We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently exceptional” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Matsuhisa-Aspen

Matsuhisa-Aspen
303 E Main St, Aspen, CO 81611
970-544-6628
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Matsuhisa-Aspen is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 148 Restaurants in Aspen
Price range: $35 - $35
Cuisines: Asian, Japanese, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Monarch
Transit: Roaring Fork Transit Authority (RFTA) has stops on either side of our location; at Paepke Park (Main St and Aspen St) as well as Galena (Main St and Galena). It is a one block walk to Matsuhisa Aspen (Main and Monarch).
Description: Matsuhisa Aspen is nestled beneath a quaint victorian house in the mountain town of Aspen Colorado and features the cuisine of world renowned chef Nobu Matsuhisa. Japanese-inspired seafood and sushi, as well as an ultra-hip scene and lively bar crowd can best describe Matsuhisa Aspen. We are a continuation of Matsuhisa L.A., Nobu New York, Nobu London and may more locations around the world.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Consistently exceptional”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

As a sushi lover, Matsuhisa always provides an outstanding experience. What really elevates the experience is the amazing non-sushi offerings. The yummy spicy shrimp appetizer is crazy delicious, only to be topped by the miso black cod....can't wait to go back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    40
    27
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pueblo, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Interesting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

A huge high ceiling dining area under a tiny little house. Did not expect that at all. Host was very friendly. It was VERY busy. Our server was awful. Barely saw her at all, most likely because it was busy. But shouldn't a popular restaurant be prepared for that. I saw many sushi rolls on other tables that I just could not find on the menu. Ended up paying $20 for 6 quarter sized pieces of rice rolled around a pea sized amount of tuna. The salmon dish was cooked perfect but wasn't what I ordered. I sat for 10 mins before starting to eat it because out server was not to be found. I'll try every place twice before saying yay or nay. After my first visit, I just might try somewhere else.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Hard to justify the price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Yes, the fish is exceptionally fresh and the sauces are wonderful. But when you encourage customers to order "family style" but it ends up that a special (for example) is one piece per order at $18 a pop...well, you see how it can add up very quickly! As other reviewers noted, my husband and I don't mind spending for an exceptional meal, but our party of 4 quickly spent $500 here one night. To be fair, that included two bottles of wine, but still... The basement dining room is also very loud, making conversation difficult.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
“YUM-a-licious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Great birthday meal at Matsuhisa in Aspen! Favorite dish was dessert: A mound of what looked like freshly fallen snow (shave ice created by a $3,500 machine) with strawberry sauce and evaporated milk. It seemed pricey at $15 but I guess they have to make up for the expense of the machine. I'm on a mission to re-create this mouth watering but simple dessert.
Sushi in Aspen - what a delicious indulgence.
Not cheap, nothing in Aspen is, but worth a splurge.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Always Phenominal!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

By far the best restaurant in Aspen!!! The Miso Cod and soft shell crab were incredible as always! The service is great and ambiance can't be beat.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Matsuhisa-Aspen also viewed

 

Been to Matsuhisa-Aspen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Matsuhisa-Aspen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.