We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Arvada Mexican Restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Monterrey House

Monterrey House
9809 W 60th Ave, Arvada, CO 80004-4947
303-403-8812
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 235 Restaurants in Arvada
Cuisines: Mexican
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine
Arvada, Colorado, United States
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best Arvada Mexican Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015

I have been frequenting Monterrey House since it's original location in Edgewater on 20th Avenue. So glad when they moved to the larger location in Arvada. If you like green chili this is the place for you. Their salad plate is terrific with the best chili con queso ever. My favorite meal is the salad plate with a smothered bean burrito. Oh so good.... Meals are priced right so you can enjoy it all. The atmosphere is simple, but the best Mexican restaurants seem to be those without any fanfare for decor. (We also enjoy ordering ahead and picking up our order to go.)

  • Visited February 2015
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    6
    1
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Chile con Queso and Burrito are the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2014

The original owners moved back to Mexico but the new owners had the sense to keep all the old recipes. Their signature plate is the best green chile con queso. Personally, I think their burritos are the best in Denver. My wife always gets the salad plate with great guacamole. A little hard to find but just plain great Mexican food!!

  • Visited December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Top Contributor
457 reviews 457 reviews
216 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
“Just keeps getting better and better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2014

The gentleman who purchased the Monterey house from its previous owners about a year ago continues to invest in the restaurant.

On our last visit, we noticed several changes to the decor including a fresh coat of paint. He has done an exceptional job of upgrading the look and feel of the restaurant.

More importantly, he has retained all of the good recipes from the past, and has added many new dishes over the past year. There is a good variety now at the Monterey House. Although not at all fancy, I would challenge anyone to find a Mexican restaurant with better beans, better green chili, and better ground beef. They are all just top-notch.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Top Contributor
457 reviews 457 reviews
216 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
“Cheap, friendly, excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014

The Monterrey House is not your typical Mexican restaurant. When we started going there over a decade ago, it was very limited in its menu. Extremely so. Only cheese and ground beef based dishes such as cheese enchiladas or beef tacos. Still, what they did, they did very well. The family which owned it eventually started to let the place begin to slide into disrepair.

Enter "Freddy". Freddy used to be a waiter there and then purchased it in early 2014 (or late 2013) from the aforementioned family. He has done great things. He's refurbished the interior with deep cleaning, fresh paint, basic repairs, and added a big screen TV. He's added a patio outside for outside seating. Most importantly, he has kept everything that was good - the limited, but excellent recipes - and added a lot to the menu. They now have daily dinner specials, lunch specials, and he's added more specialty items like carnitas, fajitas, and other nice things.

The service is always exceptionally friendly and the food is delicious. Still limited - you won't find anything overly fancy - but what they do they do very, very well. Particularly to my liking are their ground beef in any dish, the refried beans (which really are soaked overnight before cooking), the freshness of their ingredients such as lettuce, tomatoes, and cheese, and of course, their phenomenal pork green chili on top of anything.

  • Visited September 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheat Ridge, Colorado, USA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Yahoo - it's back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014

I started eating at the Monterrey House (in Edgewater) over 45 years ago and followed them through a couple of moves. Was always one of my favorites until they lost their way under a new owner. But, the original cook from the Jerry and Grace days bought the place recently and everything is back to the way it was. And it is excellent. Smothered burritos - great. Salad plate (taco, tostada, a generous serving of guacalmole, and chile con queso on a tostada chip) - GREAT. Small combo - not so small, but GREAT!! See the pattern? Whatever you get, it's awesome. And, don't forget the chips and salsa - GRE... Well, you know. Oh, and the service is really good too. Welcome back, Monterrey House! We missed you.

  • Visited September 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monterrey House also viewed

 

Been to Monterrey House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monterrey House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.