We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and fantastic staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain House Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Mountain House Lodge to your Saves list
Mountain House Lodge
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   905 E Hopkins Ave, Aspen, CO 81611   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 11 Aspen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Santa Fe
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great location and fantastic staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

The lodge is perfectly located in a quiet neighborhood a few blocks from Downtown. The room was clean, comfortable and spacious, and you will find plush terry robes in the closet (nice touch). The staff was friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable. Michael and Linda (and others) at the front desk went out of their way to help with our itinerary and allowed us to check well ahead of the regular check-in time after two long days snow-shoeing in the nearby mountains (not every hotel will do this, and some are even starting to charge for the privilege). Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Second floor is quieter; no one will be walking above you. We were on ground floor and could hear gu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    50
    20
    2
    2
See reviews for
25
61
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
skidevil007
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

The stay here was so wonderful. A modest priced hotel that has a charm to it. Pat at the front desk was so helpful with all aspects of our trip. If you are looking for a hotel and still want to walk to the lifts that doesn't cost too much this is the place!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

My first trip to Aspen and my husband's 6th or 7th we chose this lodge for its location and amenities (hot tub, direct tv, continental breakfast...). Upon arrival we were greeted by a friendly desk clerk who plotted out the city center and circled recommended spots to check out. Our room was perfect: high ceilings, king bed and a balcony. The lodge 0.4 miles from the middle of the shops and restaurants so we easily walked everywhere. Perfect spot to stay for a ski vacation.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspen_Hotels, Front Desk Manager at Mountain House Lodge, responded to this review, September 13, 2014
Hello melissakristin19,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review! It's great to hear that you enjoyed your room, our central location, and all of our included amenities. We appreciate the opportunity to help make your ski vacation perfect!

Best,

Michael Bauer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Stayed overnight during a last visit in Aspen. The price was reasonable for Aspen, the staff was excellent, the room was very comfortable and clean. Good location
We had great weather and a great stay at the Mountain House Lodge

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspen_Hotels, Front Desk Manager at Mountain House Lodge, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Hello Dorota P,

Thank you for such a great review! I will pass on your kind words to our "excellent" staff. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us while soaking in the beautiful Colorado weather. We look forward to serving you in the future!

Best regards,

Michael Bauer
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Not sure why this hotel is listed under B&Bs -- it has at least a dozen rooms (probably more, I wasn't counting), and serves the same type of "breakfast" that a Super 8 does. The rooms are very basic, but you're not staying here for the creature comforts anyway. The hotel has two HUGE positives: it's very cheap for Aspen (1/4 the price of the Jerome for the weekend we stayed), and it's in a great location. Easy walking distance, even in cold winter weather, to the restaurants and shops of downtown, as well as the base of Ajax. If you're looking to enjoy the perks of Aspen's small pedestrian feel at a fraction of the price, this hotel is a great way to go.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspen_Hotels, Front Desk Manager at Mountain House Lodge, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Dear G F L,

I appreciate the time you took to provide us with the kind feedback. It's great to hear that you enjoyed the convenience of our central location on the edge of downtown. As you mentioned, we do strive to offer one of the best values in Aspen. I hope that you can come stay with us again.

Warm regards,

Michael Bauer
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

My girlfriend and I recently stayed (2) nights during the busiest time of the year here - (Jan 2nd & 3rd) before changing hotels to be mountain side before leaving town.

DISCLAMER: You'll love the outdoor hot-tub so much, you'll never leave it.

I highly recommend staying here! Most importantly, acclimate yourself with town, talk to locals - and again, make use of the outdoor hot-tub. Other amenties: solid WIFI, breakfast buffet including eggs, make-em-yourself waffles, bagels, english muffins, oatmeal, juice, fruit & coffee.

Lastly, the owner/manager is super friendly & funny. So, don't be rude & take a few secs to engage in conversation with him.

Have fun!!

Barry
Washington, DC

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspen_Hotels, Front Desk Manager at Mountain House Lodge, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Hello BarryDC2014,

Thank you for your nice review. I'm glad you had a chance to enjoy the hot tub, and our additional amenities. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Aspen!

Best regards,

Michael Bauer
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stayed here for Xmas as a family of six. We enjoyed the stay and nothing was to much trouble . Everyone made us feel at home and we enjoyed the hot tub. The rooms were clean and comfortable we paid more for a suite the kids rooms could be said to be better with a two seater couch in each . Rooms could have a little better lighting but overall would stay here again , pitched set the right level and delivers what it promises

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mountain House Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain House Lodge

Address: 905 E Hopkins Ave, Aspen, CO 81611
Location: United States > Colorado > Aspen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Aspen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mountain House Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mountain House Lodge located in Aspen, Colorado is the perfect combination of location, hospitality and value that keeps bringing our guest back year after year. The Mountain House is Aspen's premier lodging at affordable rates year-round. The Lodge is centrally located in downtown Aspen, just a short stroll to the finest shops, restaurants and Aspen Ski Resort. Skiers and snowboarders enjoy making this Aspen lodge their perfect mountain home! Guests enjoy a complimentary breakfast served daily, Wifi and parking at no additional cost. All accommodations have mini-refrigerators, coffee makers and most have private balconies. The Lodge features a year-round outdoor hot tub too! Our knowledgeable staff is happy to assist you with planning your Aspen getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Mountain House Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain House Hotel Aspen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain House Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.