We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a fancy chain restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monterrey House

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Monterrey House
9809 W 60th Ave, Arvada, CO 80004-4947
303-403-8812
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #48 of 222 restaurants in Arvada
Cuisines: Mexican
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Golden, Colorado
1 review
“Not a fancy chain restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Famous for their delicious smothered burritos! Not fancy but clean with great food at a fair price. Family favorite for 30 years.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

75% Recommend
    20
    5
    1
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Very average Mexican food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

This place was a very basic Mexican food restaurant. Not many customers. Not a place that I would return.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvada, Colorado
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Not good.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

If you like authentic Mexican food, you will be disappointed. I would rather have Taco Bell, which is gross.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvada, Colorado
1 review
“Hooray for Monterrey!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

My husband and I love the Monterrey House. The salsa and green chili are like none other. We eat here at least twice a month. The taco meat is my husband's favorite in all of Denver. Try the salad plate for a delicious treat.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Dull "Americanized" Mexican Food in an clean Diner setting.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

IF this were a 2-star hotel... I would rate it as a "5" because it meets my explications of a 2-start hotel.

I was at Monterrey House yesterday, 8/7/13. My mom has been hearing them recommended (advertised?) on a radio restaurant show with "great" reviews. So across town we went to give them a try. Should have stayed home.

Nice clean little Dinner in older part of Arvada. Simple spartan non-mexican decor that is not at all run-down. Friendly, helpful and fast couple working there.

First. I am a spice wimp. I always order mild and sometimes even that hits my limit. But I love Mexican food and usually get my fix once a week.

The Food: Completely "Americanized". The first words out our mouth is that it tasted like it came out of can. Made fresh or not... it was blandest Mexican food I have had in a very long time. The rice and beans did not taste bad... they just had no taste. Cheese enchiladas appeared to have been sliced from a brick and tasted like "American cheese-food". The salsa on the table was a sweet and mild type (just my type actually) and it was tasty and fresh. But I and others at our table had to use every drop of salsa to overcome the dull Mexican meal. Any national chain restaurant will have better Mexican dishes than what we had.

I understand that restaurants have to cater to their regulars and give them what they like. So I guess this is what the local regular customer likes.

If you like Chef Boyardee spaghetti and meatballs then you'll like the Mexican food at this clean well run restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monterrey House also viewed

 

Been to Monterrey House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monterrey House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.