We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite hotel in Aspen” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Residence Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Aspen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Residence Hotel
Save
You added The Residence Hotel to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   305 South Galena Street, Aspen, CO 81611   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 36 Hotels in Aspen
Boulder CO
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Favorite hotel in Aspen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2008

We visit Aspen regularly and feel this hotel is like a "home away from home". The rooms are exeptionally beautiful and spacious and the staff is accommodating to your every need. We love that we have a kitchen included. The location in Aspen cannot be beat. This is a VERY special place.

  • Liked — Location, suites, staff, pet friendly
  • Disliked — stairs to main floor
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residence-Hotel, Owner at The Residence Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
I never tire of hearing guests describe us as a home away from home, it is exactly what we want to be.
Terry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    3
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
16
25
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2008

Wonderful charming and friendly. Center of town! Walk down the stairs and we were literally in the center of Aspen. Upstairs was our beautiful suite with European charm!!

Stayed November 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
residenceaspen, Owner at The Residence Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for your review. Charm is what we strive to have here.
Terry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2007

Extremely disappointed. The owner's dog is quiet and friendly, but there was a constantly barking dog next door to us. There was a doggie gate in the doorway of that room, so it appeared to be an established guest; we could hear the incessant barking in our room with the door closed. The bathroom was old and small and non-functional. The kitchen was old and uninviting. The reception area smelled from huge scented candles which caused an instant headache. It was more expensive than a new hotel a few blocks away, which had large clean rooms and bathrooms. In my opinion, not worth the money and would not recommend it.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — noisy, old, unclean, more expensive than newer, larger cleaner hotels nearby
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2007

Walk up a flight of stairs and find your own private pied a terre in the center of Aspen. No more than two blocks from anything that you could want. You will be greeted by the adorable Max, a Chinese Crested Powderpuff dog. Immediately you know you are in a special place. Seven suites, each individually decorated by the owner. Her world travels are reflected in each suite creating a wonderful sense of luxury and privacy. We stayed there four times last year and twice already this year. We can't wait to return again and again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
residenceaspen, Owner at The Residence Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Wonderful, that is exactly what we have here, a pied-à-terre. Unfortunately Max is no longer with us, instead you will be greeted by Charlie, the barking ball of fur. Thank you for your review and we can't wait to see you again this year.
Terry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2007

Everything about this hotel was wonderful, starting from its location. You can walk to everything...
It has 7 suites. I was able to get to see a couple of them...They are gorgeous...They are all individually decorated with antiques and art from around the world. The oversized sofas and chairs were so compfy and the staff was friendly and helpful...
The next time you get to Aspen you should check it out...You won't be disappointed...

Stayed September 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
residenceaspen, Owner at The Residence Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
We have added an additional suite with a massive marble bathroom. It is as beautiful as the rest are. Thank you for your review of the hotel, it is indeed worth checking out for any and all visitors to Aspen looking for the best in hospitality.
Terry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gallatin, TN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2007

We have been staying at The Residence for years now, and will never stay anywhere else! This is by far the most luxurious, intimate accomodations you will find in Aspen. We always feel pampered and treated like family by Terry and her hotel manager, "Max" the Residence pooch. I highly recommend this hotel and have nothing but the highest praises!

  • Liked — location, decor,
  • Disliked — na
  • Stayed February 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
residenceaspen, Owner at The Residence Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Wait until you meet Charlie, the new hotel manager. He's as cute as he is fierce. At least he tries to be fierce. Thanks so much for writing this review, and I'm sure we'll see you this year!
Terry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2006

This is one of the most beautiful, amazingly furnished hotels I have ever stayed at whether in the states or abroad. The Residence Hotel is perfect for a business traveler or incredibly romantic for a weekend getaway. Being a small intimate establishment they do not have a lot of staff however you would never know it as it was raining when I arrived and the front desk manager parked the car for me so I would not get wet. I am incredibly selective where I stay as I travel for work extensively and the service is extraordinary. The rooms are also much more soundproofed than other larger hotels, this leads to a more restful, uninterrupted sleep. I originally booked this hotel for a business trip and can't wait to go back for a romantic weekend. It is in town and walking distance to all the exclusive shops and the most popular restaurants. The ski slopes are also quite close.

Overall I would recommend this hotel to anyone with a discerning taste. The Residence Hotel will be my new home whenever my travels take me to Aspen. I only wish there were more establishments of this kind around.

  • Liked — The decorating and the service were exceptional!
  • Disliked — There was nothing to not like!
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
residenceaspen, Owner at The Residence Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such an in-depth and wonderful review. Our small staff do a wonderful job of taking care of our guests, and its so nice that they're appreciated. Hope to see you soon.
Terry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aspen hotels
0.4 mi away
St. Moritz Lodge & Condominiums
0.1 mi away
The Limelight Hotel
The Limelight Hotel
#2 of 36 in Aspen
4.5 of 5 stars 801 reviews
0.2 mi away
The St. Regis Aspen Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Gant
The Gant
#3 of 36 in Aspen
4.5 of 5 stars 459 reviews
0.3 mi away
Molly Gibson Lodge
Molly Gibson Lodge
#12 of 36 in Aspen
4.5 of 5 stars 389 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aspen
Hotel Aspen
#13 of 36 in Aspen
4.0 of 5 stars 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Residence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residence Hotel

Address: 305 South Galena Street, Aspen, CO 81611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Aspen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Aspen
#9 Family Hotel in Aspen
#10 Romantic Hotel in Aspen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Residence Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a few steps from the base of Ajax mountain in Aspen, one of America's finest ski resorts; and conveniently positioned to overlook the town's storied village, The Residence Hotel serves as a warm sanctuary for guests with distinguished tastes. Here, your stay is as much about comfort and relaxation, as it a global adventure through history. This small and charming Boutique Hotel contains seven suites and apartments, each one individually decorated in European flavor. The high ceilings offer the spaciousness rarely found in a ski resort. The bedrooms are furnished with Ralph Lauren linens and down-filled duvets. Original antique furnishings and accent pieces adorn each room, while walls are covered with museum quality artwork and designer fabrics. Most suites have wood-burning fireplaces. Crystal chandeliers, Persian rugs, marble bathrooms, hard wood floors and large overstuffed sofas and chairs give each room the comforts of a luxurious home. With two decades of loyal and distinguished guests that span from entertainers and athletes to artists and politicians, somehow the hotel still maintains a subtle mystique as the city's hidden gem. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Residence Hotel Aspen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Residence Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.