We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious high end Italian” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gisella - CLOSED

Gisella
415 E Main St, Aspen, CO 81611-1931
970-925-8222
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Mill St.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Delicious high end Italian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Food and service were both great. Pricey but good. I would recommend it. The wi e selection was good, I stayed away from the pasta but had a lovely salad followed by salmon a lovely spinach perfectly prepared spinach dish

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    24
    11
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
220 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Total disappointment!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We dined here after reading the outstanding reviews and the concierge recommendations as well. We had a reservation and requested a nice table. Upon arrival, they tried to seat us at a table in the back, although there were tables at the front window open. We then asked to be seated up front and they did seat us there. We had a reservation and you would think that a reservation would get the preferential seating, although it didn't seem to be the case. There is a lot of banquette seating in this restaurant, so if you don't like it make sure you tell them not to seat you there ahead of time. There are several tables up front at the window, which are nice. They also have outside seating, weather permitting. After being seated someone came and asked about our water preference and a short time later someone took our drink order. We ordered appetizers, consisting of the burrata cheese and the scampi and calamari. The only bright side of the whole night was these appetizers. They were both good. However, the appetizers were not enough to compensate for everything that was simply bad about this experience. When we ordered the appetizers, the waiter told us that we really should order the entrees as well to allow the kitchen prep time. We opted against ordering the entrees at that time, which turned out to be a good decision. The appetizers were brought out within 5 minutes of placing the order. We realized that they were in a hurry to turn the table around, and don't enjoy being rushed. We decided to wait to order the entrees until we had finished the appetizers, because we wanted to allow the food to digest and enjoy the evening. In the interim, our iced tea glasses remained empty while we enjoyed the appetizers. We finally asked that they be refilled, and it was a good 10 more minutes before this actually happened. We ordered the entrees when we decided that we were actually ready to eat them, since we knew they would be brought out shortly thereafter. True to form, the entrees were brought out almost immediately. The penne pasta with sausage and onions was bland and unimpressive. The breaded veal was also bland and very dry. The veal was so dry that we had to ask for some sort of sauce, but the waiter never brought that out at all. Basically, the entrees were horrible! In fact, he never even apologized for not bringing it out. Clearly, the waiter was handling too many tables and spreading himself thin. The drink situation continued, and our drinks remained empty for the second time throughout the meal. As an aside we felt that management snubbed guests who he did not know, while he stood at tables of the regular guests to make sure their meals and service were good. We noticed that he went to several tables where he knew the guests, but never stopped at our table to inquire about the meal or the service! This was unacceptable for such a restaurant. Don't waste your time or money visiting Gisella, it is not worth it. The food and service were both poor. There are plenty other Aspen restaurants where out of town guests are welcomed!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
87 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Best Birthday Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

The atmosphere is elegant, modern and comfortable. Service was so professional and friendly at the same time. The Food was delicious and fresh. It was a special Birthday dinner and highly recommend Gisella. We will return with pleasure.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, better quality than most”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Once you have put your aspen glasses on, this place has some of the better food for the price point that we tried on the trip. The staff is very professional and it is a bit quieter that some of the other options in town.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Good Food, Ok service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I ate at Gisella on our trip to Aspen. The atmosphere was nice. We sat at a table in the front by the open windows.

The food is pricey, but taste great. I had the grilled shrimp and vegetables. My wife had the risotto.

The support staff was great, the waiter however was a little off his game and forgot part of our order.

Overall it was good, but I would probably try a different restaurant in Aspen before going back again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gisella also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gisella, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.