We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic! Much better than expected...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Residence Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Aspen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Residence Hotel
Save
You added The Residence Hotel to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   305 South Galena Street, Aspen, CO 81611   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 36 Hotels in Aspen
Barefoot Beach, FL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Fantastic! Much better than expected...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

Our stay at the Residence Aspen was awesome. From calling restaurants to find out what specials they had that evening to making sure our entire group was comfortable in our suites, the personal attention was what really "made" our stay. Our family of 9 stayed in 4 of the suites and each one was fantastic. We loved the eclectic decor - if you prefer a sleek, sterile hotel environment, this is not the place for you. The rooms were impeccably clean and, to us, it felt like staying in a luxury home, since all suites surround the sitting room/lobby, and we were able to move easily from room to room, even leaving the doors unlocked. The smallest suite we had (#2) had more than enough room for 2 adults and 2 children. The largest (#1) had a kitchen, bar, and sitting room where we all convened for wine and cheese after shopping. Each room provided coffee, dishes, glassware (even wine glasses). We were extremely pleased with our stay and would definitely recommend the Residence to others traveling to Aspen.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residence-Hotel, Owner at The Residence Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Thank you, and wonderfully put. Our small staff will undoubtedly go out of their way to make sure guests are comfortable and taken care of, and that everything is immaculately clean. Come and see us again soon!
Terry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    3
    1
    0
    3
See reviews for
15
25
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

I have been staying at The Residence Hotel over 13 years and I return every year at least twice, once during the summer and once in winter. I feel that I have a great perspective on the hotel during these times......In the winter it is warm and cozy and during the summer it is cool and refreshing. I love the views of the Hyman St. mall outside my window with all the hustle, bustle and excitement that comes with being right downtown . Often students from the Aspen Music Festival and School play beneath my windows. This hotel is a jewel out of the past. All of the suites are decorated in a unique fashion with a European flavor with many and diverse antiques.....Due to the owner's extensive far East travels in the last few years, some of the suites reflect the Chinese and Asian cultures. Of the antiques present, the collection of 18th and 19th century royal academy art is probably the finest found in any hotel in America. The owner has run a successful hotel here for many years. If one loves Aspen and the Aspen experience, I urge one to see it before the opportunity passes you by!!!

Thanks,
Gordon R. Miller, MD

Room Tip: Each suite is distinctive. There are only eight of them and all interesting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residence-Hotel, Owner at The Residence Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Indeed we want people to visit us before the opportunity passes them by! Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Now all we need is a doctor to write prescriptions for a relaxing and carefree stay with us.
Terry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

I had several requests and the staff could not have been more helpful. It is so CHARMING
with the authentic flavor of Aspen. All the rooms are beautifully decorated and unique. But
the location is the best! Right in the center of the village and within walking distance of
most everything you desire. I will DEFINITELY revisit and recommend to my friends and
business associates. It would be a great place to have all your family, friends, and/or a
business retreat with your colleagues.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residence-Hotel, Owner at The Residence Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
We do strive to provide for our guests requests, big or small. And we can never stress enough what you've said yourself, that our location is everything you could want from a hotel in Aspen. Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

A/C shared with others. Cannot adjust your own a/c. Make sure you see before you pay. PHOTOS are VERY MiSLEADING!!!!!! No elevator. 17 stairs. NO REFUNDS, PERIOD.!!!!
VERY DECEIVING IN PHOTOS!!!! VERY OLD!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, t
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2011

Once we set foot into the Residence Hotel we knew there was something special about this hotel. First, the art and antiques displayed around the hotel are simply fantastic and provide something unique for every room in the hotel. Second, the location could not be any better. You have easy access to all the shopping and restaurants in town and only a short walk to the bus stop if you want to go to the other mountains. Heading back to the hotel was the perfect end to a perfect Christmas day of skiing. We will return!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
residenceaspen, Owner at The Residence Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
This is exactly what we try and tell everyone looking to book with us. Our location is as good as it gets. Thank you so much for taking the time to help share that.
Terry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2011

We thought the place was exactly what "Aspen" should be. It was warm, quaint and friendly. My wife loved all the art and antiquities spread throughout the hotel. The room was large and included a walk-in closet with a beautifully updated bathroom. The staff was absolutely great and always made sure our every need was well tended.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
residenceaspen, Owner at The Residence Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
This is very much one of the last "Aspen" hotels. Even the beautiful Jerome has converted their antique Victorian look into a more modern one. But we remain as antique and gorgeous as ever and hope to see you again in the future.
Terry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2010

The Residence Hotel surpassed any expectations I may have had before going to Aspen for Thanksgiving, and my expectations were high. The hotel is filled with exotic art and decor and the atmosphere is warm, hospitable, social and like you are in a friendly private club. The staff foster this feeling and stand ready throughout your stay to make any of your dreams come true. I have never felt that I got more value for my dollar than I did during my stay at the The Residence. I give my highest recommendation to Terry Butler's "original" Residence Hotel, as this is the very best experience to be had in Aspen, CO.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
residenceaspen, Owner at The Residence Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
What a wonderful review. And I agree that in a visit to Aspen, expectations are always going to be high, and we at The Residence are always going to rise to meet them. This 'original' hotel is still here and we hope to see you again soon!
Terry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aspen hotels
0.4 mi away
St. Moritz Lodge & Condominiums
0.1 mi away
The Limelight Hotel
The Limelight Hotel
#2 of 36 in Aspen
4.5 of 5 stars 806 reviews
0.2 mi away
The St. Regis Aspen Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Gant
The Gant
#3 of 36 in Aspen
4.5 of 5 stars 462 reviews
0.3 mi away
Molly Gibson Lodge
Molly Gibson Lodge
#13 of 36 in Aspen
4.0 of 5 stars 392 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aspen
Hotel Aspen
#14 of 36 in Aspen
4.0 of 5 stars 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Residence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residence Hotel

Address: 305 South Galena Street, Aspen, CO 81611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Aspen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Aspen
#9 Romantic Hotel in Aspen
#13 Family Hotel in Aspen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Residence Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a few steps from the base of Ajax mountain in Aspen, one of America's finest ski resorts; and conveniently positioned to overlook the town's storied village, The Residence Hotel serves as a warm sanctuary for guests with distinguished tastes. Here, your stay is as much about comfort and relaxation, as it a global adventure through history. This small and charming Boutique Hotel contains seven suites and apartments, each one individually decorated in European flavor. The high ceilings offer the spaciousness rarely found in a ski resort. The bedrooms are furnished with Ralph Lauren linens and down-filled duvets. Original antique furnishings and accent pieces adorn each room, while walls are covered with museum quality artwork and designer fabrics. Most suites have wood-burning fireplaces. Crystal chandeliers, Persian rugs, marble bathrooms, hard wood floors and large overstuffed sofas and chairs give each room the comforts of a luxurious home. With two decades of loyal and distinguished guests that span from entertainers and athletes to artists and politicians, somehow the hotel still maintains a subtle mystique as the city's hidden gem. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Residence Hotel Aspen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Residence Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.