We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy Restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wild Fig

Wild Fig
315 E Hyman Ave, Ste 301, Aspen, CO 81611-2442
970-925-5160
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Wild Fig is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #16 of 146 restaurants in Aspen
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Transit: Two blocks down in front of the Hotel Jerome
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Cosy Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Little restaurant in heart of Aspen, definitely requires reservations. Our busser became our server which he didn't knew till the end, was funny but he tried. I tried Ginger infused Margarita, tasty, was a hit for me.

forgot what i had for appetizers but roasted chicken with asparagus, baby carrots and pan jus which made it crispy and juicy. Highlight of the night- Beignets with creme Anglaise for dessert, Oh boy we are on heaven. will definitely visit this place again

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

79% Recommend
    80
    40
    18
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Pleasant evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We did not have a reservation but were able to get a seat at the bar. We are happy to do this as we get a chance to chat with the bartenders and have an "adult" dinner. The place was full within half an hour. We ordered partly from the bar menu and partly from the dining room menu. Fig salad was excellent, although figs were dried rather than fresh (of course they likely don't grow fresh figs in Colorado, especially in March). Hubbie had rocket salad and lobster risottto which was excellent. Spicy shrimp were good. Attentive service, good wine list. A little expensive for offering.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Finding a new spot in Aspen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Spring break weekend and no reservations, good luck finding a restaurant. As we wandered around town and all our usual places were full - we came across the Wild Fig, Had a table for 4 and we took it! Fresh pasta, Great wine list and everything we had was tasty and seasoned perfectly.. The wild mushroom soup was perfect on a cold night and the fresh pasta was more than enough to satisfy you.. Will definitely be back, nice to find a new restaurant in town that's as good as this one.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehorse, Canada
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“parmesan truffle fries”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

It was difficult choosing which restaurants to eat at during out limited time in Aspen. In the end, we were pleased with our dinner at Wild Fig. We made reservations but the restaurant was empty except for 2 other tables. Service was very attentive, we had probably the ONLY friendly French waiter in the world. He was lovely. We started with parmesan truffle fries which were wonderful. My partner and I disagree on whether they were better than the ones at Bleu in Grand Cayman - but hey, if that's what you're up against, that is good company! I had the fig pork chops. While I did not enjoy the flavour profile of the fig sauce, the dish was well cooked and of ample size that we did not have room for dessert. Overall this was a solid restaurant, with good food and excellent service. Compared to most other meals in Aspen/Snowmass, this was one of the better places.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Does Management Give a Fig?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I've waited to tell this tale about a restaurant I really wanted to love. But I have ended up resenting the experience I had there. Four of us dined there while vacationing in Aspen. We ordered a shared appetizer with tapenade, hummus, etc. Quite tasty. Service was quite adequate at this point in the meal. However, we hadn't exactly bonded with our server, and it seemed she just wasn't a "people person". The main courses arrive--- a lamb shank, pork chop, duck & risotto, and the roasted chicken. The dishes were beautifully presented. We each started our entrees and they were delicious (although the pork was a bit tough). None the less, we felt like we had hit a culinary home run. And then I began to eat these beautifully roasted vegetables, and when I cut through them I discovered a Sharpie permanent marker cap tucked in among the carrots and asparagus. When you are about to spend $200 on a meal, I don't see the addition of writing instruments to my food as added value. The server whisked the plate away very quickly. Okay, so these things can happen, right? And I should be thankful it was a pen cap, right? And the measure of service is how a restaurant deals with an unfortunate and obvious mistake, right? We discussed these rationalizations while I waited for the moment of truth. She came back and offered to give me a new plate of chicken. Score 1 point. She said the manager took the dish off my bill and sends his apologies. Score another couple points. She brings back a plate of vegetables as I requested--- another point. She comes to offer dessert menus. No offer to comp dessert. Take away a point. She then curtly brings the bill when we don't order dessert. Take away a point. As we leave, we talk to the manager--- or who we thought was the manager. He was filling in for the real manager. And we were met with more attitude and lots of excuses. Take away all scored points. In fairness, he offered to have us come back another night--- but too little too late. In summary, I really want to like this place. I really want to cut them some slack for putting a foreign object in my food. But I just can't---- not at this price point and not in an upscale city like Aspen.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wild Fig also viewed

 

Been to Wild Fig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wild Fig, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.