We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little place..” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Snow Queen Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Snow Queen Lodge to your Saves list
Snow Queen Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   124 E. Cooper Street, Aspen, CO 81611   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 36 Hotels in Aspen
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great little place..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2011

The Snow Queen was a great choice, quaint and real feeling, very clean, and the staff are extremely nice and helpful. This is a great little place and I'd come back any time!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sqlodge, Manager at Snow Queen Lodge, responded to this review, December 22, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review us. I'm so glad you enjoy the atmosphere of our establishment. We'd love to welcome you back the next time you're in Aspen.

David Ledingham, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    6
    3
    1
    3
See reviews for
9
12
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2010

I found the Snow Queen Lodge on the internet when I was searching for a place to stay in Aspen over Labor Day weekend. We were traveling to Aspen for my brother's wedding at the Little Nell. We had several friends and family who would be coming from all over the world and I wanted to find a place that would be affordable, yet warm and comfortable. The Snow Queen Lodge worked out better than any of us ever expected. The owners were lovely and helpful with local information. The actual lodge was spotless and quaint. There was a deck with a table and chairs where we all lounged between wedding events. In a heartbeat I would highly recommend the Snow Queen Lodge and look forward to returning there again in the future.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sqlodge, Manager at Snow Queen Lodge, responded to this review, December 22, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review us. I'm so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. I know I much prefer a smaller, more cozy place to stay so I'm happy to hear you feel the same way. We'd love to welcome you back again soon.

David Ledingham, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2010

I wish I could say something nice about this place, the people who run it are generally friendly, and the old woman who owns it is a true BB type...she wants to get to know you and chat etc...i suppose that would be charming if you were interested in that kind of interaction. Staff isn't always onsite, which is kind of unprofessional. Hopefully you don't have the same experience I did, which was negotiating a certain rate, then when I arrived the owner insisted I pay in cash...upfront...for the whole stay....then when my plans changed and I left one night early....she refused to refund me, saying there should be a penalty charge. Hmmm...I gave her a day notice and left way before check out time so the room would be free to clean and prepare before a new person could stay there. I also think it's strange that she was so upset about the "potential business lost" because when I called to book the room she swore there were barely any rooms available, ok and the day I left she informed me my room will be occupied that night. Sounds like a rip off to me. Otherwise the property is fine. It's close to busses if you want to grab a bus to go skiing, you can walk into town so the location is good. The room was pretty disappointing for the rate, old and modest. I wouldn't recommend this property to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sqlodge, Manager at Snow Queen Lodge, responded to this review, December 17, 2010
I wrote to you last year to request removal of this unjust review & never got a responce. As you can see by the other 4 reviews, it is not like the other good reviews.
This guest wanted to cancel her stay early & wanted a refund...It is clearly stated that we do not give refunds within 30 days of arrival unless we can re rent the room. which we could not. She then wrote this bad review to do us damage
Go to our reviews on B&B.com they are all good
please let me know you received this email
-David manager
sqlodge@rof.net
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
77 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2007

I stayed here for 10 days in December. This is a charming place. I was in the Cooper Street Lofts which are adjacent to the lodge. The owner is a lovely lady who has been in Aspen for many years. This is however not a modern place and is a little on the quirky side - which I liked but others may not. The rooms in the Cooper Street Lofts are large and functional. The mezzanine levels referred to on the site are really mezzanine sleeping platforms with a floor to ceiling height of only about 40 inches, if that. However good sized accomodation and good pricing for Aspen.
There is no permanent presence by the staff at the lodge but then to be honest there is no need.
The place is just opposite the bus stop for the free shuttle buses to the various mountains around ASpen and only 10 minutes walk from Aspen Mountain (Ajax) lift itself. It is a great location. The owner is very friendly and helpful.

  • Liked — It is a very friendly place
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phliadelphia, Pa.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2005

I first stayed at the Snow Queen in 1980, I was out skiing and wanted to stay longer than I booked. I was having fun, it was a world cup week and there wasn't much to pick from. I had already gone to the airport to leave, turned around and got in a shuttle back to Aspen. I was making many a pay phone calls, (before cell phones), some booking service person told me to try the Snow Queen. Norma put me in a dorm room with a couple of teenagers for two nights. I was then given space in a room with a mother and daughter. The next year I was back, with my own room. I have gone with girlfriends, my children, and granddaughter. This year I will be joining my son and his girl, it's his second year with the X-games week. My daughter and her husband with their 4 month old is coming also. Norma has built the Cooper Street Lofts just for folks like us, families that are growing and returning. The space is fab., I'm a restaurant owner and chef in Phliadelphia, my son-in-law in Charlotte. We always have Norma and her husband Don over for dinner or take them out. The lofts has room to entertain with a fireplace and full size kitchen. They do have rooms in the Lodge that is still for two or more. The location is perfect, no car is needed, even though there are parking spots for the guests. Norma and her twin sister, who has The little red Ski House next door, have been in Aspen from the begining, they were the Toni Twins. Yep the ones with the perms, "which one has the perm or the natual curls)? Staying with Norma has been like being a part of the history of Aspen. The year of the 50th anniversity was a party week, that was the opening of Little Nell's lift. The Book of Aspen has the whole story..with women like Norma that took a risk.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sqlodge, Manager at Snow Queen Lodge, responded to this review, December 28, 2011
Thank you so much for your lovely review. I know it's been a while since you wrote about us but I wanted you to know that we appreciate hearing from you. It's wonderful to hear from our loyal guests and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

David Ledingham, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aspen hotels
0.2 mi away
St. Moritz Lodge & Condominiums
2.3 mi away
The Inn at Aspen
The Inn at Aspen
#19 of 36 in Aspen
3.5 of 5 stars 100 reviews
0.2 mi away
Molly Gibson Lodge
Molly Gibson Lodge
#14 of 36 in Aspen
4.0 of 5 stars 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Limelight Hotel
The Limelight Hotel
#2 of 36 in Aspen
4.5 of 5 stars 828 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mountain Chalet Aspen
0.2 mi away
The St. Regis Aspen Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snow Queen Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snow Queen Lodge

Address: 124 E. Cooper Street, Aspen, CO 81611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Aspen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 36 Hotels in Aspen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Snow Queen Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Historic Snow Queen Lodge was established during Aspen's Wild West Silver Boom and continues to sparkle with Victorian charm.Our family run lodge is conveniently located at the base of Aspen Mountain, in the center of downtown Aspen. We specialize in western hospitality at affordable prices. Start your day with breakfast & good conversation, and then walk to the Gondola & Ski, the world class terrain of “Ajax”(Aspen mountain), or catch a free shuttle to Aspen's other legendary mountains: Highlands, Snowmass or Buttermilk. Enjoy our world class skiing without the lift lines! Later, relax in our hot tub & take in the mountain view, or enjoy après ski in our Victorian Parlor with a hot beverage. At night, let us steer you to one of Aspen's many renown restaurants, affordable local favorites, or numerous entertainment options. Even in the warmer weather, we are still an Aspen travel hot spot! In the summer, experience Aspen's unsurpassed arts offerings or escape into unparalleled scenic beauty. No matter what time of year you come to stay with us, in no time you will see why our satisfied guests keep coming back year after year… because at the Snow Queen Victorian Lodge . . . we treat you like family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Snow Queen Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Snow Queen Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Snow Queen Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.