We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tyrolean Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Tyrolean Lodge to your Saves list
Tyrolean Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 West Main Street, Aspen, CO 81611   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Crazy Low Spring Rate $80
Ranked #14 of 36 Hotels in Aspen
GreenLeadersGold level
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great hotel with great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with friends on a skiing holiday. The hotel manager was excellent and really helpful throughout our stay. The bus stops were right outside the hotel that went to all 4 mountains. I would highly recommend to anyone looking to ski in Aspen.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    33
    12
    1
    3
See reviews for
24
37
9
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durango, Colorado, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

The lodge is OK and has a good location but read the fine print before you rent a room here! I had a ski accident a few weeks prior and ended up on crutches. We almost lost $400! The policy is that the entire LODGE has to be rented out or you lose everything. Think about that: this means the lodge, if not full, could keep the entire room payments of anyone and everyone who cancels! This made for some pretty tense moments watching to see if the lodge did fill up. In the end it did-barely-and they still dinged us for $50....for clicking a mouse a few times. Would not stay there again, cause, hey s*** happens sometimes! For us-we lead pretty active lives-it's simply not worth the risk to save a few bucks.

Room Tip: Read the fine print before you book!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre W, General Manager at Tyrolean Lodge, responded to this review, December 17, 2014
We really try to work with people to re-book cancellations and get their deposit back as we did with yours. We have updated our cancellation policy to 14 days. Aspen is a destination resort that is a long way from Denver, during the winter season everything is reservations. Most Aspen hotels are 30 to 60 days and everyone has a $50 cancellation fee. I am sorry it was stressful. The Tyrolean is several hundred dollars a night less than even the average Aspen hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

There's nothing really remarkable about this hotel. It's old, but decent. It's a good deal for a short stay in Aspen, although the parking situation is a bit of a nuisance as there aren't enough parking spots by the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

What an amazing find! We stayed 10 nights over Christmas and New Year and couldnt fault it. The top floor room 303 was quiet, warm and spacious for our family of four with room for skis, loads of storage a small kitchen, table and chairs and exta seating. The lodge was located an easy walk from everything in Aspen and ski bus stops were right outside. David was a wonderful host and couldnt do enough to help. We loved our time in the snow in Aspen and would recommend Tyrolean to everyone.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed for Christmas 2012 in two rooms (1st floor) with a family of 6. The location is just perfect, short walk from the village center, shops, Wheeler's Opera House, the gondola and everything else there is to discover in Aspen. The rooms are simple, but very (!) convenient, practical and spotless clean. Free parking in front of the lodge, leave your car there and you won't need it throughout your entire stay as everything is so close and bus-stops are literally right in front of the building. The service and attitude of the owner and staff are simply outstanding and caring in every regard -- in short: The place to go for an excellent stay and at reasonable rates. We will be back for sure!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Got there early evening after hiking in the Maroon Bells area and had to park on the street, but luckily they don't bother with restrictions after 6p or on Sundays. The gentleman at the lodge made sure I was parked in a tow-free spot, gave me a city map with a few recommendations, and off I headed to my room. The room was spacious, slept 5 and had all the amenities you'd want for a few days. The Tyrolean is in a great location right in the center of town, and I enjoyed the bakery a few blocks away for breakfast. Overall, with the amenities, location and price, I don't see how you could do any better. Only niggles are the aforementioned lack of on-property parking and the slightly chintzy door lock (thus the "4" rating, but really more like "4.5"), but there is also one of those bar locks as well for added security. I'll definitely be back next time I'm in Aspen.

Room Tip: I was on the ground (or sub-ground technically) floor and didn't really hear any noise, as the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey, USA
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Thank you tripadvisor. Based upon reviews I booked two nights here and it was an excellent choice. Fantastic value, the room was large, the little kitchen updated and everything spotlessly clean. The location is perfect. David is a wonderful host, one of the best we've encountered, couldn't do enough to make our visit enjoyable. Would not hesitate to recommend or stay here again. Loved it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tyrolean Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tyrolean Lodge

Address: 200 West Main Street, Aspen, CO 81611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Aspen
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Aspen
#3 Best Value Hotel in Aspen
#12 Romantic Hotel in Aspen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Tyrolean Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tyrolean is a classic small Aspen Lodge, family owned and full of ski history. Rooms are clean, well maintained, surprisingly spacious and have new fully equipped kitchenettes. Each room has 2 queen beds, 1 twin bed and sleeps 1 to 5 people. Our sixteen comfortable hotel rooms are ideal for the budget minded, economy traveler in search of a hidden gem. The Tyrolean is Aspen's most affordable quality lodging. There is an antique Ski Museum and Aspen History throughout the hotel. All rooms are non-smoking. Centrally located on Aspen's Main Street, within easy walking distance of the bakery, brew pub, downtown shops, restaurants, bars, Aspen Mountain and the Music Festival. The free skier shuttle to all four ski areas stops in front. For value and tradition, come visit the Tyrolean Lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Tyrolean Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tyrolean Hotel Aspen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tyrolean Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.