We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere, and good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Finbarr's Irish Pub - CLOSED

Finbarr's Irish Pub
415 East Hyman, downstairs, Aspen, CO 81611
+1 970-925-2719
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Irish, Dessert, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Finbarr's Irish Pub and Kitchen in Aspen is a modern gastropub featuring the heart and soul of a traditional Irish pub and gathering place. Serving gastro pub cuisine to fit every palette, Finbarr's is a favorite for locals and visitors alike. Come visit us and taste Chef Joe Flamer's culinary delights and take in domestic and international sporting events on one of our ten oversized televisions. You can also enjoy the beautiful outdoor weather and people watching during the summer months on our patio located in the middle of the Hyman Ave pedestrian mall.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, and good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

This is a very nice pub. The food is pretty good and easy location to get to. A fun place to hang out and watch a big football game.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    43
    11
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Georgia, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Pub Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

My wife and I were on a very short visit to Aspen and were looking for a nice cozy place to eat and happened upon Finbarr's. Were we ever glad to find this reminder of why we love the UK and pub grub. Finbarr's has all the ambiance of any high quality pub you'll find in the UK. My wife had the shepherd's pie and it was the real deal with lamb and not some ground beef concoction too often passed off as being shepherd's pie. I had bangers and mash and although the bangers had a bit too much pepper it was excellent nonetheless. The peach cobbler was delightful and full of tasty fruit. The service was absolutely spot on and quick on a very busy night. To top it off the owner of Finbarr's spent much time speaking with us and made us feel right at home. When in Aspen an d you're looking for great grub at a reasonable price then Finbarr's the place to visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Sports Bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

My wife and I liked Finnbarr's so much we at there twice in four days. There are many tv's surrounding the room, so if you wish to catch a game, this is the place. The first night, I had the Bangers and Mash and my wife had the Broccoli special. The meals were excellent and the price very reasonable. The second time we ate there, I had a Caesar salad and my wife had the Kale salad. Both were generous in portions and very good. There is an excellent selection of beers and wines, as well as mixed drinks, and Finnbarr's also has a comfortable seating area with leather couches where you can enjoy after meal drinks.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Bloody awful food - very good service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We visited during the Broncos game so the noise level for deafining. OK on that as it was expected. Another reviewer complained about there not being irish food on the menu. He/she must have missed the Pub Grub. Lucky them. We had probably the worst restaurant meal ever choosing from these options. I had corned beef and cabbage. Meat was OK, vegetables were so overcooked that they slid right through a fork. No kidding. All floating in a soup bowl full of the cooking broth. My husbands "fish" and chips were as described below by another reviewer. Very soggy fish balls served over mounds of greasy fries. Their burgers looked good. We'll order sandwiches if we ever go back. Servers were very efficient and personable. Probably save the owner's bacon.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fair food, good service.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

Fish and Chips-little fish, four small pieces, and tons of greasy fries, all served in a brown paper lunch sack.
Shepherd's Pie was bland, a little dry, and the lamb was ground and no flavor.
Irish coffee was served in a regular coffee mug with a Splash of Irish whiskey.
The peach cobbler was good.
Service was very good but the entrees were lacking.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Finbarr's Irish Pub also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Finbarr's Irish Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.