We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Hike” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Maroon Bells

Maroon Bells
Aspen Highlands, Aspen, CO
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 89 things to do in Aspen
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Atlanta
Level Contributor
121 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“A Good Hike”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

A good hike but not as pretty as I thought it would be. If driving get there by 8:30 am because the road closes to traffic all summer. The mountain peaks are amazing. Have lunch after your hike near the creek by the parking lot.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

928 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    853
    61
    12
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A must see spot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

One of the most photographed spots in CO that shouldn't be missed! An easy drive outside of Aspen. Because of its popularity, cars are not allowed in after 9:00am so get there early or you'll be taking the bus. Fee is $10, admission allowed with Park Pass.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterrey, Mexico
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We biked all the way from our hotel to Maroon Bells. It is a great workout, however you need to be an experienced biker to do it because it is uphill all the way. If you are not one, there is a great bus service that can take you all the way to Maroon Bells where the lake is. You can hike, bike or picnic. A must!!!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“WOW WOW WOW!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We decided to hike Maroon Bells very early. We arrived at 7:30 and began our journey. About an hour into the hike...we got lost. I have no idea how we wandered off the path...but we did. That's the joy of hiking, you never know. We hiked and scrambled for a good 45 min. before we found our way back to the trail. We continued to hike to Crator Lake. It was all rocky and all uphill. The hike is moderate...but for us 55+ crowd strenuous is more descriptive. After resting at the lake we continued for another 2 miles all uphill, steep, and rocky. We arrived back in the parking lot after 5 hours. We were tired but proud we had hiked and conquered 11,000 ft.!. The hike is entire loose rock and can be dangerous. Saw too many uninformed thrill seekers plodding along without truly understanding the risks involved. This is a GREAT HIKE!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful! Definitely a must see.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Beautiful park with amazing trails. Be sure to bring your camera, it is really picturesque. Also, be sure to wear comfortable walking shoes, as there is rocky terrain.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Maroon Bells? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maroon Bells, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.