We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the most beautiful places in the world!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maroon Bells

Maroon Bells
Aspen Highlands, Aspen, CO
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 89 things to do in Aspen
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
tustin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“One of the most beautiful places in the world!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Alpine lakes and waterfalls, carpets of wildflowers, great hiking trails -- everything you could want in a Colorado trip.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

944 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    869
    61
    12
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Ogden, Utah
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Dog friendly place of beauty. Busy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We had looked for a place to hike where we could bring our dog. She was allowed on the hikes and on the bus. This place is beautiful, but it was very busy with lines for the bus and people all around the lake. ( It was the July 4th weekend, however.) We would go at another time if we returned. The sights are fantastic, the wild flowers were stunning. The air was cooler at about 10.000 feet and that was refreshing. Be sure and bring doggy bags if you are traveling with your pets. I didn't see any provided. There is a $6.00 fee to take the bus up there. Many of the hikes were easy and would be suitable for families with young children.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Picture time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We just drove up in the evening to take some family pictures together and this is the place to go to see some wonderful views. It really looks like a backdrop from a studio shoot. Only problem we had was there were lots of others out there doing the same thing so had to watch to be sure no one was in our shots. But then again we were able to get someone to take a picture of the whole family this way as well.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“One of the most beautiful places in the world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The Bells are a treasure and a definite must see when you're in Aspen in the summer or fall. Driving is limited to early or late in the day, but public buses go frequently from Rubey Park in middle of town or from Aspen Highlands. There's an easy walk around Maroon Lake or a moderate 2 hr round trip hike to Crater Lake. More ambitious is a beautiful 9 mile bike ride up the mountain. It is not to be missed!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“My favorite location in all of Colorado”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We've been here several times since we "discovered" it about 7 years ago. Have never been to a more thoroughly beautiful location-- 360 stunning degrees of scenery as you turn slowly around at Maroon Lake. We've nearly always hiked up the Crater Lake trail, which takes you closer to the base of the Bells. The trail is about 2 miles one way, and I would call it moderate just because it's really rocky and has tricky footing in some places. The hike itself is quite scenic, and passes through aspen groves and pine forests. Tons of wildflowers in the meadows in June and July. The only inconvenience is being required to take the bus up there from just outside of Aspen due to motorized vehicle restrictions. (The exceptions to this requirement are if you have a baby under 2 years old in a car seat, if you're camping at one of the Silver campgrounds on Maroon Creek Road, or if you drive up there before 9 am or after 5 pm.) Totally worth the slight inconvenience of having to take the bus, though. This place is really a highlight if you're near Aspen!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Maroon Bells? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maroon Bells, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.