We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the Prettiest Spots in Colorado” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pine Creek Cookhouse

Pine Creek Cookhouse
11399 Castle Creek Road, Aspen, CO 81611
970 925 1044
Improve this listing
Ranked #43 of 155 Restaurants in Aspen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $35
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Sarasota
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“One of the Prettiest Spots in Colorado”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

You have to search hard for a prettier place to have lunch than the Pine Creek Cookhouse by Ashcroft. The mountains that pinch off the canyon are breathtaking at any time of year and with an early dusting of snow especially so. With a view like that they could serve mediocre food but they don't: the food is great, too. Our group had Elk Bratwurst, Curried Chicken naan, Ruby Trout, and the momos. All great. Our server was personable and had a good sense of humor.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    29
    15
    9
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lovely Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

My husband and I visited Pine Creek on a weekday during last summer. We arrived a little early before they were seating but welcomed us to sit on the patio and enjoy a glass of wine. The view was stunning and our waiter was very friendly and offered to take a picture of us enjoying the quiet afternoon. When we were seated they honored our request to sit by the window, maybe because it hadn't gotten busy yet. The food was very good and our over all experience was wonderful. Should we find ourselves in Aspen again we wouldn't hesitate to make the drive out there.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“So much right, but Staff is very Rude”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We brought our friends and their kids during the spring. The guy who gave us the sleigh ride was so nice and we started out our afternoon having a great time. Too bad that all ended the minute we walked into the restaurant. Not a smile on any of the employees faces. They seem distressed and upset that they were busy. The owner/ Manger, not sure was really the worst. She was a " greeter" as well, but rudely yelled, ( without saying even a hello) " get to the side and wait"!
We rallied and tried to make the best of it. Such a pretty place, the food was nothing fantastic, it was expensive, very expensive, but none of that would have mattered if there was a smile here and there and a feeling we were not impositioning them. Too bad.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Issaquah, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Delicious food, service staff with attitude”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

There were 3 of us and we all thoroughly enjoyed our dishes - one of the best on our 10 day vacation. The drive out of Aspen in the early evening was scenic, especially driving along the border of the aspen forest. The restaurant is quite a ways out of Aspen - we wondered if we'd gone the wrong way but decided to keep going a few more miles and did finally get there. The only negative to the place was the waiter - major attitude - either he hates his job or just wanted the day to be over. But, the food was that good and we'd return if in the area again. Be sure to make reservations as it's too far to drive to find out there's no seating available.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Million Dollar View”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

After visiting the ghost town of Ashcroft, we drove a few miles further to Pine Creek Cookhouse. Pine Creek Cookhouse has, by far, the most breathtaking view of any restaurant around. Unfortunately we arrived in between shifts, around 3pm, and had to get our own drinks at the bar and bring them outside. The day was picture perfect, so having a cocktail outdoors was the best choice. Would have ben nice if the staff was a tad more accommodating, and if there was a snack/bar menu for that time of day.
Worth the view, though!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pine Creek Cookhouse also viewed

 

Been to Pine Creek Cookhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pine Creek Cookhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.