We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outrageously Good Bar Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of L'Hostaria

L'Hostaria
620 EHyman Ave, Aspen, CO 81611-1998
970 925 9022
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 153 Restaurants in Aspen
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Weston, Florida
Top Contributor
362 reviews 362 reviews
185 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 138 cities Reviews in 138 cities
208 helpful votes 208 helpful votes
“Outrageously Good Bar Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

The place is located below ground level and from what we were told is forever busy with a totally diverse clientele. Our friends shared their great secret that the bar menu is almost the same as the regular menu at about 1/3 to 1/2 less. The food was sensational and each and everyone in our party of 8 loved what they had. He drinks were excellent and the service friendly and humorous thanks to our waiter/bartender/Bon vivant Scotty. We'll definitely be back.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    49
    26
    11
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenwood, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great wine list-good food--so so service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Had dinner there on Friday, August 9. Hostess pretty busy rude...waiter not much better. Huge wine list...waiter not familiar with selections and put off by questions. The food was good...not exceptional...but good. The restaurant was highly recommended by hotel staff where we were staying. Probably would return on a future visit...

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hollywood, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Our experience was good but not unbelievable...we were expecting more after the recommendations. Our food was good but seemed to lack that unique quality that one would expect. Possibly just an off night....but still far better than most.

We will return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Over rated all the way around”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Unfortunately this was recommended to us by a local 2nd home owner, but the food was adequate at best and the arrogance of the staff and even the OWNER was a real turn off! The pasta with meat sauce was largely tasteless and outrageously priced for what you got. And watch out for the hostess....she caters to the locals. You may think you found a nice spot at the bar, when suddenly she will come and slide you down and smash you against some poor unsuspecting stranger (in our case one that had body odor) to squeeze in a favorite patron. We were sadly disappointed and would not return. Even a conversation with the owner left us feeling like they simply don't care.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Hot spot in town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Wow! We were spending two nights in Aspen and asked our hotel clerk where to dine. He suggested L'Hostaria...when we arrived we could see it was one of the busiest restaurants in town, lots of people and lots of locals. We were lucky after waiting 30 minutes we were seated at the bar area. Kind of a good place because you could choose from the full menu or the lighter menu from the bar. We chose lighter food, I had the risotto, so creamy and rich. Great wines and helpful staff.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Hostaria also viewed

 

Been to L'Hostaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Hostaria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.