We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great local spot in Aspen” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hickory House

Hickory House
730 W Main St, Aspen, CO 81611-1622
970-925-2313
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 148 Restaurants in Aspen
Price range: $12 - $12
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Aspen, Colorado
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A great local spot in Aspen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

The Hickory House is a longtime local's favorite. Though known for their barbeque, everything on the menu is good and reasonably priced.
Aside from the great food, service and ambiance, locals love this place because the owner gives back to the community.
Thanksgiving dinner is free and served by volunteers. All donations go to the Aspen Buddy Program, a mentoring program for kids.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    105
    40
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Pretty good BarBQue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

I lived in Texas for ten year and we ate a LOT of barbque and this place, while not being the best place I have ever eaten, certainly comes close. The atmosphere is LAID back and the servers (at least ours) are excellent. The menu can be difficult to wade through but our waiter steered us through and the meal was very good. Save room for desert if you can.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great BBQ and banana pie”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed great ribs. The server recommended that we splint a 1 1/2 serving. Perfect. We also split a piece of banana pie. It actually had chunks of real bananas. Good atmosphere. Must be where the locals go for good reasonable food.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
286 reviews 286 reviews
262 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“An Aspen tradition!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

After settling in for our annual Christmas trip to Aspen, we made the traditional first stop at Hickory House, and as predicted, they did not disappoint! The ribs are fantastic, the salads (we go for the pig salad) is superb, and then the au gratin potatoes cannot be replicated elsewhere. Thumbs up on the beers, too. The service is always great ... and the prices cannot be beat!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jekyll Island, Georgia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Best Deal in Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

We ate here 3 of the first 4 days that we were in town. Had ribs, barbeque pork plate and the house salad with the beef. All were very good with large portions and great values. I agree with the positive comments about the food other reviewers made. Hickory House is a local after skiing place to eat; kind of noisy but not rude. I was with a large 20 person group of fans and our team was playing on the big screen. Not the upscale (not up priced) places downtown. Jeans and turtle necks or sweats were the common attire. They have specials for Monday and Thursday night football. It’s a place where you can afford to take the kids and enjoy the food. The service was average when compared to a formal restaurant but very efficient and they did separate checks.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hickory House also viewed

 

Been to Hickory House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hickory House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.