We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“climb down into the ice caves” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grottos Trail

Grottos Trail
Highway 82, Aspen, CO 81611
+1 970 925 3445
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 89 things to do in Aspen
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Hiking
Attraction details
Dallas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“climb down into the ice caves”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I'm glad I saw a woman crawling out, because I probably would have just peeked in from above, and called it a day. If you're fairly limber and strong, go ahead and climb in. It turned out to be really interesting inside. The ceilings are very tall, and it's interesting to look up at the sky and trees through the crevices. I expected there to be ice, but there wasn't much at all ... loved the sound of the trickling water though.
And for the sound of waterfalls, continue up the path to the cascades. It's a fairly easy, short hike, and so worth it to be near the power and beauty of that water.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    17
    1
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Monument, Colorado
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Grottos Trail”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

A definitive must see, the ice caves were amazing, as well as the cascading waterfalls on the river. We will be going back here again. So very glad that we stopped.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
122 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Very Interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We took the trail to the ice caves and the formations there are very cool. The picnic area is OK but a little close to the bathrooms.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clermont, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't miss it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

This was a great hiking trail with beautiful scenery. Be sure to bring your camera in order to take pictures of the beautiful ice caves and cascades!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
113 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Amazing Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Got stop, it is amazing, find the ice caves and take your time. No elevation gain, easy hike, take your time and enjoy the beauty of Colorado. We did not encounter any folks swimming or half clothed as other reviewers noted, but we did go mid-week. Worth the stop!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grottos Trail also viewed

 

Been to Grottos Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grottos Trail, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.