We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pampered in Aspen” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Residence Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Aspen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Residence Hotel
Save
You added The Residence Hotel to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   305 South Galena Street, Aspen, CO 81611   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 36 Hotels in Aspen
Austin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pampered in Aspen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

My husband and I had the good fortune to spend our anniversary in Aspen, Colorado.
We chose The Residence Hotel located in the middle of down town Aspen. Our stay at the Residence turned out to be the highpoint of our vacation. The Residence is an intimate eight room "theme" oriented hotel with antique and historical furnishings. Owner, Terry Butler and staff are completely versed in Aspen's offerings and made our stay most memorable. Our selection of the rooms shown on the Residence's Web Site more that exceeded our expectations.

Room Tip: .Use The Residence's Web Site and/or call Terry Butler and staff for more information Suites ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    3
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
16
25
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

My wife and I recently spent our 40th anniversary in Aspen, Co. After careful research we choose the Residence Hotel in the center of old downtown Aspen. The eight theme oriented rooms with gorgeous antiques and historical motifs give the small hotel a magical quality. Extremely spacious (up to 1600 square feet) suits are available. The owner, Terry Butler, and staff provided my wife and I the best accommodations we've experienced in lifetime of extensive travel.

Room Tip: Visit the Residence's Web Sight and decide for yourself. It is also very easy to contact the ow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carbondale, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

The Residence Hotel is one of the most thoughtfully appointed hotels I've ever experienced. It is filled with fantastic antiques, & was truly one of the most beautiful places to stay. Aspen is a magical town to visit & The Residence Hotel is a gem.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
residenceaspen, Owner at The Residence Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you Rhonda for your kind words about the hotel. It really is a gem at the center of Aspen.
Terry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odessa, Texas USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Had a terrific time in Aspen and loved my hotel. The rooms are not cookie cutter they are all charmingly decorated with an European look. And, I can't say enough about the location - close to shopping, dining and the mountain. It is a great town and a unique hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
residenceaspen, Owner at The Residence Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Yes we love our European decor, but also our Colonial Indian suite, The Raj, and the Oriental decorations spicing up the European rooms. Thanks for taking the time to write us a review and come back for another stay soon.
Terry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We stayed at the Residence for our first trip to Aspen and absolutely LOVE it there. It is perfectly located and we were able to walk anywhere we wanted to go including all the great dining and shopping in downtown Aspen. The decor was so unique-- so elegant but also welcoming at the same time. A great change from a lot of the bigger, bland hotels we've stayed at in other tourist towns like DC, Destin, etc... what other hotel comes with a free cute dog?? We had a great time!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
residenceaspen, Owner at The Residence Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Lauren, can't wait to see you in January. Thanks for writing us a review. And by the way, loved the highlights!
Terry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Great place to stay. Beautiful lininens and appointments. So convenient to all. Great Hostess. As unique as anything I have ever stayed in and I have stayed ther several times and all of the roooms are great. She has a wonderful dog and cannot be more hospitable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residence-Hotel, Owner at The Residence Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to say what a "nice place" we are.
Hope to see you next year.
Terry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We were two couples visiting Aspen for the fall colors. I researched TripAdvisor for likely accommodations and encountered the Residence Hotel, was fascinated by the unusual nature of the place and booked it. To be honest, I was initially inclined to book into the Hotel Jerome due to its legendary status, but it's closed for extensive renovations so they missed out.

The Residence Hotel is about as far from the usual cookie-cutter hotel as I can imagine. It's located above retail stores right in the heart of Aspen - extremely convenient in every way (although parking can be a challenge in busy times). Gaining access requires you to have a door code, and you enter up a steep set of stairs into the "lobby" (which is really a common area surrounded by the rooms). Note - lugging heavy baggage up the stairs might be difficult for the infirm or elderly, but we managed without a hitch.

We tracked down Terry (the owner) and she showed us into our suite - the Country Suite, which is a 2-bedroom, 2 bath layout with a large living room and kitchen. Very convenient for folks who want to "make themselves at home" instead of the usual hotel room limitations. The decor is definitely different - very historic, very plush, perhaps slightly "bordello-ish", which fits nicely in with the history of the building as a former brothel in early Aspen days. Don't take that comment as a negative - the whole package just seems to "work" and Terry has obviously spent much time creating a feeling of warmth and luxury within the confines of a very old building structure.

Note - do not expect to encounter lots of staff waiting to satisfy your every whim. The whole approach is more along the lines of "apartments" - you move in and pretty much take care of yourselves, with willing recommendations from Terry when needed. Of course, downtown Aspen has plenty of options for meals if you prefer to eat out, so just be prepared to be self-sufficient and you should be good.

Overall, a wonderfully different experience and very pleasant stay in a historic building with loads of charm, perfectly situated in downtown Aspen. Possible negatives for some folks might be the street parking, steep stairs to gain access, and some of the minor infrastructure issues often associated with old buildings - but if you like "different" combined with comfort and early American elegance, this place certainly fits the bill.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residence-Hotel, Owner at The Residence Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
I was intrigued with your unique take on my hotel. Thank you for taking the time to write about it. You are so right....we are "not like any other hotel". We are definitely different. I am just happy you enjoyed yourselves. Hope to see you next summer.
Tank you,
Terry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aspen hotels
0.4 mi away
St. Moritz Lodge & Condominiums
0.1 mi away
The Limelight Hotel
The Limelight Hotel
#2 of 36 in Aspen
4.5 of 5 stars 803 reviews
0.2 mi away
The St. Regis Aspen Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Gant
The Gant
#4 of 36 in Aspen
4.5 of 5 stars 461 reviews
0.3 mi away
Molly Gibson Lodge
Molly Gibson Lodge
#12 of 36 in Aspen
4.0 of 5 stars 390 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aspen
Hotel Aspen
#14 of 36 in Aspen
4.0 of 5 stars 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Residence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residence Hotel

Address: 305 South Galena Street, Aspen, CO 81611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Aspen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Aspen
#9 Romantic Hotel in Aspen
#13 Family Hotel in Aspen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Residence Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a few steps from the base of Ajax mountain in Aspen, one of America's finest ski resorts; and conveniently positioned to overlook the town's storied village, The Residence Hotel serves as a warm sanctuary for guests with distinguished tastes. Here, your stay is as much about comfort and relaxation, as it a global adventure through history. This small and charming Boutique Hotel contains seven suites and apartments, each one individually decorated in European flavor. The high ceilings offer the spaciousness rarely found in a ski resort. The bedrooms are furnished with Ralph Lauren linens and down-filled duvets. Original antique furnishings and accent pieces adorn each room, while walls are covered with museum quality artwork and designer fabrics. Most suites have wood-burning fireplaces. Crystal chandeliers, Persian rugs, marble bathrooms, hard wood floors and large overstuffed sofas and chairs give each room the comforts of a luxurious home. With two decades of loyal and distinguished guests that span from entertainers and athletes to artists and politicians, somehow the hotel still maintains a subtle mystique as the city's hidden gem. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Residence Hotel Aspen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Residence Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.