We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Aspen Experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pine Creek Cookhouse

Pine Creek Cookhouse
11399 Castle Creek Road, Aspen, CO 81611
970 925 1044
Improve this listing
Ranked #43 of 153 Restaurants in Aspen
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $35
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Scenic view, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Authentic Aspen Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

If you want to experience the true Rocky Mountain vibe, then make this restaurant part of your trip. I prefer the lunch experience as the view is really extraordinary. Unless you are 80, infirm, or have a broken limb; then X Country ski or just walk up the road. It is about a half hour walk and a perfect way to chat with your people or enjoy the quiet and Beautiful views. Once there, have a Bloody Mary, try the grilled Romaine salad, the Mo Mos, and don't forget desert-you earned it after all.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    28
    14
    9
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Experience of a lifetime!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

Ride a horse-drawn sleigh through a beautiful snowy landscape surrounded by 14,000 foot peaks to the welcoming glow of a warmly lit lodge in the middle of a picturesque wilderness. Add a heavy snowfall and a full moon appearing between towering snow-covered peaks as we witnessed last night and you have a night to remember forever.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Worth the trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

I agree with the reviews that the travel may not be to everyone's liking. However we found the food and service to be excellent. The trout was excellent. Best I've ever had. My wife had the steak and it was very good. We had a private party there for 90 people and I was amazed the timing and delivery of the service was so good. A very enjoyable experience

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Extremely bad Aspen dinner Experinece”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

I doubt I will ever come back here.
The skis I was given were poor. I was alone on a trail for quite a long time in the darkness with a headlamp, on a cold snowy windy night, given unclear instructions on where to go .After a while, an employee passed me saying he had to "leave to go get ready for dinner set up." and that I "should be OK"
I was once again, at night, alone in the mountains, and having never been here before, unsure if I was taking the correct ski path when I decided if after another 5 minutes I do not see someone, I woulfd return back to where we started and leave. It was an uneasy feeling.
Another employee happened to ski up and advise me I was on the correct path so I kept going.
Dinner service was uninspired, food was average, portions were small. We were not told desert was included., $70 for a piece of chicken $95 for the other entrees plus tax and tip.. Really? Additionally, to add insult to injury, on the restaurant bill was a rental charge per person. for the ski gear you need to get to the place..
Prices were high by Aspen standards,

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“better than ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

my husband and i cross country ski to this restaurant everyday during our annual week in aspen/ashcroft area... this year the food was better than ever! we usually eat at the bar and enjoy the soups, which are always perfection, and this year we loved a politically correct quinoa dish which had turmeric blanched cauliflower (normally not my favorite vegetable) and green beans coupled with a smoked black cherry sauce. who gets to eat such delicious, sophisticated and healthy fare at a ski lodge?! good wine and friendly faces in this most amazing setting... it cannot get any better.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pine Creek Cookhouse also viewed

 

Been to Pine Creek Cookhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pine Creek Cookhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.