We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had just a drink and some apps. They were very good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jimmy's

Jimmy's
205 South Mill Street, Aspen, CO 81611
970 925 6020
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Jimmy's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #31 of 148 Restaurants in Aspen
Price range: $15 - $45
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 205 South Mill Street
Description: Since 1997, Jimmy's has been Aspen's neighborhood restaurant and bar, the kind of comfortable restaurant where you can dine again and again. Ask any local, and you will hear that Jimmy's is an "Aspen Institution." The menu has something for everyone, from the fresh-squeezed margaritas and the "locally-priced" bar menu to the famous crab cakes, USDA prime steaks, and fresh fish. "The menu is designed to feature the finest in American cuisine without being pretentious, served in an energetic atmosphere," says proprietor (and local) Jimmy Yeager. The energy at Jimmy's is what really draws a crowd; the bar is nearly always jam-packed and the dining room lively with activity and a mix of interesting people. The welcoming staff provide the best in top-notch hospitality. Jimmy's is "home" for a large community of locals and tourists alike.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Had just a drink and some apps. They were very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Had the lobster mac and cheese appetizer plus the crabcake app. Both were excellent. Sat on the outside covered long deck. Was a tight space but very nice with the heaters above us. Excellent servers. Great cocktail list.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    95
    36
    10
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, FL
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Obviously a local favorite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We chose Jimmy's by default when we found out our other planned choices were closed (not being a skier we were unaware of the off-season). When we arrived around 6 pm , the bar was already filled with local folks on that Tuesday night. We were seated int he dining room and I found that the menu was a bit pricey for the atmosphere. They have an extensive wine menu that is best to be enjoyed "by the bottle"... hope someone else in your party likes wine. I ordered the least expensive glass of pinot noir at $14 to accompany my steak. In fact, we both had steak... my husband the filet and I had the rib eye, which were flavorful and cooked to order. Service was prompt and courteous. Next time, I would be more inclined to do as the locals do and enjoy drinks and appetizers in the bar.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kapolei, HI
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Another great visit to Jimmy's”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

My wife and another couple went to Jimmy's after an afternoon at the J-Bar. We stayed this time in the bar area, which is where the locals hangout. You can order dinner there and that is what we did. The food at Jimmy's is very good and is a fun place to hang out for happy hour. I have hosted dinners there for 20 people in the past and have dined there by myself: in all cases, the staff is very welcoming and attentive, the food is very good and the location is perfect. I will return again any time I am in Aspen.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspen, Colorado
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“One of Aspens oldest and best steak houses”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Jimmy's is one of Aspens oldest and best steak houses and also has a great bar scene. Being a local the main restaurant can be a bit pricy for daily dining but prices are on par with most high end steak houses. I usually dine at the bar where they have a varied and great bar menu all of which are under $20. The main dining room I save for special occasions at about double the price.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Nice choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

There are very few restaurants open during the "off-season" in Aspen. Jimmy's is one of them and it was recommended from the hotel. It was packed with the locals. The service was very good. One of our diners had the Baby Lamb Chops appetizer and said it was the "best" that he has ever had. (Believe me, that's a big statement from a guy who gets them at every meal when we dine out.) He also enjoyed a refreshing Colorado Rocky Mountain Mule drink - vodka, ginger beer and lime. The Mad Dog Ranch Salad was large, very fresh and crispy. We all ordered the NY Strip which was flavorful. If you like a little spice, try the Jimmy Mac with the jalapenos.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Jimmy's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jimmy's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.