We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Premium Sandwich.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grateful Deli

Grateful Deli
233 E Main St, Aspen, CO 81611-1928
970-925-6647
Improve this listing
Ranked #64 of 155 Restaurants in Aspen
Cuisines: Sandwiches, Delicatessen
Dining options: Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch
Aspen, Colorado
Level Contributor
47 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Premium Sandwich.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Its a grab and go sandwich or an in town order at a decent price. The panini are Very good, my personal favorites are the Casey Jones & Dire Wolf. You will need a drink to go with it and dont come here to sit, or you'll be hanging out on main street.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    16
    0
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Romeo, Michigan
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Should be “Ungrateful Deli"”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We were in Aspen for a family wedding and going to Maroon Bells for a picnic. It was recommended that we all order sandwiches from this deli. My son, who is a former GM of a Jimmy John in Orlando, FL, placed the order. Names, exact order, he knows about ordering sandwiches. They were so rude and unhelpful at the deli. Acted like we were really inconviencing them, and they knew in advance this order was coming. 1/2 of or party did not get their order correctly and 1/3 of the items were not labeled with names. No forks for salads and no napkins. They delayed us almost and hour on our exursion. We placed oders starting right when they opened at 10 for an 11:30 pick up. Many people could not even order beacuse they took the phone off the hook and the line was buisy, so we had to drive up there. DO NOT RECOMMEND!!!! Aspen needs a Jimmy Johns!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
61 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great sandwich at a fair price for Aspen!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Located right on Main street, Grateful Deli is TINY and easy to miss so watch closely. We wanted something small for dinner and thought a sandwich would be perfect. They are only open till 6... So if you're thinking dinner plan accordingly. There are no tables inside (barely enough room to place your order) but there are a few tables outside. At 6 they pick the tables up. This would make a great lunch stop. We really like the bread: choice of white or wheat subs. And the meats were good. You can pretty much get anything you want. We liked that it was so small and the owner was very nice and friendly. Kind of a cool, ski town, laid back kind of feel to the place... we would eat there again!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great sandwich”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Great food, small hole in the wall with nice staff working hard to make your sandwich choice perfect.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“AMAZING sandwiches”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Crowded, but the staff keep the line super organized. The sandwiches are incredible. We tried the Slipknot (pastrami with dijon), the Morning Dew (ham and bacon) and the Althea (turkey with cranberry horseradish). The chocolate chip cookie and the brownies were also rave-worthy.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grateful Deli also viewed

 

Been to Grateful Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grateful Deli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.