We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best ribs ever!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hickory House

Hickory House
730 W Main St, Aspen, CO 81611-1622
970-925-2313
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 155 Restaurants in Aspen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $12
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Goulburn, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best ribs ever!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Hickory House was on our 18 year old sons places to eat list. We thought we should get it over with early on in our stay in Aspen. We loved it!! Great atmosphere and the ribs were to die for.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    142
    50
    13
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Trabuco Canyon, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Post race Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Following the Golden Leaf Trail Half Marathon we stopped in at the hickory House which had been recommended by a friend. I must say that the food was excellent as well as the service. They open at 5:00 and don't take reservations so get there early or plan to wait for a table. The ribs are every bit as good as they say they are and literally fall off the bone.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskegon, Michigan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“good normal food in a friendly local setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

This is a great find if you want good BBQ and sides in a setting that is very casual. We went to Aspen for hiking and outside activities and most of the restaurants in this town are quite fancy and expensive. I got BBQ chicken and my husband tried a steak one night and ribs on another visit. Everything we ordered was wonderful and the portions are large. The beans and coleslaw were very good, nothing exotic but that is the way we wanted it. Prices are reasonable for the location and the amount. The staff that served us was very nice and noticed that we returned a couple of extra times during our stay in Aspen. This appears to a place locals frequent. We will return when in the area for sure.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuenca, Ecuador
Level Contributor
145 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Loved It...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Went here after hours at Maroon Bell's.My companion had bbq and I had their wonderful "Pig Salad".It was huge,delicious and priced properly.We also had a wonderful young man as our waiter who is originally from Argentina.It's the very first place on the left as you enter town on 82 coming from Glenwood.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
103 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Not up to expectations”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Average at best. The ribs which they promote as the best in Colorado are only average. Good smoke flavor, but nothing outstanding. Their sauces contain strange amounts of cloves or nutmeg. Not very good. My wife's steak was a nice piece of meat, but way over done (ordered med rare, got well done). The beans were good, but not outstanding. Good service.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hickory House also viewed

 

Been to Hickory House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hickory House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.