We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most amazing ribs” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hickory House

Hickory House
730 W Main St, Aspen, CO 81611-1622
970-925-2313
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 155 Restaurants in Aspen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $12
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Scotland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Most amazing ribs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We visited Hickory house a couple of times last year and it was the first place we headed for this year even after 23 hours of travelling. We visited 3 times this year in a 10 day period. You will not be disappointed with the restraint but I do advise you to book in advance to be sure you get a table. My favourite this year was the combo #1, half rack of ribs with smoked beef. 10/10

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    141
    50
    13
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Typical Barbecue restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

The food and service was good. My wife and I shared a $20 meal for both of us consisting of ribs, salad and chicken which was plenty for us.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northglenn, Colorado
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ribs & Eggs? It Works!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

This place has to be one of the best values in Aspen as the breakfast plates are big and hearty. First time I've ever had ribs & eggs but it not only works but I'm craving it right now!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bahamas
Level Contributor
73 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“The joint is jumping!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

we ate here for a quick bite our first night. The place is packed early with good natured jostling. I enjoyed a simple burger and salad. My wife had a huge margarita and spicy ribs, an unfortunate choice at the end of a long day of travel from sea level. She should have had a more temperate selection the first night and go for the gusto later. Later on we met up with friends for beers at the bar and I also enjoyed a great breakfast one morning. It’s a simple but good place – go and enjoy!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Best ribs so far!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Amazing ribs, great value for money, and pleasantly casual for Aspen. After a day of skiing, my husband and I hopped on the RFTA bus to Rubey Park, Aspen and walked down Main Street to Hickory House (about 15 mins). We started with 8 buffalo wings (with BBQ sauce), which were delicious. Then we had "combo #2" - the half rack of baby-back ribs plus pork, but doubled-up on the ribs to make a full rack of baby-back ribs (one half rack has around 7 ribs) - it came with a little pot of slaw, a little pot of baked beans, "Texas toast" and fries. Super-tasty... possibly the best ribs we've had so far! (A close contender to Double Zs in Steamboat Springs...)

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hickory House also viewed

 

Been to Hickory House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hickory House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.