We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome sight!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Independence Pass

Independence Pass
Hwy 82, 20 miles E of Aspen, Aspen, CO 81611
970 925 3445 (Forest Service)
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 57 attractions in Aspen
Type: Scenic Drives, Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Lookouts
Activities: Driving
Attraction Details
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Awesome sight!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

Drove through Independence Pass between Aspen and Colorado Springs. A must do! Absolutely beautiful! September is a great time for this. Also went on a weekday, so very little traffic. Give yourself time for frequent stops and make sure your camera is all charged up!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    319
    65
    5
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aurora, Colorado
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
“Gorgeous alpine beauty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We have been here several times. This is sort of the "back way" between Leadville and Aspen. We came here to hike and were not disappointed. We hiked two miles southwest of the parking lot and back and got some great panoramic photos of the area. The parking lot is pretty big and there are several chemical toilets there which is nice. There is also a short paved path to an overlook for those that don't want to hike far. It is about a 5 minute walk from the parking lot.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Fantastic road trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Incredible drive after leaving Aspen and then over Independence Pass. One of the best mountain passes ever! If you are not used to mountain driving this could be a a little scary but it is safe and well worth it. At the top (approx 12,000 ft) you can get out of the car and hike a short distance to a beautiful area for pictures. Restroom facilities are available.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stilwell, Kansas
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
236 helpful votes 236 helpful votes
“A Must Do!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

For those of us flatlanders, this is a must drive to experience a true Rocky Mountain High. It's good road, paved all the way. Be sure to stop at the Grotto's and take a short hike (easy) over to the Falls.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Oh My Goodness”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

The scariest drive I have EVER endured in my life but one of the best sites I've ever seen. There are no words that can explain what you see.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Independence Pass also viewed

 

Been to Independence Pass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Independence Pass, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Independence Pass to your Saves list