We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best trail in a town in America” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rio Grande Trail

Rio Grande Trail
Aspen, CO
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 89 things to do in Aspen
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Hiking, Biking
Attraction details
Aspen, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best trail in a town in America”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is without doubt the best trail within town limits anywhere. It does get busy during peak hours but it's still fantastic.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    33
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful trail and very enjoyable ride”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Construction between Spring and Mill messed up the route and it took us maybe 20 minutes to found our way. So it would be much easier if you start your bike ride around the post office on Mill. Beautiful trail and easy downhill out. We only went about 1.5 miles at which point there was a bridge and big grassy rest area and easy access to the river. It was a very nice place to take a break and turn around. Coming back was a little harder due to the slight uphill.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HYATTSVILLE
Level Contributor
138 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great Scenery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We started this trip from the bike trail alongside 82, down Cemetery Lane bike path (whew! that's a steep downhill!) to Stein park (lovely river-side spot!) where we picked up the Rio Grande Trail. From there we rode along the river, which became a canyon, with mountain views all the way, to Woody Lake (5.7 miles). There we enjoyed a spicy chai tea and a berry-full berry smoothie. Both were very refreshing! The ride back into Aspen (ending near the Post Office), once we got back up onto the trail, was a little more effort but not difficult. WHat a great ride!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great running and biking trail”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We ran over ten miles on this mostly paved trail. Sometimes the trail is very close to the main roads, but there are portions that feel pretty secluded. It's a beautiful and peaceful trail, highly recommended for a pleasant run!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbana, IL
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great bike trip to Woody's Tavern”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

The trail is very well maintained and has beautiful views. The trip out to Woody's Tavern from Aspen is almost all downhill. Lunch at the tavern is delicious and fun. We sat on the patio and enjoyed the summer day. The trip back is mostly uphill, although only some short sections are very steep. We stopped on the way back and soaked our feet in the mountain stream and watched some fly fishermen. There are picnic tables along the trail in Aspen that would be lovely places to have a picnic. Sections of the trail are paved others are dirt and pea gravel. The destinations are are well marked with signage along the way. If you bicycle with children you may want to take the shuttle back unless they are accustomed to long rides. Note: Woody's Tavern does not take credit cards.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rio Grande Trail also viewed

 

Been to Rio Grande Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rio Grande Trail, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.