We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value wasn't there” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Element 47

Element 47
675 E. Durant Avenue, Aspen, CO 81611
970.920.6330
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Element 47 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #28 of 155 Restaurants in Aspen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $100
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Spring St.
Description: It's been called Aspen's "finest spot to wine, dine and unwind." The name element 47 pays tribute to silver, the precious metal that first put Aspen on the map, and to the finest silver service cuisine -for breakfast, lunch, apres and dinner, 7 days a week. Our team of culinary and wine professionals is one very good reason we have enjoyed the rare 5-Star, 5-Diamond ranking for so long. Whether you ski in for lunch, drop in at the bar for a more casual rendezvous, or join us for the most special of occasions, you'll be greeted with warmth, not formality. You'll find the ambience - ceiling-height glass cases with some of our rarest wines, art by Michelle Grabner, Cameron Martin, Angel Otero, Scott Reeder, Philip Vanderhyden, Jose Lerma - as fine as the dining.
Buffalo Grove, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Value wasn't there”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We had a very nice time here. The food was excellent overall, but only one of the appetizers was at the level of the price. By this I mean- the food and wait staff was excellent, I liked the ambiance, but for the price I expected food that was truly a culinary experience. I would have rated it 4 stars if it was 25-30% less expensive.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    34
    13
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Level Contributor
168 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Chic and Sleek”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Located at the lovely Little Nell Hotel, this is a fabulous place for lunch (walk in) or dinner (definitely book). The decor is informally glamourous - beautifully done. The menu is sectioned into small, medium of large plates. We shared the Steak Tatare and the Ceviche to start and then we split the Crispy Organic Chicken Breast with Dried Fruit Farro - absolutely delicious. The Wagyu Burger with Duck Fat Fries - being eaten at the neighbouring table, looked fabulous - will try that next time. Highly recommend.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conifer, CO
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Excellent food! Great bar for over 50s.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

Had dinner in the bar. Great oysters on the half shell, terrific French fries fried in duck fat with tarragon aioli, wagyu beef tartare, outstanding wines by the glass. This is the place to be apres ski. Valet parking.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Such a shame!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

My family and I had been going to Montagna for the past decade or so whenever we were in Aspen. Upon finding out that the restaurant had changed we were somewhat disappointed, but decided to give it go based on the fact the outstanding long time sommelier, Jonathan was still with them.

From the moment we arrived I knew that something was off. The decor has changed from warm, welcoming and elegant to cold, dark and clinical. As usual, Jonathan made excellent recommendations on the wines. Our server Sarah along with all of those who "ASSISTED" her did not have a clue. On two of the courses, dishes were missing when others had arrived and we had to wait. At one stage another tables food was brought to our table and we had to advise that they had the wrong table.

The food, although not bad, is not up the standard that it was. We advised Jonathan that what we received in the way of food and service was not up to the normal standard and we were not happy. He advised that he would attend to the matter personally.

Being unaware that Montagna had changed to Element 47 we had booked in advance for New Years eve, a tradition that my family and I always look forward to. It is too late to change the booking now as all other options are full but if we could, we would. We are not looking forward to the evening with as much enthusiasm as usual based on the fact that we will be ringing in the New Year in a restaurant that was once somewhere special and is now just somewhere.

It will probably be our last visit.

D. Lamberti

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
53 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Love this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

Montagna has changed to Element 47, but the food remains the best in Aspen. The atmosphere is much, much improved. The service was great, even with a little hick-up. We were so impressed, we kept going back on our short trip. Love this place!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Element 47 also viewed

 

Been to Element 47? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Element 47, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.