We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Poppycock's

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Poppycock's
665 E. Cooper Ave., Aspen, CO 81611-2011
970 925 1245
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 153 Restaurants in Aspen
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $8
Cuisines: American, Coffee Shop, Coffee Shop, Bistro, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
214 reviews 214 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Nice breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

You must try either the pancakes or french toast. Very tasty. A little expensive. But worth it. Good service

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    67
    20
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great lunch without the fuss”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

Had a great turkey avocado sandwich. Kids were happy to have a kids menu. i was happy with the value. Nice breakfast and lunch menu. Casual dining at a relaxed local cafe.

Would happily go back.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspen, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good breakfast in town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

The pancakes were great!! Very good service and kids loved it. The benedict salmon eggs were also very good. Probably is not the most amazing breakfast but is a place were you can be sure that you will have a good experience.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great Brunch place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Awesome service and hearty breakfasts at this bohemian location. So friendly and welcoming ! We have been there twice already.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Just OK.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Went with 3 others to Poppycock's for breakfast and being kind it was just OK.
The best meal was probably the Old Fashioned Oatmeal Buttermilk Pancakes. I had the Ham Crepe - with a ham, egg, tomato, onion, cheese filling of which I only ate the filling.
Maybe it's me but I was expecting "a THIN French pancake, served with sweet or savoury fillings or toppings ". This arrived as an enormous thick stodgy pancake, very burnt around the edges. I guess this was because it was so thick it had to be left longer to cook through. When I told the waitress it was burnt she did offer to have another made but we didn't have time. To "compensate" me they didn't charge me for my cup of tea.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Poppycock's also viewed

 

Been to Poppycock's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Poppycock's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.