We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good food and service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Syzygy Restaurant

Syzygy Restaurant
308 East Hopkins Avenue, Aspen, CO 81611
970.925.3700
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #51 of 146 restaurants in Aspen
Price range: $0 - $40
Cuisines: American, European, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Laguna Niguel, CA
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“good food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We had not visited Syzygy since it moved to its new location. We wanted to have a light meal before the theatre and saw there bar menu which looked quite interesting Many restaurants in Aspen have bar menus now I presume for those who want something less expensive or something lighter before or after an event.

The restaurant is in the basement which is probably not the ideal location in the beautiful Aspen summer. We were the only diners there Everyone was very attentive and friendly Although downstairs, the ambiance was nice. I had the flat iron steak with peppercorn sauce and asparagus and French fries with tarragon. Excellent. ($25). My husband had lamb bolognaise which was not as good ($26) which was on the main menu also. We had a couple of glasses of wine.

We enjoyed it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    38
    16
    7
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best food in aspen hands down!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

What a gem!! This place is top notch from the amazing service to the awesome food i can't say enough about this restaurant!! These chefs are really talented. I got the pleasure of meeting one of the chefs, his name was nick And i belive he was the sous Chef. What a nice man. I could tell they were busy but he took the time to recommend the tuna and scallops!! Wow!! My wife and i could not have had a Better time!! Thank you for the great atmosphere and unbelievable food. This place is a must when in Aspen!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverthorne, Colorado
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Excellent bar food and menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I was by myself, and so I ate at the bar rather than in the restaurant proper. In some places, eating at the bar gives you limited choices, but the full menu was available, and I had the elk meatloaf, which was simply one of the best "bar" dinners I have had in a long while. The service was what you'd expect at a good bar, yet the 'atmosphere' at the bar was muted, which suited me fine. Overall, a great experience for a meal that I had to eat by myself.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largo, Florida
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“The best meal we had in Aspen. Simply awesome.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We have been in Aspen for a week now and our concierge booked us in every "great " restaurant in town. But it wasn't until tonight, that we had a truly exceptional meal.

Syzygy has an unassuming exterior. Go down a flight of stairs and find a cool modern, but totally inviting interior with black textured walls and high private booths with white linen covered tables. The staff were just the right combination of attentiveness and knowledgeable, but the delicious food was the highlight of the evening.

Our starters, the foraged mushroom risotto and the lobster fennel chowder with blood orange gremolata and a rich flavorful broth, were to die for. Just when we thought they couldn't be topped, the Roasted Rocky Range Chicken arrived at the table. This chicken could be on the show, "The best thing I ever ate", because it was. With butternut, bacon, leg confit, cracklin, and chicken demiglaze to put it over the top. We were raving about the meal so much to the waiter, that Keith Theodore, the executive chef, came out to say hello.

The Beef Tenderloin with duck fat steak frites, asparagus, demiglace, and béarnaise sauce was expertly prepared.

Add the nice atmosphere with jazz playing in the background and this place is simply fantastic.

Do not miss this place!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands, New Jersey
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“One of Aspen's finest dining experienced”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

We were a very large group but the wait staff were professional and efficient. I can't say enough about the awesome dining experience. The food was outstanding; we ordered the tuna, scallops, beef stroganoff and lobster. Everything was so good we shared. The only down side was the one long table for the group was not conducive to small group conversation. I strongly recommend you try this one.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Syzygy Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Syzygy Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Syzygy Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.