We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge servings of delicious ribs” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hickory House

Hickory House
730 W Main St, Aspen, CO 81611-1622
970-925-2313
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 153 Restaurants in Aspen
Price range: $12 - $12
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Brisbane
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Huge servings of delicious ribs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

We went to the Hickory House for dinner

Servings are HUGE - full rack of baby back ribs accompanied with beans, potato (of your choice), coleslaw & garlic bread all for $20

You can't book so you may need to wait - but it is definitely worth the wait

A MUST DO for any visit to Aspen

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    128
    46
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“New York Maître D'”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We have been coming here for around 10 years - always able to get service / table fairly easily. Food good- not great
Called to reserve a table was told to just come on down- so we did - when we got there although place almost empty were told we have to wait 30 minutes !!! Seriously -??
We decided to leave and will not be back! Aspen is a friendly town and every other restaurant is happy to have patrons! Don't go here unless you are prepared to wait for B grade food!! Much better options in town !

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspen, Colorado
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Affordable for Aspen”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

Great Breakfast, great Bar-B-que ribs, chicken ,most affordable food in high priced Aspen, they deliver also.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspen, Colorado
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A great local spot in Aspen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

The Hickory House is a longtime local's favorite. Though known for their barbeque, everything on the menu is good and reasonably priced.
Aside from the great food, service and ambiance, locals love this place because the owner gives back to the community.
Thanksgiving dinner is free and served by volunteers. All donations go to the Aspen Buddy Program, a mentoring program for kids.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Pretty good BarBQue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

I lived in Texas for ten year and we ate a LOT of barbque and this place, while not being the best place I have ever eaten, certainly comes close. The atmosphere is LAID back and the servers (at least ours) are excellent. The menu can be difficult to wade through but our waiter steered us through and the meal was very good. Save room for desert if you can.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hickory House also viewed

 

Been to Hickory House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hickory House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.