We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maroon Bells

Maroon Bells
Aspen Highlands, Aspen, CO
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 59 Attractions in Aspen
Type: Mountains
Attraction Details
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

The top of the Rockies, a must to everyone that visits Aspen...in winter wrap up warmly, it's usually windy up there...

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    602
    42
    10
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“My favorite place in Colorado”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

I live in Colorado and have had a chance to travel across the state. Hands down, my favorite place is the Maroon Bells. It's worth the short hike up to Crater Lake where it's a bit less crowded and you still have breathtaking views. Enjoy!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Breathtaking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

The Maroon Bells are a destination like no other. Hike the Crater Lake trail and spend 2 hours round trip in one of the most gorgeous, breathtaking places in our country. Bring a camera!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
72 attraction reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
259 helpful votes 259 helpful votes
“wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

sunrise by the lake in late September... WOW! Colors were outstanding. Great photo op, but be prepared to share the lake side with many others.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely jaw dropping!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We visited Maroon Bells at the end of September and hit the jackpot in terms of autumnal colours. The weather was perfect- chilly early in the morning, but the sun warmed us later. The sky was brilliant blue and a wonderful backdrop for the simply stunning Maroon Bells. Our jaws just dropped at the beauty of this place. We had such an array of colour: gold, yellow and red, mixed in with some green, the snowcapped Bells themselves and the blue sky. All this incredible beauty was reflected in the lake. I felt like I was on a movie set, it was so unreal!
My tip would be to get there early, that way you can drive your own car into the park. After 9am, the gates are shut to incoming private vehicles and you have to take a bus from Aspen. It also gets pretty busy with everyone trying to get that perfect shot of the Bells, so it's better to be there earlier rather than later.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Maroon Bells? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maroon Bells, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.