We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maroon Bells

Maroon Bells
Aspen Highlands, Aspen, CO
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 88 things to do in Aspen
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Littleton
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We went near sunset and so it wasn't the best time as the sun blinded us at first from even seeing the mountains, but within 20 minutes, the sun backlit the Maroon Bells and it was a sight I'll never forget. So peaceful and serene.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

810 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    744
    53
    10
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, West Virginia, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Gorgeous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Pictures can't capture the beauty of the Maroon Bells. Took the hard, but worth it, hike to Crater Lake. This is a must do hike, as the view is astounding. Take the time to visit this amazing place.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Majestic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

My partner and I camped 3 nights at the Silver Queen campground and day hiked this beautiful area. Colorado's most scenic area, indeed!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, USA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Hiking and Picture op”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Best mountain picture of peaks called The Bells, reflected in the lake. Easy hikes around the lake or graduated hikes up to another lake and beyond.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Walk into this calendar picture”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

It was surreal. The beauty of this peaceful place is overwhelming. It is worth a trip from anywhere. I visited in September as the Aspen trees hit their peak golden color. I highly recommend a hike in the area to get away from all the other picture taking tourists. Listen to the Aspen tree leaves rustle in the wind in the woods -- you will enjoy it.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Maroon Bells? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maroon Bells, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.