We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Here's a suggestion...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rio Grande Trail

Rio Grande Trail
Aspen, CO
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 89 things to do in Aspen
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Hiking, Biking
Attraction details
Aspen, Colorado
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Here's a suggestion...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

If you haven't ridden this trail, here's a little advice. Start at Whole Foods in Basalt and ride up the mountain first. It's about 14 miles. Then the ride back down will give your legs a rest as you can coast in areas. Round trip: 28 - 32 miles...and a great workout.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    33
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great (easy) bike trail in Aspen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

runs along side the river and views are lovely, nice evenly graded pathway, can go all the way out to Woody Creek Tavern

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Ran a marathon on this trail, don't miss out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

This trail is so scenic and well maintained. To be able to run a whole marathon along this trail with the Colorado River and various mountains to distract you was a joy. It is well maintained and the section we ran was Aspen to Basalt.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Easy, beautiful route!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

My wife and I took rode the trail from Glenwood Springs to Carbondale last weekend. It is only 13 miles. As the trail follows the train tracks, it is flat and easy for all ages.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, CO
Level Contributor
41 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Beautiful scenery, but challenging”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

This bike/hike trail is nicely maintained. I had heard about it from an acquaintance who typically rides only a portion of it. We rode the entire 42 miles from Glenwood Springs to Aspen. Going to Aspen in was a challenge for us, we obviously had not been out riding enough this summer! The return to Glenwood Springs was very easy.

Next time I am likely to get off the trail at Woody Creek and skip the big climb going into Aspen as some of the trail between the two has a bit more exposure and height than what I like.

There are many opportunities to catch RFTA bus into Aspen.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rio Grande Trail also viewed

 

Been to Rio Grande Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rio Grande Trail, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.