspen, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Jhallnucg,

Thansk so much for the great review and we're so glad you had a great time in Aspen with us. You're right that our location, value, service and amenities make us a great choice in the Aspen area, we hope you come back to see us soon!

All the best,

Jeff Bay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Aspen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aspen

Address: 110 West Main Street, Aspen, CO 81611
Location: United States > Colorado > Aspen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 36 hotels in Aspen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aspen 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Aspen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Aspen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.