We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy, reasonably priced inn in Aspen” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain House Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Mountain House Lodge to your Saves list
Mountain House Lodge
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   905 E Hopkins Ave, Aspen, CO 81611   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 11 Aspen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Comfy, reasonably priced inn in Aspen”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We have stayed at this place twice. Once, yrs. ago during the fall my husband and I spent a couple nights here. Most recently, my husband, our two grandkids, and myself spent a couple nights here in March. This is a place that is comfy and clean with a great staff! It is rare to find a reasonably priced room in Aspen, particularly during the ski season, but this place fits the bill. The location is very good and we always walked to town instead of driving. It's also off the main streets so it's quieter than a lot of other places. Just to be on the safe side, though, I'd ask for a quiet room and you'll be placed away from the street. We enjoyed a full
buffet breakfast which included waffles, scrambled eggs, and either
sausage or ham (at least in our case). If you go outside of the ski season, as we did one fall, the breakfast is still included, but not as substantial. We got one room with two beds and it worked out well for the four of us. We also had a balcony, although we didn't use it much.

Room Tip: Rooms off the street are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    50
    20
    2
    2
See reviews for
25
61
14
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bellaire, Texas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I have stayed in the Mountain House Lodge annually for the last 20+ years. I love the Mountain House Lodge; I view it is my "home"
in the Mountain, my get-away from the Texas heat in every Summer where I enjoy wonderful
Music (Aspen Music Festival--Don't miss it) and Mountain activities: hiking, paragliding,
fishing, rafting,and immersion in Nature. Also periodically I get to go to enjoy in fantastic Winter skiing....and summer or winter always stay at Mountain House Lodge.
Location in the Heart of Aspen; walking distance to everything. Very comfortable, homey atmosphere. Very good breakfast in large breakfast room. Great friendly staff...You cannot
beat this lodge for a moderate place to stay in Aspen -- you will consider it a FIND WHICH
YOU WILL WANT TO REPEAT.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I recently stayed at the Mountain House and have nothing but great things to say. The rooms are oversized, staff are friendly and attentive and they go beyond the norm as to offer their Aspen neighbors complimentary cups of coffee and doggy treats for their four legged friends. I thought the latter was important as you get to speak with locals who know the area well and offer helpful tips.
The quality of construction is impressive as you don't hear any noises. My queen bed with nice linens and duvet was very comfortable.
The BNB offers a complimentary breakfast and the fact that this BNB is located within a short walk from downtown Aspen and all the shops and restaurants is remarkable. Its also located in a quiet residential area which makes it unique from all other BNB's. Perhaps more importantly you can't beat the price of this lodge. Our restaurant meals were vastly more expensive than our nightly rate, but then, this is Aspen after all. I want to return this summer and take advantage of the nearby parks and bike trails along the Roaring Fork river. I recommend this lodge for anyone visiting Aspen.

Room Tip: there is a wide selection of rooms. Speak with Brian, Erik or Linda who are very knowledgeable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Few places exist like this anymore, especially in a pricey resort like Aspen. Comfortable accommodations with superb buffet breakfast included. Be sure to ask for a corner room as some rooms are very small and can be dark. Great for the price.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights. Our room was very clean and had nice furnishings. Breakfast was plentiful and the staff were incredibly nice! Location was very convenient to walk to the slopes, without having to pay slope side price. We loved sinking into the hot tub at the end of a hard day skiing. Thank you for having us, we will be back next year!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

Have just returned from 10 nights and had a great time. The rooms are spacious and very clean and the included simple breakfast makes it easy to get the day underway. The staff are all really helpful and were great with local tips and suggestions. The location is great and the Gondola is a short 5-7 min walk away with the bus station a couple of minutes futher. Would definately recommend staying here - we had a great stay!

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Recently returned from Aspen and had a wonderful experience at the Mountain House Lodge. The staff could not have been better ... very friendly and helpful. The location is great and the place is spotless. It's hard to ask for more.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mountain House Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain House Lodge

Address: 905 E Hopkins Ave, Aspen, CO 81611
Location: United States > Colorado > Aspen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Aspen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mountain House Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mountain House Lodge located in Aspen, Colorado is the perfect combination of location, hospitality and value that keeps bringing our guest back year after year. The Mountain House is Aspen's premier lodging at affordable rates year-round. The Lodge is centrally located in downtown Aspen, just a short stroll to the finest shops, restaurants and Aspen Ski Resort. Skiers and snowboarders enjoy making this Aspen lodge their perfect mountain home! Guests enjoy a complimentary breakfast served daily, Wifi and parking at no additional cost. All accommodations have mini-refrigerators, coffee makers and most have private balconies. The Lodge features a year-round outdoor hot tub too! Our knowledgeable staff is happy to assist you with planning your Aspen getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Mountain House Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain House Hotel Aspen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain House Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.