We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and close to the town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Durant

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Durant to your Saves list
Hotel Durant
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   122 E Durant Ave, Aspen, CO 81611   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 36 Hotels in Aspen
Bradenton, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Charming and close to the town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I stayed here with my daughter who was doing the Golden Leaf Half Marathon in Aspen. It was a 2 minute walk to the park where the race ended, so the location was good for that as well as the ease of getting into town. There are several good trails close by and we had a great visit. Rooms are cozy, but very comfortable and there is no additional charge for parking. It was also pleasant to sit outside with a beverage in the afternoon and meet some of the other guests. There is also a hot tub outside on the deck. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    30
    6
    5
    4
See reviews for
13
39
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We decided to stay here based on proximity of the hotel to the town (and ski lifts if you come during winter). We were greeted and educated by Cynthia, the delightful and ever so helpful desk person. She gave us a map, circled places of interest, based on our conversation with her, and even recommended a few great motorcycle rides since we're on a fall leaf tour on the bike. Our room is small, but more than sufficient. The entire atmosphere of the place made us feel very much at home (and dispelled our impression of Aspen as a snobbish place!). The hot tub was wonderful after a day of riding. The hotel is quiet, the linen sheets feel great, and the balcony looking up the slope is great. We strolled around town to galleries, shops and restaurants, all within blocks. Wonderful! I highly recommend Hotel Durant if you come to Aspen. Also, I AM a real traveler, not being paid to review.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bourton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Great hotel - such good value in a town where 'value' is generally ranked with names like Gucci and Chanel.
Rooms are charming, breakfast delicious, linen of excellent quality, a balcony to view the mountains and all for less than $165. But the 'biggest selling point' is the knowlege and quiet charm of the owner/front of house. Brian is a mine of information - from quality hikes, to which roads are driveable in an SUV and where to eat. He smiled and advised with old world courtesy to all of our (many) questions. The result........ our stay in Aspen was of the highest quality without the accompanying high price ticket. Thank you Brian.

Room Tip: Pay the small amount extra for a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

The staff were very helpful and the property is very clean. Location close to the bars and restaurants. Breakfast is included. Parking right outside the door. Even heard a bear at night toppling the garbage cans somewhere close. Really good location for winter skiing too.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

What a neat place. Treated with courtesy. Coziness bed ever. Nice continental breakfast. Parking available. Can walk to town from there. Nice hot tub outdoors. Convenient to walk to town for outdoor dining and greatbshopping

Room Tip: Lower level more economical
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scituate, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

This hotel was very clean and well run. Our room was clean and everything worked well. It is close to the center of town (5 minute walk) and the staff was very attentive. Compared to other Aspen Hotels the price was exceptional for what you receive.
They have a good continental breakfast that is included with the room. Fruit, bagels, great pastries and assorted cereals.
I would definitely come back here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Was here in June foe two nights, great place, good location too. Brian was very helpfull too.
I went to the Maroon Belles and he told me the schedule of the tours and how to get there
Had a great time there
Mr George Polakoff

Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Durant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Durant

Address: 122 E Durant Ave, Aspen, CO 81611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Aspen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Aspen
#13 Romantic Hotel in Aspen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Durant 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TravelClick, Priceline, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Durant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durant Hotel Aspen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Durant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.