We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and Breathtaking” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maroon Bells

Maroon Bells
Aspen Highlands, Aspen, CO
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 107 Attractions in Aspen
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Palm Harbor, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Breathtaking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

The Maroon Bells are a destination like no other. Hike the Crater Lake trail and spend 2 hours round trip in one of the most gorgeous, breathtaking places in our country. Bring a camera!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

794 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    729
    52
    10
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
73 attraction reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
270 helpful votes 270 helpful votes
“wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

sunrise by the lake in late September... WOW! Colors were outstanding. Great photo op, but be prepared to share the lake side with many others.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely jaw dropping!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We visited Maroon Bells at the end of September and hit the jackpot in terms of autumnal colours. The weather was perfect- chilly early in the morning, but the sun warmed us later. The sky was brilliant blue and a wonderful backdrop for the simply stunning Maroon Bells. Our jaws just dropped at the beauty of this place. We had such an array of colour: gold, yellow and red, mixed in with some green, the snowcapped Bells themselves and the blue sky. All this incredible beauty was reflected in the lake. I felt like I was on a movie set, it was so unreal!
My tip would be to get there early, that way you can drive your own car into the park. After 9am, the gates are shut to incoming private vehicles and you have to take a bus from Aspen. It also gets pretty busy with everyone trying to get that perfect shot of the Bells, so it's better to be there earlier rather than later.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“moose”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Very beautiful location with nice easy hikes. Highlight was seeing moose, one being a large bull about 400 yards from the road.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moss Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Beautiful vistas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

A lovely easy walk with beautiful vistas all along the way. Public transportation is available to take you there from center of Aspen .

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Maroon Bells? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maroon Bells, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.