We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High end food, modest prices, cozy atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Palapa - CLOSED

La Palapa
308 S Hunter St, Aspen, CO 81611-2827
970-544-8479
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
WanderIndiana
Level Contributor
56 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“High end food, modest prices, cozy atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

Perfect mix for a lighter dinner during a week of Aspen grazing. Flautas and Chicken Tortilla soup were strong choices. Mex/Latin oriented drink options - beer/maragrita. Limited wine choices. Rocking bar downstairs in this central Aspen location.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    15
    8
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Woody Creek, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“La Palapa offers great food at an even greater value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

I thoroughly enjoyed lunching on the patio at La Palapa. The view of Aspen Mountain is unparalleled, the food was great, and the service outstanding. We dined from the $10 lunch menu and couldn't have been happier. This is by far the best Mexican dining in all of Aspen/Snowmass. Thank you La Palapa, I will be back!

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Awesome Mexican cuisine!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

We LOVED our dinner here - it was by far our best meal in Aspen. The food is fresh, the service is great and it was a very pleasent surprise.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Tasty food and family friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2010

After much debate about where to eat in Aspen with 5 little kids and 4 adults we ended up at La Palapa. They were very accomodating and there was something on the menu for everyone - love the chicken tortilla soup!! Also it was not one of those Aspen restaurants where you felt like you were sitting WAY to close to your fellow diners.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Decent Mexican food with confusing atmosphere.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2009

I had dinner at La Palapa on December 21, 2009. I had the baked fish tacos which were good. My wife had a chicken burrito. She requested queso rather than the standard burrito sauce and was surprised that their queso really has no "cheesy" consistency at all. But it was good also. The salsa was also good. The fact that "good" is the most descriptive adjective that comes to mind to describe our dinner at La Palapa says something. It was standard Mexican fare. The atmosphere was extremely relaxed, and I thought it odd that they were playing reggae music in a Mexican restaurant. I will probably try La Cantina next time instead--a local man on my flight out said he likes their atmosphere.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Palapa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.